Streaming TV (Other Languages)

Old, inactive threads
ForumAdmin
Posts: 3663
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: Sydney

Post by ForumAdmin » Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:54 pm

arachnologist wrote:
ForumAdmin wrote: On my ADSL2 connection at home it's perfect.
Ok, on my ADSL2+ (Optus bundled) connection it is OK, but certainly no match to a normal DVD quality. This is not meant as criticism - but what can you expect for such bandwidth? I believe it is good enough - so waiting to see what's on offer
It's streaming TV which won't equal a DVD for image/sound quality.

However, the demonstration is to determine what sort of results any individual will get.

Tastech
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 11:07 pm

Post by Tastech » Tue Jun 19, 2007 7:40 pm

[quote="ForumAdmin"][quote="xallan"]Great Job!

I wonder how to be counted into user's usage?[/quote]

The planned commercial service will be based on some monthy payment to the Network but the downloads will not be charged for.[/quote]

during the demo period will the usage be counted??

gong_guy
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 11:06 am

Post by gong_guy » Tue Jun 19, 2007 9:50 pm

I am on ADSL2 and could not connect to it.

It said

"Windows Media Player cannot connect to the server. The server name might not be correct, the server might not be available, or your proxy settings might not be correct."

ForumAdmin
Posts: 3663
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: Sydney

Post by ForumAdmin » Tue Jun 19, 2007 9:52 pm

Tastech wrote:
ForumAdmin wrote:
xallan wrote:Great Job!

I wonder how to be counted into user's usage?
The planned commercial service will be based on some monthy payment to the Network but the downloads will not be charged for.
during the demo period will the usage be counted??
Yes - downloads will be counted as there is nothing in place to seperate the streams.

DaXiuyi
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 8:10 pm
Location: Sydney

Post by DaXiuyi » Tue Jun 19, 2007 10:07 pm

Umm, I can't seem to get it working either in VLC (my preferred Media Player), nor in WMP11 (athough MS website states it doesn't support MMS anymore). I get the same erroe message as gong_guy above.

I'm pretty sure something's wrong with my settings somewhere (mms streams never seem to like my computer). Is there anywhere in particular I should check?

Many thanks

richardk
Posts: 544
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 9:02 pm
Contact:

Post by richardk » Tue Jun 19, 2007 10:16 pm

Hi,

The server is not working tonight but will be working again tomorrow morning.


Thank You
Last edited by richardk on Tue Jun 19, 2007 10:29 pm, edited 3 times in total.

stevebow
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 12:11 pm
Location: Sydney

Post by stevebow » Tue Jun 19, 2007 10:17 pm

Has the stream been pulled? VLC reports:

access_mms error: error while asking for file -1
access_mms error: cannot connect to server
main error: Connection to durian.exetel.com.au port 80 failed: Connection timed out
access_mms error: cannot connect to durian.exetel.com.au:80
main error: no suitable access module for `mms://durian.exetel.com.au/ExetelTV'


WMP reports the same error noted above.


*** Oh, sorry, richardk posted as I was writing

SysAdmin

Post by SysAdmin » Wed Jun 20, 2007 9:24 am

richardk wrote:The server is not working tonight but will be working again tomorrow morning.
Feed should be up again from approx 9:45am. Sorry about that.

Andrew

SysAdmin

Post by SysAdmin » Wed Jun 20, 2007 9:51 am

SysAdmin wrote:
richardk wrote:The server is not working tonight but will be working again tomorrow morning.
Feed should be up again from approx 9:45am. Sorry about that.
There was a problem and we've disabled it again. I'd like to thank Murphy for making the morning more interesting then usual.

Andrew

SysAdmin

Post by SysAdmin » Wed Jun 20, 2007 9:59 am

DaXiuyi wrote:Umm, I can't seem to get it working either in VLC (my preferred Media Player), nor in WMP11 (athough MS website states it doesn't support MMS anymore). I get the same erroe message as gong_guy above.
When the service is returned, could you try rtsp://durian.exetel.com.au/ExetelTV and see if that works for you?

Thanks,
Andrew

SysAdmin

Post by SysAdmin » Wed Jun 20, 2007 10:00 am

Feed's back. Stable for the past 5 minutes so I think the problems have been ironed out.

Andrew

DaXiuyi
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 8:10 pm
Location: Sydney

Post by DaXiuyi » Wed Jun 20, 2007 12:13 pm

SysAdmin wrote: When the service is returned, could you try rtsp://durian.exetel.com.au/ExetelTV and see if that works for you?

Thanks,
Andrew
Ok, will try once I get home from work tonight :) Thanks for that.

Any word on which Korean TV channels will be streamed?

CLoSeR
Posts: 858
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 1:49 pm
Location: West Ryde, NSW
Contact:

Post by CLoSeR » Wed Jun 20, 2007 12:21 pm

DaXiuyi wrote:
SysAdmin wrote: When the service is returned, could you try rtsp://durian.exetel.com.au/ExetelTV and see if that works for you?

Thanks,
Andrew
Ok, will try once I get home from work tonight :) Thanks for that.

Any word on which Korean TV channels will be streamed?
Princess Hours would be good. :P
Need to log a fault ticket? Go here: https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au/

ForumAdmin
Posts: 3663
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: Sydney

Post by ForumAdmin » Wed Jun 20, 2007 12:24 pm

DaXiuyi wrote:

Any word on which Korean TV channels will be streamed?
Not at this early stage. Our main objective is to establish that a widely accepted standard of quality can be sustained over a wide user base at an economic cost to Exetel.

If that proves to be the case and the licensing with the networks can be put in place on realistic terms then we will proceed with whichever networks wish to deliver their programs via internet partners in Australia.

Our investigations to date indicate that the networks we have been in contact with have a sensible level of interest in doing this but don't have 'off the shelf' contracts/operating procedures in place that fit the model we believe we would be able to make work.

soulless
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 5:29 pm

Post by soulless » Wed Jun 20, 2007 6:10 pm

Have you guys worked out the pricing yet for TVB?

Post Reply