Exetel "caching" Windows Update

All other technical assistance queries (General technical issues, IPv6. P2P, News groups, etc)
Post Reply
User avatar
Mort
Posts: 387
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 3:04 pm
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Exetel "caching" Windows Update

Post by Mort » Wed Jan 02, 2013 1:34 pm

Greetings,

I've just setup a (another) new WSUS server on my network and when I sync updates I notice the connection is downloading from 220.233.2.200 (200.2.233.220.static.exetel.com.au) and not from the Microsoft Updates servers

Is Exetel running a Windows Update Cache/redirection? While this is possibly a great idea, if true then I have a few questions:
1. Are you caching *all* updates, or are they only cached on first request?
2. If they aren't cached, are we still getting them direct from MS (still via the cache?)
3. If we are downloading updates from an Exetel Cache, is that still counted towards our download quota?
4. When did this start happening? Although perhaps a minor concern (updates are signed etc) this may be a concern for some businesses that would prefer to get the updates direct from MS.
Last edited by Mort on Wed Jan 02, 2013 1:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
As we know, there are known knowns. There are things we know we know. We also know there are known unknowns. That is to say we know there are some things we do not know. But there are also unknown unknowns, the ones we don't know we don't know.

James
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1965
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 10:27 pm

Re: Exetel "caching" Windows Update

Post by James » Wed Jan 02, 2013 1:37 pm

Akamai.

User avatar
Mort
Posts: 387
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 3:04 pm
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Re: Exetel "caching" Windows Update

Post by Mort » Wed Jan 02, 2013 1:38 pm

Ah right, so why does it appear as an Exetel reverse lookup and not an Akamai host name?
As we know, there are known knowns. There are things we know we know. We also know there are known unknowns. That is to say we know there are some things we do not know. But there are also unknown unknowns, the ones we don't know we don't know.

James
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1965
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 10:27 pm

Re: Exetel "caching" Windows Update

Post by James » Wed Jan 02, 2013 2:57 pm

Not sure, but we do not cache anything ourselves.

User avatar
Mort
Posts: 387
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 3:04 pm
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Re: Exetel "caching" Windows Update

Post by Mort » Wed Jan 02, 2013 6:30 pm

I'm thinking the Akamai appliance/server is located inside the Exetel network then. If so then I'm guessing the IP it has been given still has the "generic" DNS reverse lookup name defined on the Exetel DNS servers.
As we know, there are known knowns. There are things we know we know. We also know there are known unknowns. That is to say we know there are some things we do not know. But there are also unknown unknowns, the ones we don't know we don't know.

James
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1965
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 10:27 pm

Re: Exetel "caching" Windows Update

Post by James » Wed Jan 02, 2013 7:17 pm

Yes, we have significant Akamai clusters within our major PoPs.

Post Reply