Does Exetel Offer IPv6 Yet?

All other technical assistance queries (General technical issues, IPv6. P2P, News groups, etc)
Post Reply
wardrop
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 10:24 am
Location: Australia

Does Exetel Offer IPv6 Yet?

Post by wardrop » Sat Mar 02, 2013 12:33 am

Is it possible to get IPv6 enabled on my account? I don't believe my router currently supports IPv6 (old DG834), but would purchase a new router if IPv6 was available through Exetel.

Thanks,
Tom

User avatar
lasithah
Exetel Staff
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 5:42 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Does Exetel Offer IPv6 Yet?

Post by lasithah » Sat Mar 02, 2013 8:44 am

wardrop wrote:Is it possible to get IPv6 enabled on my account? I don't believe my router currently supports IPv6 (old DG834), but would purchase a new router if IPv6 was available through Exetel.

Thanks,
Tom
Hi Tom,

Unfortunately we still do not offer IPV6 for ADSL services.

:(

gavo2o
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 8:18 pm
Location: NSW

Re: Does Exetel Offer IPv6 Yet?

Post by gavo2o » Tue Nov 12, 2013 2:23 am

Hey, Any updates on the status of IPv6 with Exetel yet? I hope you don't mind my asking on this thread rather then a new thread.

User avatar
angelos
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1068
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:22 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Does Exetel Offer IPv6 Yet?

Post by angelos » Tue Nov 12, 2013 3:35 am

gavo2o wrote:Hey, Any updates on the status of IPv6 with Exetel yet? I hope you don't mind my asking on this thread rather then a new thread.
I will check the availability of IPv6 for residential services. Please give me some time to get this checked and confirmed.

User avatar
KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2126
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Does Exetel Offer IPv6 Yet?

Post by KavindaS » Tue Nov 12, 2013 12:42 pm

angelos wrote:
gavo2o wrote:Hey, Any updates on the status of IPv6 with Exetel yet? I hope you don't mind my asking on this thread rather then a new thread.
I will check the availability of IPv6 for residential services. Please give me some time to get this checked and confirmed.
Unfortunately I still have the same answer. We still do not offer IPV6 for ADSL services. :(

User avatar
thomashouseman
Posts: 748
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Toongabbie
Contact:

Re: Does Exetel Offer IPv6 Yet?

Post by thomashouseman » Thu Nov 14, 2013 6:49 am

Come on people it's only been about 5 years so far: viewtopic.php?f=230&t=28257&hilit=ipv6

Have a bit of patience!

Sheesh.

T.

James
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1965
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 10:27 pm

Re: Does Exetel Offer IPv6 Yet?

Post by James » Thu Nov 14, 2013 9:06 am

It's enabled for corporate customers if they want IPv6 space, but very few do!

wardrop
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 10:24 am
Location: Australia

Re: Does Exetel Offer IPv6 Yet?

Post by wardrop » Fri Nov 15, 2013 4:10 pm

It'd be handy for me as a web developer. For every website or web application I deploy, I make it accessible over IPv6. It would be much easier to test IPv6 functionality if my internet connection was natively IPv6. That's my use case anyway.

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6000
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Does Exetel Offer IPv6 Yet?

Post by Dazzled » Fri Nov 15, 2013 4:31 pm

That's a bit more than web development though. I still get people asking me to disable IPv6 in their systems for several reasons. I must confess I'm not sweating on it.

Zuriel
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 7:18 pm
Location: Newcastle

Re: Does Exetel Offer IPv6 Yet?

Post by Zuriel » Mon Mar 17, 2014 3:23 pm

I really expected IPv6 to be available at least on an opt-in basis by now. I completely understand you don't want to break things for existing customers when they don't really need it.

What are the chances of IPv6 on ADSL services in the next 12 months or so?

Post Reply