How to configure additional IPs

All other technical assistance queries (General technical issues, IPv6. P2P, News groups, etc)
Post Reply
darylp
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

How to configure additional IPs

Post by darylp » Fri Jul 17, 2009 12:42 am

Howdy,
I've just ordered a /30 subnet range.

1)
I currently have 220.233.94.123, will I keep that & get 2 additional usable IPs, meaning I have a total of 3 usable IPs?

2)
How do I configure for these additional IPs?

JasonM

Re: How to configure additional IPs

Post by JasonM » Fri Jul 17, 2009 12:55 am

A /30 offers 2 usable IPs.
Configuration for those IPs depends on your hardware configuration - Cisco devices, you would add one IP address to the router, and the other to the machine.

darylp
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: How to configure additional IPs

Post by darylp » Fri Jul 17, 2009 1:53 pm

Thanks Jason,
Unfortunately your response didn't answer my questions sufficiently.

Do I lose my current 220.233.94.123 & get 2 new IPs?
This would effectively mean I only get 2 usable IPs & not 3 as I mentioned.

I have reverse DNS on 220.233.94.123 will that get migrated to 1 of the new IPs at no additional charge?

I use a ClarkConnect 5.0, Linux box with PPPoE:- can the PPPoE session be configured with multiple IPs?

JasonM

Re: How to configure additional IPs

Post by JasonM » Fri Jul 17, 2009 2:01 pm

The IPs are 'additional', you still keep the current IP.

Reverse DNS is not migrated to the new IPs.
The PPP session does not use Multiple IPs - typically you configure a network interface on the router, and then have another machine in the network with the other IP.

Post Reply