Connecting to broadband

All other technical assistance queries (General technical issues, IPv6. P2P, News groups, etc)
Post Reply
lisar
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 6:26 pm
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Connecting to broadband

Post by lisar » Sun Mar 09, 2008 6:54 pm

I have been having trouble with connecting to my broadband internet service. Since Saturday 8th March, when I attempt to get on to the internet, my computer starts looking for a dial-up connection, asks me for the password (which I do not have as I do not have a dial-up account) & then attempts to dial. I find if I right click on "Wireless Network Connection", diable the connection & then enable it several times, I manage to get on to the internet.

Cocka
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 4:48 pm
Location: Chain Valley Bay, N.S.W. OZ

Post by Cocka » Sun Mar 09, 2008 7:40 pm

As no one else seems to want to talk to you I'll give it a go.
We'll take it your using Windows XP, if not we could be in trouble !!!
Go to Start>Control Panel>Internet Options>Connections, click on "Never dial a connection", then on "Apply", should fix your problem.
I once thought I made a mistake but I was wrong ?

dogwomble
Posts: 375
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:21 am

Post by dogwomble » Mon Mar 10, 2008 8:30 am

This one will work with both Windows XP and Windows 2000 (and IIRC also Win98 & ME).

Click on Start->Run
Type in 'inetwiz' and click on OK
Select "I connect using a LAN connection" and click on Next
Make sure all the proxy options are unselected and click on Next/Finish

That should fix it :)

Post Reply