gateway

All other technical assistance queries (General technical issues, IPv6. P2P, News groups, etc)
Post Reply
sadsack
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2014 10:35 am
Location: lithgow

gateway

Post by sadsack » Sun Nov 30, 2014 4:27 pm

I cannot access my modem gateway without a modem reset.
I have to do the reset every time after switching my pc off and on
does anyone have any ideas?

User avatar
angelos
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1068
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:22 pm
Location: Australia

Re: gateway

Post by angelos » Sun Nov 30, 2014 5:19 pm

sadsack wrote:I cannot access my modem gateway without a modem reset.
I have to do the reset every time after switching my pc off and on
does anyone have any ideas?
We would recommend getting in touch with the modem manufacturer for support in this regard.

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5994
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: gateway

Post by Dazzled » Sun Nov 30, 2014 10:11 pm

Your hardware may be approaching its use-by date, but have you used the telnet interface? This uses different software from the html interface, and can be used for all aspects of configuration. Eg, telnet 192.168.1.1 and log in as admin. You will be presented a simplified Linux terminal, usually Busybox.

In the very stripped down Linux these things run, most applications log errors and die. This may be happening to you. A reset loads the app or daemon again from permanent storage.

Post Reply