Page 1 of 1

Temporarily Change Service

Posted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 7:35 pm
by ryanb
If I wanted to log into a friend's or "business" bigpond account temporarily would this be possible? If so, how long would it take to switch over from my regular exetel connection to the bigpond one? I changed my netgear router login from my exetel one to the bigpond one, as well as update the DNS to bigpond's but I still can't get anything to load?

Re: Temporarily Change Service

Posted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 7:48 pm
by Dazzled
Your modem is still talking to Exetel though, with a bad login.

Do you wish to edit your friend's account details, or do you want to log into his computer and use that? Bigpond will resist your using your friend's data allowance directly.

Re: Temporarily Change Service

Posted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 8:05 pm
by ryanb
Dazzled wrote:Your modem is still talking to Exetel though, with a bad login.

Do you wish to edit your friend's account details, or do you want to log into his computer and use that? Bigpond will resist your using your friend's data allowance directly.
Actually, I just wanted to log in to my bigpond business account (I used the word friend so it would be easier to explain) so I could use the "data allowance directly". My motive for doing this was to provide temporary internet access to my household as I had a mix up with my Exetel account (insufficient funds on my credit card even after the 72 free hours, so will have to wait 2-3 days with my internet blocked for direct debit to go through).

Re: Temporarily Change Service

Posted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 8:26 pm
by Dazzled
On my desktop is an icon that makes me a terminal on someone else's computer, just as if it were my own. I can use browsers and downloaders to place stuff on that computer using the other internet connection, edit files remotely, and I can transfer the files to mine.The gotcha though is that the data transfers to and from my machine are passing through the Exetel connection, so it needs to be active. The internet connection from the exchange goes to Exetel.

Re: Temporarily Change Service

Posted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 9:49 pm
by James
ryanb wrote:If I wanted to log into a friend's or "business" bigpond account temporarily would this be possible? If so, how long would it take to switch over from my regular exetel connection to the bigpond one? I changed my netgear router login from my exetel one to the bigpond one, as well as update the DNS to bigpond's but I still can't get anything to load?
It won't work, there are Exetel codes on your line, only Exetel works on it.