Exetel Blocking Sites?

All other technical assistance queries (General technical issues, IPv6. P2P, News groups, etc)
Post Reply
aussierod
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 10:53 pm
Location: Qld

Exetel Blocking Sites?

Post by aussierod » Fri Sep 07, 2012 8:51 pm

Hi, using my Exetel IP, I can't get to my favorite news site http://www.whatreallyhappened.com/

If I use a proxy I can get it.
https://morphium.info/nph-proxy.cgi/010 ... 2r636s6q2s

Exetel blocking sites now?

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Exetel Blocking Sites?

Post by Dazzled » Fri Sep 07, 2012 9:06 pm

No problems here.

Code: Select all

$ sudo traceroute -T www.whatreallyhappened.com
traceroute to www.whatreallyhappened.com (173.236.29.251), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
 1  Gate.home (192.168.1.1)  1.136 ms  1.487 ms  1.844 ms
 2  * * *
 3  57.2.233.220.static.exetel.com.au (220.233.2.57)  38.523 ms  40.723 ms  41.089 ms
 4  125.1.96.58.static.exetel.com.au (58.96.1.125)  43.153 ms  44.609 ms  45.797 ms
 5  202.68.67.52 (202.68.67.52)  47.765 ms  50.133 ms  51.374 ms
 6  xe-5-1-0.r05.sydnau01.au.bb.gin.ntt.net (202.68.64.162)  52.582 ms  41.737 ms  43.622 ms
 7  * * *
 8  xe-3-0-3.r20.lsanca03.us.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.2.141)  221.125 ms  219.469 ms  220.973 ms
 9  ae-4.r20.dllstx09.us.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.2.169)  211.974 ms  207.005 ms  208.044 ms
10  ae-0.r21.dllstx09.us.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.2.59)  207.139 ms  203.839 ms  209.137 ms
11  ae-4.r21.chcgil09.us.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.2.201)  238.512 ms  249.338 ms  248.034 ms
12  ae-2.r06.chcgil09.us.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.4.202)  242.402 ms ae-2.r05.chcgil09.us.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.2.27)  239.463 ms  241.993 ms
13  * * *
14  ae4-52.cr1.ord1.us.nlayer.net (69.31.111.145)  241.668 ms ae1-50g.cr2.ord1.us.nlayer.net (69.31.111.137)  235.732 ms ae2-40g.cr2.ord1.us.nlayer.net (69.31.111.149)  224.009 ms
15  * * *
16  as32475.ae7.ar1.ord6.us.nlayer.net (69.31.111.30)  230.868 ms  242.644 ms  230.580 ms
17  asw-ed107.ord03.singlehop.net (173.236.1.186)  234.673 ms  243.183 ms  237.042 ms
18  www.whatreallyhappened.com (173.236.29.251)  244.372 ms  242.626 ms  238.110 ms


jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Exetel Blocking Sites?

Post by jokiin » Fri Sep 07, 2012 9:15 pm

no problem here either

aussierod
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 10:53 pm
Location: Qld

Re: Exetel Blocking Sites?

Post by aussierod » Fri Sep 07, 2012 11:26 pm

Cheers guys.

Still can't get it without a proxy.

I'm on the Gold Coast going through Ashmore 4214 Tesltra exchange.

I'm not having a problem with any others sites.

:(

aussierod
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 10:53 pm
Location: Qld

Re: Exetel Blocking Sites?

Post by aussierod » Fri Sep 07, 2012 11:29 pm

Just tried using the sites IP 173.236.29.251.

That works OK.

Ow well, I'll bookmark that.

Thanks.

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: Exetel Blocking Sites?

Post by CoreyPlover » Mon Sep 10, 2012 11:38 am

Perhaps check your hosts file (in c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts) or any internet security resident programs?

You might also want to use a different DNS server (like Google's public DNS - 8.8.8.8); this might help with the domain name resolution.
I am a volunteer moderator and not an Exetel staff member. As with all forum posts, mine do not constitute any "official" Exetel position. Support tickets may be logged via https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au or residentialsupport@exetel.com.au

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Exetel Blocking Sites?

Post by Dazzled » Mon Sep 10, 2012 11:56 am

Assuming Windows - In a DOS box use nslookup (see http://www.windowsnetworking.com/articl ... nosis.html) to check that the DNS server is responding correctly. If it is, as suggested above, check the hosts file and any malware blocker you run.

Post Reply