Exetel Dashboard Widget

All other technical assistance queries (General technical issues, IPv6. P2P, News groups, etc)
Tamar
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 8:37 pm

Re: Exetel Dashboard Widget

Post by Tamar » Sat Apr 25, 2009 12:03 am

LightYear wrote:Cheers for your effort Tamar. Afraid the new version is a no goer for me (OS X 10.5.6, Intel). System log simply has:

DashboardClient[354]: could not initialize a widget /Users/liteyear/Library/Widgets/Exetel Meter.wdgt/
[0x0-0xc00c].com.apple.dock[231]: 2009-04-24 21:12:44.432 DashboardClient[354:10b] could not initialize a widget /Users/liteyear/Library/Widgets/Exetel Meter.wdgt/

Tried deleting Widget and pref file and reinstalling, but same issue. Any debug info I can provide?
Thanks LightYear, works on my 10.5.6 Macbook unibody, will wait to see if others have the same issue.

mac-col
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 5:35 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Exetel Dashboard Widget

Post by mac-col » Sat Apr 25, 2009 9:22 am

The new widget installs for me, but doesn't display any data or show any 'i' controls to customise it with my user name or download limit etc.

Cheers

Tamar
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 8:37 pm

Re: Exetel Dashboard Widget

Post by Tamar » Sat Apr 25, 2009 9:52 am

Thanks mac-col and LightYear for the feedback. I've done the same test myself (delete everything, download and reinstall) and still working fine for me. Two possible problems: the widget needs internet/firewall access so if you have LittleSnitch or something similar you may need to allow the outgoing connection. Second, I have the developer tools installed, Quartz compositions should run without the dev tools but maybe there's something there too.

mac-col
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 5:35 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Exetel Dashboard Widget

Post by mac-col » Sat Apr 25, 2009 10:03 am

Hi,

I don't have Little Snitch or Developers Tools installed. Previous Exetel widget worked fine as do the other widgets.

Running 10.5.6

Hope this helps.

Cheers

fother
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 2:18 pm

Re: Exetel Dashboard Widget

Post by fother » Sat Apr 25, 2009 11:12 am

Broken for me too. Same result as mac-col.

Have little snitch installed, but it hasn't even noticed an attempt by the new widget

Tamar
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 8:37 pm

Re: Exetel Dashboard Widget

Post by Tamar » Sat Apr 25, 2009 12:32 pm

Looks like webkit is sandboxing the composition's embedded xml download. Investigating.

Tamar
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 8:37 pm

Re: Exetel Dashboard Widget

Post by Tamar » Sat Apr 25, 2009 12:46 pm

May have had the wrong security settings. Please try deleting and re-downloading.

sdevo
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 10:05 pm
Location: 33°0'S 151°46'W

Re: Exetel Dashboard Widget

Post by sdevo » Sat Apr 25, 2009 12:49 pm

OSX 10.4.11
Version 0.14 worked no problems.
Installed v0.15 without trouble but when opened it in dashboard there was an error message
" This downloaded composition is unsafe and cannot be run inside webkit"
Deleted previous version and emptied trash, reinstalled, and still get this error message.
Any ideas? Does anyone else have this issue?

mac-col
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 5:35 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Exetel Dashboard Widget

Post by mac-col » Sat Apr 25, 2009 1:04 pm

Just trashed the widget and downloaded it. Again, it installed but shows no data or 'buttons' to set it up.

Cheers

marcus.sg
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:00 pm
Location: Artarmon, Sydney, NSW

Re: Exetel Dashboard Widget

Post by marcus.sg » Sat Apr 25, 2009 1:27 pm

same here, Iost all my settings because I clicked 'replace' :cry:

update: I dragged the old widget out of the trash and double click. data's back, yay! new widget still doesn't work though...

fother
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 2:18 pm

Re: Exetel Dashboard Widget

Post by fother » Sat Apr 25, 2009 1:33 pm

I've got it working now!

Followed the same idea as marcus.sg, which didn't work at first, then found another version in the trash ( 13-02-32-951 ) which works.

Nice new look to the widget :D

postglock
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 6:30 pm
Location: Coburg

Re: Exetel Dashboard Widget

Post by postglock » Sat Apr 25, 2009 4:45 pm

Works great for me (10.5.6, Intel MBP). Nice work with the ticks showing the amount of the month passed! Looks excellent!

Some other feedback:
- The animation is pretty, but the pause is a bit annoying when it activates every time the dashboard opens. Perhaps you could have the animation when moving anew from zero (e.g. beginning of the month), and just have an incremental animation as the month progresses. Then, users could see the old data immediately when opening the dashboard.
- Also, more data à la the Firefox widget would be great, as per my earlier comments. At the moment, I'd use your widget for a quick check, but I'd open Firefox when I need more info (I normally use Opera as a browser). Specifically, what is useful in the Firefox widget is the remaining amount left, in kB/s, and the target surplus/deficit, in days/hours.

Cheers!

mac-col
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 5:35 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Exetel Dashboard Widget

Post by mac-col » Sat Apr 25, 2009 5:01 pm

Downloaded yet again, but still no joy. Blank bars and nowhere to add my details.

Cheers

marcus.sg
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:00 pm
Location: Artarmon, Sydney, NSW

Re: Exetel Dashboard Widget

Post by marcus.sg » Sat Apr 25, 2009 5:46 pm

Hmm... Gui "Smooshiness" ... Needs a bit of polishing.

Image

mac-col
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 5:35 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Exetel Dashboard Widget

Post by mac-col » Sat Apr 25, 2009 6:12 pm

Thought I'd try a reboot. Widget now working nicely.

Thanks.

Cheers

Post Reply