Extra IP Cost

All other technical assistance queries (General technical issues, IPv6. P2P, News groups, etc)
BiiRO
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 11:11 pm
Location: Brisbane

Extra IP Cost

Post by BiiRO » Sun May 10, 2009 11:32 pm

Hi,

In the FAQ it states
'Can I get Additional IP addresses?
Yes; click here for details of costs and how to apply for them.

but there is no link to get the details. I need another IP to test new functionality in Windows Server 2008 R2 and want to find out the costs of a /30 and even a /29 if need be.

Regards,

John

ymo
Posts: 294
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 4:36 pm
Location: Wollongong NSW

Re: Extra IP Cost

Post by ymo » Mon May 11, 2009 12:02 am

Not obvious where to find it but i managed to locate http://www.exetel.com.au/w_web_hosting.php under Hosting in the Residential section of the Exetel website.

A /29 is $180/year and a /30 is half that.

BiiRO
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 11:11 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: Extra IP Cost

Post by BiiRO » Mon May 11, 2009 9:14 am

$90 for an extra ip ?? Umm no...

James
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1992
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 10:27 pm

Re: Extra IP Cost

Post by James » Mon May 11, 2009 9:23 am

BiiRO wrote:$90 for an extra ip ?? Umm no...
For an extra 2.

BiiRO
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 11:11 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: Extra IP Cost

Post by BiiRO » Mon May 11, 2009 1:49 pm

How are you going to route '3' IPs up the connection ? there is no subnet that will cover that. I have had a few /29 subnets over the years with different providers here at home and they have all been a /29 routed over the exisiting connections /30 IP.

How would these 3 IP be presented ?

samarium
Posts: 376
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 12:17 am

Re: Extra IP Cost

Post by samarium » Mon May 11, 2009 10:48 pm

/29 or /30 just affect the number of addresses in the block to be routed.

I would expect your existing connection is a /32 aka single address, not a /30.

Say you have existing address x.y.z.w, and you are apply for a /30 and are allocated a.b.c.32/30 so you have:

a.b.c.32 unusable
a.b.c.33 usable new address
a.b.c.34 usable new address
a.b.c.35 unusable

For external inbound packets to a.b.c.32/30 exetel routes via x.y.z.w and your modem then routes the packets per your local configuration.

Whether you have a modem capable of doing such routing and can figure out how to get it to do the job are a different issues. The question of whether you want the /30 subject to NAT is also one to consider.

I'm fairly sure my old billion would do the routing ok, not sure about selective NAT, may have to delve into the command line interface to get that level of control.

In general I've just relied on port forwarding different ports to different internal boxes running the same service when I wanted to access the same service on multiple internal boxes from the internet. This also has the advantage that you are using non standard ports, which usually reduces the number of hack attempts.

BiiRO
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 11:11 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: Extra IP Cost

Post by BiiRO » Tue May 12, 2009 4:15 pm

Thanks Samarium,

I am very familiar with how its done (I am an IT Manager for 20+ years, CCIE) but I wanted to know how 'THEY' would present 3 IP's as was the reply. with a /29.

You yourslef have pointed out what I know..there is only 2 useable not the 3 I am refering to. ie we curently have one and for $90 we get 'another' 2 but thats not possible. So I expect the $90 is really only another 1 IP.

James
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1992
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 10:27 pm

Re: Extra IP Cost

Post by James » Tue May 12, 2009 5:00 pm

It's another 2 for $90.00 per year, and if that's too much, don't worry about it!

BiiRO
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 11:11 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: Extra IP Cost

Post by BiiRO » Tue May 12, 2009 6:28 pm

Are they contiguous ? Will they then be 3 contiguous IP's ?

James
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1992
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 10:27 pm

Re: Extra IP Cost

Post by James » Tue May 12, 2009 6:40 pm

No.

BiiRO
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 11:11 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: Extra IP Cost

Post by BiiRO » Tue May 12, 2009 6:44 pm

Then you arent offering /29 or such subnets at all as per the FAQ or dont you know what we are talking about ?

/30 Block Of 4 IP Addresses of which 2 are usable $0.00 $90.00
/29 Block Of 8 IP Addresses of which 6 are usable $0.00 $180.00

The key word there is 'block' and the reason only 2 are useable is they are contiguous as per the subnet mask..

James
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1992
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 10:27 pm

Re: Extra IP Cost

Post by James » Tue May 12, 2009 6:49 pm

They are part of a block, but they are routed through your WAN IP address, which is part of a different subnet.

BiiRO
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 11:11 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: Extra IP Cost

Post by BiiRO » Tue May 12, 2009 6:55 pm

Ok..now we are starting to get to the nitty gritty.. so the 'extra' 2 IP will be contiguous but keeping the existing ip I have now for instance as well. I need to have 2 contiguous IPs for trials of a new function in Windows Server 2008 R2. So if the above is what you are going to do thats useable.

James
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1992
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 10:27 pm

Re: Extra IP Cost

Post by James » Tue May 12, 2009 6:58 pm

It is what it has always been.

BiiRO
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 11:11 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: Extra IP Cost

Post by BiiRO » Tue May 12, 2009 8:36 pm

Thanks James,

What do I need to fill out to get it implemented ?

Post Reply