Will I lose my settings

All other technical assistance queries (General technical issues, IPv6. P2P, News groups, etc)
Post Reply
doogie
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Perth

Will I lose my settings

Post by doogie » Fri Apr 03, 2009 3:51 pm

I am going on a holiday for a week and can see no point in leaving my wireless modem router and voip ata switched on. In fact I am being a good boy and trying to reduce my co2 output. LOL!! I figure there is no need to leave computers and other communications equipment switched on when I am not here. If I turn off all the power at the main power outlet for the duration of my holiday, will I lose any/all my current settings in my router or my voip ata? Everything is working just nicely after a fair bit of tweaking and I would be shattered if it was all to disappear.

Thanks

JasonM

Re: Will I lose my settings

Post by JasonM » Fri Apr 03, 2009 3:57 pm

Check your equipment for a 'backup settings' option, in case it does lose settings. It shouldn't though, as the devices typically save settings after they are configured.

doogie
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Perth

Re: Will I lose my settings

Post by doogie » Fri Apr 03, 2009 4:16 pm

Jason, I have a dynalink RTA1025W modem/router and a linksys pap2t ata. I naturally save settings in the router by clicking on a save tab and the pap2t always says to wait while settings are being saved. So I guess I assume from this that both should hold the configuration settings even without power from the mains. Do they hold the settings in flash memory or something?

JasonM

Re: Will I lose my settings

Post by JasonM » Fri Apr 03, 2009 4:25 pm

doogie wrote:Jason, I have a dynalink RTA1025W modem/router and a linksys pap2t ata. I naturally save settings in the router by clicking on a save tab and the pap2t always says to wait while settings are being saved. So I guess I assume from this that both should hold the configuration settings even without power from the mains. Do they hold the settings in flash memory or something?
Yes.

doogie
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Perth

Re: Will I lose my settings

Post by doogie » Fri Apr 03, 2009 4:29 pm

Thanks for all your good advice Jason. I can enjoy my holiday and help the planet a little bit at the same time. Cheers

peterh_oz
Posts: 522
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:13 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Will I lose my settings

Post by peterh_oz » Fri Apr 03, 2009 6:16 pm

doogie wrote:Thanks for all your good advice Jason. I can enjoy my holiday and help the planet a little bit at the same time. Cheers
Switch to GreenPower and help the planet all the time :)

And enjoy the fact that Exetel is also using 100% greenpower (you should really push that Exetel - good marketing and its not greenwashing!).

Post Reply