Page 1 of 2

Cost's of moving?

Posted: Fri Jun 04, 2004 4:37 pm
by lasota
Would someone be so kind, as to explain the cost and time frame, of getting an adsl connection changed from current place of occupancy, to new residential location and is it cheaper to move it in or out of contract?

De La sota.

Posted: Fri Jun 04, 2004 4:49 pm
by lasota

Posted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 8:56 am
by ForumAdmin
"i was wonder what would be the best thing to do, so i can minimize down time. ?"

1) Get your new telephone number allocated.

2) 2 days before the new number is due to be activated order your new ADSL service.

Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 12:26 pm
by ScottH2155
Just some interesting observations and tips, I've learned through having to move, twice in <6 months.

- When you move, you are going to be subject to a new 6 month contract - despite being with Exetel for >6 months (actually it's >12 months!!), that doesn't appear to count for anything - even if you retain the same service number. Which is not in line with Closer's comments on 24/05/05 - http://forum.exetel.com.au/viewtopic.php?t=13668 - where the terminology of moving within your "initial" Exetel 6 month contract. My initial contract ended in 2004.

- When you move, you are unable to retain your plan, if it is not currently available. This will potentially have cost implications for you for the on-going monthly charges.

Moving house

Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:55 am
by racka
I'm going to be moving house in a few months, and the new house will be on a different exchange. So, I have two questions:

1 - can I continue on my existing plan ($65, 1500/256, 36GB) once I shift to the new place

and 2 - is there any way to keep continuity of service at my existing residence once I go?

I'd be thinking the easiest way would be to transfer my existing service into my father's name, so he doesn't lose internet access when I go. Then I simply apply for a new service at my new house. But will I be able to do this and still keep my current plan?

edit: maybe I should read the post above mine. ForumAdmin, are you able to confirm that I can't keep my current plan when I move?

Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 3:11 pm
by James
Have a look in the members area "change your plan" then "service relocation" page, it gives you an option to "keep current plan".

Posted: Fri Oct 28, 2005 10:58 am
by [n3xus]
I'm surprised this hasn't been asked yet - or - it has been asked, but I couldn't find it.

IP Address transportability.

My ip address is RDNS'd, and is setup with my master domain as a host and all kinds of bits n pieces.

Cutting a long story short, when I move, can I keep my IP? ^.^

Posted: Fri Oct 28, 2005 11:56 am
by James
I'm not suprised at all, very very few people care what their IP is.

After you relocate, ensure you email support@exetel.com.au with your current IP address and they will transfer it to your new account.

Posted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 8:10 pm
by kogi
James wrote:Have a look in the members area "change your plan" then "service relocation" page, it gives you an option to "keep current plan".
I couldn't find that option, Is it still availiable?

kogi

Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:10 pm
by dvious1
Silly question but can you change from a 512/128 to a 1500 plan during the 6 month contract period?

Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:12 pm
by James
dvious1 wrote:Silly question but can you change from a 512/128 to a 1500 plan during the 6 month contract period?
Anytime you wish.

Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:20 pm
by dvious1
James wrote:
dvious1 wrote:Silly question but can you change from a 512/128 to a 1500 plan during the 6 month contract period?
Anytime you wish.
Thanks is there any charge for it?

Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:40 pm
by CLoSeR
dvious1 wrote:
James wrote:
dvious1 wrote:Silly question but can you change from a 512/128 to a 1500 plan during the 6 month contract period?
Anytime you wish.
Thanks is there any charge for it?
Only the cost of changing line speeds, which is currently $25.00

Regards,

CLoSeR

Posted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 10:34 am
by Ziege Mitfahrer
I'm about to move house and "relocate" my service.
(Yes I know it's actually a disconnect/reconnect but that takes too long to type)
I realise that I'm going to be stung for the $100, but since it's actually a new contract, will I also be stung if I change my plan at the same time???
Also..... I presently get the $5 discount for being one of the first to join Exetel. Does this discount continue with the new contract or will I get penalised for my patriotism?

Shalom,
Ziggy

Posted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 11:39 am
by Aquard
Ziege Mitfahrer wrote:I'm about to move house and "relocate" my service.
(Yes I know it's actually a disconnect/reconnect but that takes too long to type)
I realise that I'm going to be stung for the $100, but since it's actually a new contract, will I also be stung if I change my plan at the same time???
Also..... I presently get the $5 discount for being one of the first to join Exetel. Does this discount continue with the new contract or will I get penalised for my patriotism?

Shalom,
Ziggy
When I moved in Jan, I was able to change plan and line speed, and not have to pay extra for the line speed change - as it's effectively a new connection (at whatever speed desired).
I lost my $2.50 pioneer discount when I moved, but was of the understanding they were being phased out last Dec?