Page 1 of 2

A question about speed

Posted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 8:39 pm
by boozealot
Hi Guys

Have gone through some of the posts, I'm a bit jealous to see speeds at least exceeding 3mb. All of this is making me a bit unsure of whether I could be maximising my speed. I have follow through the sticky notes including doing the below tests. I'd appreciate any feedback on potential improving it.

Cheers
Steve

Pinging 220.233.0.50 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 220.233.0.50: bytes=32 time=35ms TTL=60
Reply from 220.233.0.50: bytes=32 time=42ms TTL=60
Reply from 220.233.0.50: bytes=32 time=35ms TTL=60
Reply from 220.233.0.50: bytes=32 time=36ms TTL=60

Ping statistics for 220.233.0.50:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 35ms, Maximum = 42ms, Average = 37ms

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\User>tracert www.telstra.com

Tracing route to www.telstra.com [144.135.18.10]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 4 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 38 ms 38 ms 35 ms 150.1.233.220.exetel.com.au [220.233.1.150]
3 * * * Request timed out.
4 36 ms 276 ms 40 ms 10.0.1.1
5 36 ms 33 ms 34 ms 359-ge-0-0-0.GW5.SYD2.ALTER.NET [203.166.92.57]

6 210 ms 59 ms 42 ms so-6-2-0.XT1.SYD2.ALTER.NET [210.80.38.221]
7 44 ms 36 ms 39 ms so-6-0-0.BR2.SYD2.ALTER.NET [210.80.33.218]
8 40 ms 36 ms 33 ms FastEthernet2-2.ken17.Sydney.telstra.net [139.13
0.4.185]
9 58 ms 92 ms 33 ms TenGigabitEthernet8-1.pit1.Sydney.telstra.net [2
03.50.20.39]
10 36 ms 33 ms 47 ms pitt-tcom-r01 [139.130.185.254]
11 39 ms 34 ms 34 ms 144.135.19.84
12 50 ms 36 ms 35 ms 144.135.18.10

I can't seem to post a print screen from the speedtest website but the results include:
Max: 1090 kb/s today at about 7:30
Max: 310 kb/s today at about 8:30[/img]

Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 1:22 pm
by Klaas
The best place to start is checking your modem stats. In particular what it is sync'ing at, and the attenuation figures.

This information will help identify the quality of your line, and whether or not something can be done to improve speeds.

Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 3:54 pm
by Martin V
Please download one file from each of the following websites:

www.nvidia.com
www.apple.com
www.microsoft.com

at the same time and provide us with the total speed results as mentioned by klas please provide the modem settings and sync speeds of the modem.

Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 10:02 pm
by boozealot
How do I go about capturing this information and would you be able to provide more information about testing this process.

Cheers,
Steve

Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 11:25 pm
by CoreyPlover
1. Your Modem Status will be under http://192.168.1.1. Look for Modem or ADSL Status and copy and paste the statistics you see there. You are particularly looking for two values: Upstream/Downstream sync speed and Upstream/Downstream line attenuation.

2. Downloading files from the three sites is just a matter of navigating around to find a several Mb file or so to download and doing 3 of them at once (preferably from different servers). Just watch the download speeds and once they have stabilised add them up and report it.

3. Print screen not necessary from the speedtest site. Text will do as you have already provided.

A couple of things to note:

* Speedtest.net reports 2 figures, kbps (kilobits per second) and kb/s (kilobytes per second). 1 byte = 8 bits so if you are reporting the kb/s values, your speeds of 1090kb/s and 310kb/s equate to 8720kbps and 2480kbps which is well within (and in excess of) ordinary values.

* If you take your downstream sync value from the ADSL status page of your modem and subtract 10-20% you will get a good indication of the maximum attainable speed of your modem (the 10-20% is for ADSL overheads)

* Speeds can fluctuate considerably throughout the day due to congestion and are generally lower nearing and inside of off-peak times (midnight to midday) when large volumes of P2P downloads are scheduled to commence. So for maximum speeds, you may wish to try your speed tests in the early to mid-afternoon.

