Can`t access 1 web site

All other technical assistance queries (General technical issues, IPv6. P2P, News groups, etc)
nbirk
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 12:54 am
Location: Claremont Meadows

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by nbirk » Mon Nov 02, 2009 6:26 pm

I have received an email from customer support and they recommended trying to change DNS servers. I did that with no success. They then asked for me to ping and trace route the web site and send back the data. Here are my results (I Think)

Ping 213.130.131.132
[www.gscalecentral.co.uk]

Timed out
Timed out
Timed out
Timed out
Timed out
Timed out
Timed out
Timed out
Timed out
Timed out

Average time over 10 pings: 0 ms


213.130.131.132 is from United Kingdom(UK) in region Western Europe


TraceRoute to 213.130.131.132 [www.gscalecentral.co.uk]

Hop (ms) (ms) (ms) IP Address Host name
1 17 12 9 72.249.128.109 -
2 12 6 7 8.9.232.73 xe-5-3-0.edge3.dallas1.level3.net
3 8 7 12 4.69.145.198 ae-44-90.car4.dallas1.level3.net
4 13 17 14 64.208.110.205 te8-2-10g.ar2.dal2.gblx.net
5 123 131 124 64.215.182.90 netservices-plc.gigabitethernet3-27.ar6.lon3.gblx.net
6 132 142 143 213.130.138.17 g3-0.gsr1-telhe-lon-uk.as15444.net
7 135 222 165 213.130.138.121 -
8 134 129 129 82.163.3.251 -
9 Timed out Timed out Timed out -
10 Timed out Timed out Timed out -
11 Timed out Timed out Timed out -
12 Timed out Timed out Timed out -
Trace aborted.


Is this the information that`s needed or have I done it wrong? Never done a ping or trace before.


In regards to using an online proxy, I`d prefer not to as that is terribly slow, and I cannot seem to register myself on the forums of the web site without paying the proxy $$$`s.

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by Dazzled » Mon Nov 02, 2009 7:33 pm

That's OK. Interestingly you are going via the US without connecting to the site in the UK. I am still disappearing after Singapore tracepathing from my address. Changing DNS server won't help.

nbirk
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 12:54 am
Location: Claremont Meadows

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by nbirk » Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:34 pm

Quite interesting all this. I`ve never experienced an issue like this before, and I`m fascinated how much ppl in the know, know about all this. It`s slowly starting to make some sense to me.

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by Dazzled » Mon Nov 02, 2009 9:47 pm

Apple do a good job of concealing the all-powerful terminal from users. We have been using the commands: ping, traceroute, tracepath and whois in the terminal. You can check it out at places like http://guides.macrumors.com/Terminal and http://guides.macrumors.com/Troubleshoo ... k_Problems

nbirk
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 12:54 am
Location: Claremont Meadows

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by nbirk » Mon Nov 02, 2009 9:59 pm

Thanks for reminding me about Terminal. I tried it and this is what the traceroute says:

Traceroute has started…

dyld: shared cached file was build against a different libSystem.dylib, ignoring cache
traceroute to www.gscalecentral.co.uk (213.130.131.132), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets
1 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1) 1.066 ms 0.674 ms 1.753 ms
2 * * *
3 10.0.1.33 (10.0.1.33) 30.718 ms 31.760 ms 29.840 ms
4 * * *
5 37.2.233.220.static.exetel.com.au (220.233.2.37) 31.466 ms 30.258 ms 29.698 ms
6 119.225.5.249 (119.225.5.249) 32.501 ms 32.101 ms 30.761 ms
7 10.248.24.3 (10.248.24.3) 31.327 ms 31.052 ms 31.062 ms
8 61.88.221.63 (61.88.221.63) 33.252 ms 33.885 ms 31.768 ms
9 203.208.191.157 (203.208.191.157) 192.949 ms 196.416 ms *
10 203.208.168.198 (203.208.168.198) 189.860 ms 192.180 ms 189.651 ms
11 * * *
12 * * *
13 * * *
14 * * *
15 * * *
16 * * *
17 * * *
18 * * *
19 * * *
20 * * *


I have no idea what this means btw.

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by Dazzled » Mon Nov 02, 2009 10:48 pm

You are firing off a batch of data packets in the direction of the target, and having values returned for timing as each router is passed on the way. The result is a list of hops between routers and the times taken for the hop. 192.168.1.1 is your own modem/router; the Exetel IP identified itself; you would have to look up the rest. 119.225.5.249 is Optus; 203.208.168.198 is an IP used by Singtel. The asterisks show that nobody replied during a preset reasonable time.

nbirk
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 12:54 am
Location: Claremont Meadows

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by nbirk » Tue Nov 03, 2009 7:01 am

Just in case this info is important, I`m using Mac OSX Snow Leopard. Apparently Snow Leopard treats DNS issues a little differently to how Leopard did.

Also, I booted into Windows on this same Mac, tried changing the DNS settings in Windows and it also makes no difference whatsoever to this 1 web site.

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by CoreyPlover » Tue Nov 03, 2009 1:19 pm

nbirk wrote:Also, I booted into Windows on this same Mac, tried changing the DNS settings in Windows and it also makes no difference whatsoever to this 1 web site.
It wouldn't. I think we've narrowed this issue down to Exetel services connected on 115.70.x.x IP addresses. Have you lodged a ticket for it yet?

nbirk
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 12:54 am
Location: Claremont Meadows

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by nbirk » Tue Nov 03, 2009 8:41 pm

I lodged a ticket, and I have had 2 responses. 1 response was a pretty automated one suggesting changing the DNS servers, and the 2nd reponse I received yesterday suggested changing the MTU size from 1500 to 1400 or 1300. This also didn`t work. I haven`t heard from anyone now for almost 24 hours on the subject.
Should I provide my ticket number here or should I just wait?
Thanks
Neil

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by Dazzled » Tue Nov 03, 2009 8:59 pm

You wouldn't expect those things to work. Whoever said that hadn't looked at this thread.

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by CoreyPlover » Tue Nov 03, 2009 9:29 pm

I'll bring the thread to the attention of an engineer. In the meantime, can you post the ticket number

nbirk
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 12:54 am
Location: Claremont Meadows

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by nbirk » Wed Nov 04, 2009 2:52 am

Hi
Ticket number is 1841083.

Thank you very much for passing this on.

Neil

nbirk
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 12:54 am
Location: Claremont Meadows

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by nbirk » Thu Nov 05, 2009 2:49 am

It`s WORKING!!!! Woke up this morning, and yes it`s working!!! I didn`t do anything, so I`m cautious not to get too excited as whatever has changed that has allowed me to access the site, may change back again.
Thank you to everyone for all your help.
Neil

JasonM

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by JasonM » Fri Nov 06, 2009 9:21 am

Our networks team reported the issue and it's resolved now.

nbirk
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 12:54 am
Location: Claremont Meadows

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Post by nbirk » Fri Nov 06, 2009 5:55 pm

Thank you very much once again. I do appreciate your help
Regards,
Neil

Post Reply