Can`t access 1 web site

All other technical assistance queries (General technical issues, IPv6. P2P, News groups, etc)
nbirk
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 12:54 am
Location: Claremont Meadows

Can`t access 1 web site

Post by nbirk » Sun Nov 01, 2009 7:53 am

Hi
For the last few weeks, I have been trying to access this web site www.gscalecentral.co.uk and both browsers on my iMac are not loading it up. It works when using the 3G network on my iPhone, but if my iPhone uses my wi-fi connection (exetel) it also never loads this site up.
This is the ONLY site that I have never been able to access in all my time on the internet.
Is there a setting or refreshing of something that I can perhaps do so that I can access this website without any trouble?

Thank you
Neil

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by Dazzled » Sun Nov 01, 2009 8:58 am

Registered 23 Oct 2009. Supposedly at http://213.130.131.132/ but it doesn't respond at the moment. A traceroute stopped replying at Singtel, Singapore.

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by CoreyPlover » Sun Nov 01, 2009 2:41 pm

Looks like the site is down for everyone so it is a remote site thing, not an Exetel one: http://downforeveryoneorjustme.com/http ... ral.co.uk/

nbirk
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 12:54 am
Location: Claremont Meadows

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by nbirk » Sun Nov 01, 2009 7:47 pm

Well it seems that way at first. But I can access this site on my iphone using the 3G network, but not my wi-fi connection. Also, if I use a proxy server, I can access the web site, but as soon as I`m off the proxy, I cannot access it. So it seems to be an Exetel thing.

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by Dazzled » Sun Nov 01, 2009 8:03 pm

I just traced a path as far as Singapore again (ADSL2, Exetel/Optus) before replies stopped, so the failure is beyond Exetel. http://downforeveryoneorjustme.com/ says the site has come up since this morning.

nbirk
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 12:54 am
Location: Claremont Meadows

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by nbirk » Sun Nov 01, 2009 8:35 pm

So what does that mean? There are other aussies using the above mentioned web site quite well. This web site has not worked once for me. Is there anything I can do or report to someone?

I just did a test using the iseveryonedownorisitme web sit eand it says it`s me and that gscalecentral is up!!

I`m confused

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by CoreyPlover » Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:29 pm

nbirk wrote:I just did a test using the iseveryonedownorisitme web sit eand it says it`s me and that gscalecentral is up!!
Yep. I now get "It's just you" too. Something is a little strange about routing to this site.

Give it a day or so for any DNS propagation to finish as this might be causing issues. If it still doesn't work I'd suggest emailing residentialsupport@exetel.com.au with a tracert included, maybe even a link to this forum thread.

jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by jokiin » Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:33 pm

nbirk wrote:So what does that mean? There are other aussies using the above mentioned web site quite well. This web site has not worked once for me. Is there anything I can do or report to someone?

I just did a test using the iseveryonedownorisitme web sit eand it says it`s me and that gscalecentral is up!!

I`m confused
it is up for me, have you cleared history, temp files etc?

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by CoreyPlover » Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:41 pm

jokiin wrote:it is up for me
But still not working for me. Perhaps something limited to the 115.70.x.x block then?

nbirk, this probably means that you will need to contact residentialsupport@exetel.com.au as there might be an IP range block in place somewhere that is preventing a portion of Exetel's customers from accessing the site.

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by Dazzled » Sun Nov 01, 2009 10:30 pm

Not up for me yet on Exetel carrier - trace stops in Singapore. (I have a 115.70.*.* address also)

nbirk
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 12:54 am
Location: Claremont Meadows

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by nbirk » Mon Nov 02, 2009 5:20 am

Thank you very much for your replies everyone. I will contact the recommended email and see if they can do anything.

Much appreciated. I`ll report back once the problem is fixed.

jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by jokiin » Mon Nov 02, 2009 10:41 am

CoreyPlover wrote:
jokiin wrote:it is up for me
But still not working for me. Perhaps something limited to the 115.70.x.x block then?
it does seem that everyone that can't get there is on that range

Mike Agent N040
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 9:41 pm
Location: Black Mountain
Contact:

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by Mike Agent N040 » Mon Nov 02, 2009 10:51 am

A temporary workaround may be to install TOR as this will re-route the traffic elsewhere.
Exetel Agent N040
http://auzzie.net/cccweb

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by CoreyPlover » Mon Nov 02, 2009 11:01 am

Mike Agent N040 wrote:A temporary workaround may be to install TOR as this will re-route the traffic elsewhere.
Or even easier, just an online proxy, which nbirk has used to successfully browse the site.

Mike Agent N040
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 9:41 pm
Location: Black Mountain
Contact:

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by Mike Agent N040 » Mon Nov 02, 2009 11:07 am

Righto - sorry I skimmed the post. My bad.
Exetel Agent N040
http://auzzie.net/cccweb

Post Reply