Changing plan: Questions

All other technical assistance queries (General technical issues, IPv6. P2P, News groups, etc)
Post Reply
Franpa
Posts: 406
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 11:44 am
Location: Australia, QLD

Changing plan: Questions

Post by Franpa » Sat May 24, 2014 1:48 pm

1) We're considering a Internet + Exetel Phone Line package however our current phone line provider's contract is in my parents name and we would like to transfer it to being in my name during the transition from Telstra to Exetel Phone Line. Is this possible? Is there a fee?

2) When changing plans I am not given the option to add Exechat or Exechat Plus, are these available to choose in another part of the website after changing plans?
Windows 10 Pro x64 | Intel i7 920 @ 3.6GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 24GB DDR3 1500MHZ RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Integrated Sound Card | Corsair AX760 Platinum Power Supply | Exetel ZTE H268 Modem

HashiniA
Exetel Staff
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2010 9:59 am
Location: Australia

Re: Changing plan: Questions

Post by HashiniA » Sat May 24, 2014 2:45 pm

Franpa wrote:1) We're considering a Internet + Exetel Phone Line package however our current phone line provider's contract is in my parents name and we would like to transfer it to being in my name during the transition from Telstra to Exetel Phone Line. Is this possible? Is there a fee?

2) When changing plans I am not given the option to add Exechat or Exechat Plus, are these available to choose in another part of the website after changing plans?

I have escalated your inquiry with our sales team. They will advise you further in this regard.

Franpa
Posts: 406
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 11:44 am
Location: Australia, QLD

Re: Changing plan: Questions

Post by Franpa » Sat May 24, 2014 10:32 pm

Does the sales team have any staff that work on the weekend? Or should I expect a response on Monday?
Windows 10 Pro x64 | Intel i7 920 @ 3.6GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 24GB DDR3 1500MHZ RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Integrated Sound Card | Corsair AX760 Platinum Power Supply | Exetel ZTE H268 Modem

User avatar
lasithah
Exetel Staff
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 5:42 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Changing plan: Questions

Post by lasithah » Sat May 24, 2014 11:32 pm

Franpa wrote:Does the sales team have any staff that work on the weekend? Or should I expect a response on Monday?
Hi Franpa,

Sales team is available between 10am-7pm in the weekends and if you don't hear from them tomorrow morning you can reach them on 0280301000/ 1300788141 and select Option #1 from the main menu :)

Bellag
Exetel Staff
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 1:13 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Changing plan: Questions

Post by Bellag » Mon May 26, 2014 9:53 pm

Franpa wrote:1) We're considering a Internet + Exetel Phone Line package however our current phone line provider's contract is in my parents name and we would like to transfer it to being in my name during the transition from Telstra to Exetel Phone Line. Is this possible? Is there a fee?

2) When changing plans I am not given the option to add Exechat or Exechat Plus, are these available to choose in another part of the website after changing plans?
You might need to get yourself added as the authorized contact for this telephone line through Telstra. Once this has been done, you can then transfer the service over to Exetel. Please ensure that you don’t do any major changes to your telephone service such as an “ownership” change, as this may cause your ADSL to drop off.
The Exechat/ExechatPlus options are only available for plans serviced via the Optus infrastructure. Unfortunately, your number seems to not qualify for Optus at the moment.
Let us know if you have any further clarifications with regards to this. Happy to help :)

Franpa
Posts: 406
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 11:44 am
Location: Australia, QLD

Re: Changing plan: Questions

Post by Franpa » Tue May 27, 2014 2:24 pm

Thank you.
Windows 10 Pro x64 | Intel i7 920 @ 3.6GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 24GB DDR3 1500MHZ RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Integrated Sound Card | Corsair AX760 Platinum Power Supply | Exetel ZTE H268 Modem

Franpa
Posts: 406
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 11:44 am
Location: Australia, QLD

Re: Changing plan: Questions

Post by Franpa » Thu May 29, 2014 6:49 pm

If I change internet plan without including the phone I can add the phone service later on for the same $20, right?
Windows 10 Pro x64 | Intel i7 920 @ 3.6GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 24GB DDR3 1500MHZ RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Integrated Sound Card | Corsair AX760 Platinum Power Supply | Exetel ZTE H268 Modem

Bellag
Exetel Staff
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 1:13 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Changing plan: Questions

Post by Bellag » Thu May 29, 2014 10:20 pm

If you transfer the telephone line over along with the plan change request, this will be considered as a bundle offer and the line rental will be $20 only.

However, if you bring the telephone line over as a standalone transfer at a later date, the line rental will be $25.

Franpa
Posts: 406
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 11:44 am
Location: Australia, QLD

Re: Changing plan: Questions

Post by Franpa » Fri May 30, 2014 6:31 am

Okay, thanks for the information. We'll finish sorting stuff out with Telstra before changing plans.
Windows 10 Pro x64 | Intel i7 920 @ 3.6GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 24GB DDR3 1500MHZ RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Integrated Sound Card | Corsair AX760 Platinum Power Supply | Exetel ZTE H268 Modem

Franpa
Posts: 406
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 11:44 am
Location: Australia, QLD

Re: Changing plan: Questions

Post by Franpa » Thu Jun 12, 2014 9:46 am

We've decided to go with a change of ownership and should know if the process is successful within 24 or so hours. The Telstra representitive assured us that it shouldn't affect the internet since the location of the internet service isn't changing and so nothing is being disconnected or such during the process.
Windows 10 Pro x64 | Intel i7 920 @ 3.6GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 24GB DDR3 1500MHZ RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Integrated Sound Card | Corsair AX760 Platinum Power Supply | Exetel ZTE H268 Modem

Franpa
Posts: 406
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 11:44 am
Location: Australia, QLD

Re: Changing plan: Questions

Post by Franpa » Sun Jun 22, 2014 4:48 am

Change of Ownership seems to have worked without a hitch, I clearly can still access the internet without issue.
Windows 10 Pro x64 | Intel i7 920 @ 3.6GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 24GB DDR3 1500MHZ RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Integrated Sound Card | Corsair AX760 Platinum Power Supply | Exetel ZTE H268 Modem

Post Reply