Posted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 7:32 pm
by boozealot
Thanks everybody. I'll give it a go.

I've had a look, but unfortunately, there doesn't appear to be such functionality available? Is there another way round it?

Posted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 8:31 pm
by boozealot
Got it!

DSL Status: Connected
DSL Modulation Mode: MultiMode
DSL Path Mode: Interleaved
Downstream Rate: 1615 kbps
Upstream Rate: 416 kbps
Downstream Margin: 12 db
Upstream Margin: 12 db
Downstream Line Attenuation: 52 db
Upstream Line Attenuation: 15 db
Downstream Transmit Power: 0
Upstream Transmit Power: 0

Posted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 10:40 pm
by CoreyPlover
OK. I can see by your modem status that your speed tests were between 310 and 1090kbps speeds (i.e. 39 to 136 kilobytes per second).

Your modem is syncing at a very low 1615 kbps. This is only marginally above the minimum rate guaranteed and enforced by the telecommunication industry as "ADSL2". The reason for these low speeds is your high line attenuation of 52dB.

Line attenuation means "signal noise" and is most highly associated with the distance that you are away your exchange, as measure by the cable length not line of sight or travel by road. The further away you are the higher the noise and so the lower your attainable speeds. The average line sync for a line attenuation of that value however is about 4mbps, so you are correct to query these forums in your expectation of 3mbps speeds.

By the format of your ADSL status, I assume you are using a Linksys ADSL2 modem? If so, perhaps you can try one of these things:
* Force your DSL modulation to G.DMT. I am unable to direct you as to how to do this because the LinkSys documentation doesn't include it. But, look around in the configuration options for a drop down box with: T1.413, G.DMT, G.LITE and MULTIMODE. Change it from Multimode to G.DMT and restart your router.
* Similarly, look for a drop down box for your DSL path mode. Change it from INTERLEAVED to FAST if possible.
* Request that Exetel lower your ADSL profile to 8mbps. This may improve the stability and allow you to sync at speeds higher than you are currently achieving
* Change your modem. Seriously, I think Linksys are shoddy modems second only to D-Link. Try to borrow anybody else's ADSL modem to test it out, regardless of the brand. Even an ADSL1 modem will do as you should be able to sync at a higher speed than your current 1615kbps.

Posted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 11:33 am
by dogwomble
Just to chase up because I remember your conversation from IRC last night. I just want to make sure that this information makes it into the thread to help any Exetel staff assisting you with your situation and to also assist making the information more available to other people who might share the same issue.

You'd raised the issue of filters, and how they might affect performance. In my case at home, I have no need for them - there's only an ADSL modem plugged into the line, I don't use it for anything else. Most people, however, would likely need to have filters placed onto all phone devices (ie. phone handsets / dial up modems / fax machines / etc.) plugged into the line.

ADSL filters broadly fall into two categories. One type is the newer ADSL2 type filters. These generally are the newer filters. The other type is the older ADSl1 style filters. Generally, _most_ modern filters are capable of supporting ADSL2 speeds, but if you have had ADSL1 for a few years before upgrading to ADSL2, there's a chance that you'll have older style filters that aren't capable of handling ADSL2 speeds.

In your case, judging from what you said last night, you might be experiencing an issue relating to old filters. An easy way to identify that, as I mentioned last night, is to do a full "isolation test" - remove everything from the line (includign filters) and plug the modem in by itself. If you get significantly better performance, you either have an old (or faulty) filter, or you have sometging on the line that isn't correctly filtered. My experience has shown it's more likely to be the former, as the latter would normally cause drop outs.

