DNS Hosting

All other technical assistance queries (General technical issues, IPv6. P2P, News groups, etc)
Post Reply
compositor
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:19 pm
Location: Australia

DNS Hosting

Post by compositor » Wed Dec 07, 2011 7:31 pm

I recently acquired a Domain from Exetel and already have Web Hosting but didn't wish to pay the charge for Domain Hosting as well so have opted to try a free service.

Would anyone know if there is a way to tell if the records have been updated to point to another DNS server or would I have to ask Exetel direct?

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5997
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: DNS Hosting

Post by Dazzled » Wed Dec 07, 2011 7:46 pm

whois and dig. Built-ins in Linux systems, downloadable for Windows. First check the domain name servers for your domain, then check the DNS records in your new Exetel server at 220.233.0.4.

compositor
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:19 pm
Location: Australia

Re: DNS Hosting

Post by compositor » Thu Dec 08, 2011 7:14 am

Hi Dazzled,

I tried that tool with the result that the IP is 220.233.0.22.

I'm also getting a 403 error, could that possibly be coming from the DNS (not exetel) web server?

Thank you very much for your help and assistance.

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5997
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: DNS Hosting

Post by Dazzled » Thu Dec 08, 2011 9:20 am

403 is an Apache server status from the Exetel web server vh1.web.exetel.com.au at 220.233.0.22 - you can't come in from outside at that level. See more at http://exewiki.exetel.com.au/index.php? ... 6_Services

PS- To illustrate further what you found, a browser sends some information to the server at connection to 220.233.0.22, eg:
GET / HTTP/1.1
User-Agent: Opera/9.80 (X11; Linux i686; U; en) Presto/2.9.168 Version/11.51
Host: 220.233.0.22
Accept: text/html, application/xml;q=0.9, application/xhtml+xml, image/png, image/webp, image/jpeg, image/gif, image/x-xbitmap, */*;q=0.1
Accept-Language: en-AU,en;q=0.9
Accept-Encoding: gzip, deflate
Cache-Control: no-cache
Connection: Keep-Alive

The Host field in this case did not tell the server the information required to show the desired pages. It returned the message:
HTTP/1.1 403 Forbidden
Date: Wed, 07 Dec 2011 22:34:57 GMT
Server: Apache/2.2.9 (Debian) mod_ssl/2.2.9 OpenSSL/0.9.8g
Content-Length: 308
Keep-Alive: timeout=15, max=100
Connection: Keep-Alive
Content-Type: text/html; charset=iso-8859-1

compositor
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:19 pm
Location: Australia

Re: DNS Hosting

Post by compositor » Thu Dec 08, 2011 11:22 am

Dazzled wrote:403 is an Apache server status from the Exetel web server vh1.web.exetel.com.au at 220.233.0.22 - you can't come in from outside at that level.
Are you saying that the FQDN cannot be used?

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5997
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: DNS Hosting

Post by Dazzled » Thu Dec 08, 2011 12:50 pm

The above shows the little chat that goes on behind the scenes when a browser connects. What I was trying to get over was that asking a browser to connect direct to the server IP address leaves the Host field empty. The server doesn't get the name of your site to display and so in this case produces an error response. Some other servers will put an advertisement up instead. When you ask for mysite.com.au the browser will fill the field in.

compositor
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:19 pm
Location: Australia

Re: DNS Hosting

Post by compositor » Thu Dec 08, 2011 1:49 pm

I'm not trying to connect to the IP directly otherwise I'd have asked Exetel for a block of IP addresses.

My question then becomes, if I put in a CNAME record for www ie the unqualified portion will it work?

Post Reply