can't send e-mails

Email setup and troubleshooting
granny1
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Tasmania

can't send e-mails

Post by granny1 » Mon Jul 26, 2010 8:25 am

Hi,
I can't send emails out not even to my own accounts.
This is the message I am getting.

An error occurred while sending mail. The mail server responded: relay not permitted. Please check the message recipient shazzblues@bigpond.com and try again.
Any assistance would be appreciated.
Regards granny

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: can't send e-mails

Post by Dazzled » Mon Jul 26, 2010 9:18 am

Relaying suggests you are using a mail client at a non-Exetel IP address, which is barred to reduce abuse. You can use webmail https://webmail.exetel.com.au/ from any address, if that's what's happening.

JasonM

Re: can't send e-mails

Post by JasonM » Mon Jul 26, 2010 9:18 am

It seems you are on another network, if you try and use the Exetel SMTP servers from another ISP, it will not work.

Instead, change the SMTP server to the ISP you are using, or, use webmail - http://webmail.exetel.com.au

granny1
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: can't send e-mails

Post by granny1 » Mon Jul 26, 2010 9:48 am

Thank you for your replies.
But I wasn't using anyone else but exetel....
Anyway it seems to have fixed itself...don't know how and I don't know why....but I am happy again.
Regards Granny

JasonM

Re: can't send e-mails

Post by JasonM » Mon Jul 26, 2010 9:55 am

You are now posting from an Exetel IP.

Are you using wireless?

granny1
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: can't send e-mails

Post by granny1 » Mon Jul 26, 2010 1:02 pm

Hi JasonM,
Yes I am using wireless, I only have wireless no Land Line.
How do you know what I am posting from?
Regards granny

JasonM

Re: can't send e-mails

Post by JasonM » Mon Jul 26, 2010 1:15 pm

We can see the IP address.
I suggest looking into whether your neighbours have open wireless networks, as I suspect your computer connected to a neighbours wireless, and not your own - causing the issue.

You should also ensure your own wireless is secured.

granny1
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: can't send e-mails

Post by granny1 » Mon Jul 26, 2010 1:22 pm

Hi JasonM,
Ok, I put a password on my router before, and I am hoping its protected.
How do I find out if there is another network I am connecting too?
Can I run without a network? if so how do I uninstall a network please.
Regards Granny

Ravenous
Posts: 325
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 4:44 pm
Location: Brisbane, Qld

Re: can't send e-mails

Post by Ravenous » Mon Jul 26, 2010 1:24 pm

Granny1,

If it is all a bit too much and you can afford it perhaps an agent could provide you some on-site service to get everything up and running smoothly?

Fill out this to search for one near you: http://www.exetel.com.au/agents_search.php

No guarentees as I never have used one but I think you might like give it some thought.

granny1
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: can't send e-mails

Post by granny1 » Mon Jul 26, 2010 1:31 pm

Hi Ravenous,
Good thought.....but there doesn't seem to be one here.
Thinking might reformat hard drive and start again?
thoughts on that please?
Regards granny

Ravenous
Posts: 325
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 4:44 pm
Location: Brisbane, Qld

Re: can't send e-mails

Post by Ravenous » Mon Jul 26, 2010 1:42 pm

granny1 wrote:Thinking might reformat hard drive and start again?
Not required.
granny1 wrote:How do I find out if there is another network I am connecting too?
What operating system are you using? e.g. Windows 7/Vista/XP/ME/NT/2000/98/95, OSX, Linux, etc?

With Windows there is an icon at the bottom righthand corner of the screen (you may have to click on an arrow to 'show hidden icons') that when you click on it lists all of your (and neighbours) available wireless network connections.

granny1
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: can't send e-mails

Post by granny1 » Mon Jul 26, 2010 1:51 pm

Hi Ravenous,
I am using XP SERVICE PACK 2.
I can't find an icon like you said... only avast, via hd audio deck, Ad-aware, Logitech mouse and keyboard, volume,windows security alerts.
regards granny

granny1
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: can't send e-mails

Post by granny1 » Mon Jul 26, 2010 1:54 pm

Hi Ravenous,
just had a look my computer is not showing my modem or router yet they are working, obviously something is wrong somewhere?
Regards granny

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: can't send e-mails

Post by Dazzled » Mon Jul 26, 2010 2:10 pm

Granny1, in your previous posts you had a Netgear WG111 in your laptop, and you mentioned connecting to a desktop (was it really directly?).

You have a 7404VGPX 3g wireless router. Can we assume that you are now connected to the wireless router? If so, it broadcasts by default under the name wlan-ap (the ESSID), though you may have changed it to something else. Your laptop should be configured to see that ESSID name . The router's Enable Broadcast config button will show the ESSID on any nearby laptop.

Microsoft has a help page at http://support.microsoft.com/default.as ... -us;870702

granny1
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: can't send e-mails

Post by granny1 » Mon Jul 26, 2010 2:23 pm

Hi Dazzled,
Your correct I do and have always had the Billion Bipac 7404vgpx, the modem is connected to the router by the usb extension cable, which is now connected to my desktop.
I did or thought I did network to my old laptop using a Netgear WG111v2, I put a password on the router and the netgear seems to run ok with that.
But I thought my Modem or at least the router would be showing in my computer on the Desktop?
If I turn the laptop on and put the netgear in will it show on my desktop?
Regards Sue

Post Reply