Page 1 of 1

gateway

Posted: Sun Nov 30, 2014 4:27 pm
by sadsack
I cannot access my modem gateway without a modem reset.
I have to do the reset every time after switching my pc off and on
does anyone have any ideas?

Re: gateway

Posted: Sun Nov 30, 2014 5:19 pm
by angelos
sadsack wrote:I cannot access my modem gateway without a modem reset.
I have to do the reset every time after switching my pc off and on
does anyone have any ideas?
We would recommend getting in touch with the modem manufacturer for support in this regard.

Re: gateway

Posted: Sun Nov 30, 2014 10:11 pm
by Dazzled
Your hardware may be approaching its use-by date, but have you used the telnet interface? This uses different software from the html interface, and can be used for all aspects of configuration. Eg, telnet 192.168.1.1 and log in as admin. You will be presented a simplified Linux terminal, usually Busybox.

In the very stripped down Linux these things run, most applications log errors and die. This may be happening to you. A reset loads the app or daemon again from permanent storage.