Page 1 of 2

Can`t access 1 web site

Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 7:53 am
by nbirk
Hi
For the last few weeks, I have been trying to access this web site www.gscalecentral.co.uk and both browsers on my iMac are not loading it up. It works when using the 3G network on my iPhone, but if my iPhone uses my wi-fi connection (exetel) it also never loads this site up.
This is the ONLY site that I have never been able to access in all my time on the internet.
Is there a setting or refreshing of something that I can perhaps do so that I can access this website without any trouble?

Thank you
Neil

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 8:58 am
by Dazzled
Registered 23 Oct 2009. Supposedly at http://213.130.131.132/ but it doesn't respond at the moment. A traceroute stopped replying at Singtel, Singapore.

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 2:41 pm
by CoreyPlover
Looks like the site is down for everyone so it is a remote site thing, not an Exetel one: http://downforeveryoneorjustme.com/http ... ral.co.uk/

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 7:47 pm
by nbirk
Well it seems that way at first. But I can access this site on my iphone using the 3G network, but not my wi-fi connection. Also, if I use a proxy server, I can access the web site, but as soon as I`m off the proxy, I cannot access it. So it seems to be an Exetel thing.

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 8:03 pm
by Dazzled
I just traced a path as far as Singapore again (ADSL2, Exetel/Optus) before replies stopped, so the failure is beyond Exetel. http://downforeveryoneorjustme.com/ says the site has come up since this morning.

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 8:35 pm
by nbirk
So what does that mean? There are other aussies using the above mentioned web site quite well. This web site has not worked once for me. Is there anything I can do or report to someone?

I just did a test using the iseveryonedownorisitme web sit eand it says it`s me and that gscalecentral is up!!

I`m confused

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:29 pm
by CoreyPlover
nbirk wrote:I just did a test using the iseveryonedownorisitme web sit eand it says it`s me and that gscalecentral is up!!
Yep. I now get "It's just you" too. Something is a little strange about routing to this site.

Give it a day or so for any DNS propagation to finish as this might be causing issues. If it still doesn't work I'd suggest emailing residentialsupport@exetel.com.au with a tracert included, maybe even a link to this forum thread.

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:33 pm
by jokiin
nbirk wrote:So what does that mean? There are other aussies using the above mentioned web site quite well. This web site has not worked once for me. Is there anything I can do or report to someone?

I just did a test using the iseveryonedownorisitme web sit eand it says it`s me and that gscalecentral is up!!

I`m confused
it is up for me, have you cleared history, temp files etc?

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:41 pm
by CoreyPlover
jokiin wrote:it is up for me
But still not working for me. Perhaps something limited to the 115.70.x.x block then?

nbirk, this probably means that you will need to contact residentialsupport@exetel.com.au as there might be an IP range block in place somewhere that is preventing a portion of Exetel's customers from accessing the site.

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2009 10:30 pm
by Dazzled
Not up for me yet on Exetel carrier - trace stops in Singapore. (I have a 115.70.*.* address also)

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Posted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 5:20 am
by nbirk
Thank you very much for your replies everyone. I will contact the recommended email and see if they can do anything.

Much appreciated. I`ll report back once the problem is fixed.

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Posted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 10:41 am
by jokiin
CoreyPlover wrote:
jokiin wrote:it is up for me
But still not working for me. Perhaps something limited to the 115.70.x.x block then?
it does seem that everyone that can't get there is on that range

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Posted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 10:51 am
by Mike Agent N040
A temporary workaround may be to install TOR as this will re-route the traffic elsewhere.

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Posted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 11:01 am
by CoreyPlover
Mike Agent N040 wrote:A temporary workaround may be to install TOR as this will re-route the traffic elsewhere.
Or even easier, just an online proxy, which nbirk has used to successfully browse the site.

Re: Can`t access 1 web site

Posted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 11:07 am
by Mike Agent N040
Righto - sorry I skimmed the post. My bad.