Posted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 6:06 am
by boozealot
thanks after changing modulation mode i got the following;

DSL Status: Connected
DSL Modulation Mode: G.dmt
DSL Path Mode: Interleaved
Downstream Rate: 1344 kbps
Upstream Rate: 608 kbps
Downstream Margin: 12 db
Upstream Margin: 12 db
Downstream Line Attenuation: 53 db
Upstream Line Attenuation: 15.5 db
Downstream Transmit Power: 0
Upstream Transmit Power: 0

which seems more worst based on the downstream rate. i was unable to change the dsl path mode unfortunately as there was no apparent selection for this.

i am going to give the line filter a go and see what impact it is having. does anyone have any suggestion of either attaining higher speeds some how or taking alternative action?

Posted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 6:34 pm
by CoreyPlover
You don't need to buy new filters just yet. You can just perform an isolation test if you want to see if a speed increase is possible. Remove all phones from their wall sockets and leave only the ADSL modem plugged directly into the wall (i.e. don't use any splitters). This configuration will effectively show you your maximum attainable speed and is equivalent to properly filtering your other phones. If the speeds increase, then you can go and spend money on proper ADSL2 filters.

Reinterating: The reason your speeds are so low is your high line attenuation. This means there is noise on your line either caused by external devices in your house or a long distance between you and your exchange. The things you should try are:

1. Perform an isolation test (after reverting back to MULTIMODE) and post the ADSL modem status again.

2. Check your (very approximate) distance to the exchange by using http://www.adsl2exchanges.com.au/detail ... ystart.php or by asking Exetel to give you an accurate measurement. Post this value and we will comment on what speed you are likely to be able to achieve.

3. Use another modem. Borrow a non-Linksys modem from someone. I wouldn't be surprised if you gain an extra 25%-50% in speed by using another modem (although I am not guaranteeing that such a speed increase is possible, I'm just saying it's plausible)

4. Request that Exetel downgrade your profile to an 8mbps one. Then try again using both MULTIMODE and G.DMT modulation

Posted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 6:38 am
by boozealot
Thanks again for following Corey.

Hi this is a couple isolation tests that I've run with the following results:

DSL Status: Connected
DSL Modulation Mode: MultiMode
DSL Path Mode: Interleaved
Downstream Rate: 1434 kbps
Upstream Rate: 438 kbps
Downstream Margin: 12 db
Upstream Margin: 12 db
Downstream Line Attenuation: 52 db
Upstream Line Attenuation: 15 db
Downstream Transmit Power: 0
Upstream Transmit Power: 0


DSL Status: Connected
DSL Modulation Mode: G.dmt
DSL Path Mode: Interleaved
Downstream Rate: 832 kbps
Upstream Rate: 608 kbps
Downstream Margin: 0 db
Upstream Margin: 12 db
Downstream Line Attenuation: 54 db
Upstream Line Attenuation: 15.5 db
Downstream Transmit Power: 0
Upstream Transmit Power: 0


How do I go about requesting a downgrade of my profile? Would you be able explain what this will do (in basic terms)

Distance from exchange is 3.2km

Posted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 1:56 pm
by CoreyPlover
OK. The isolation test indicates that your high line attenuation is not caused by any phone devices inside your house or incorrect filters. This means that it is your phone line between you and the exchange causing the attenuation (i.e. your distance to the exchange, the quality of the copper wire, etc).

ADSL2+ profiles are configured to service speeds of up to 24mbps. By requesting Exetel to lower the profile you get a maximum of 8mbps but you (may) gain some stability and increase your attainable line sync.

You would request this by asking an Exetel staff member to perform the downgrade. They read these forums and so should be able to respond to you in this thread. But before you do that, you should first try to obtain an alternate modem. If this is not possible, then you should perform the speed tests I mentioned and post the results to this forum. Exetel will use the results of those speed tests as evidence for requesting that your line be checked.

Once you have posted the results, perhaps you can PM Martin V with a short statement that you have performed the speed tests he requested and provide a link to this thread. He will then notify you of the next step.

Posted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 4:48 pm
by boozealot
Thanks again Corey.

Unfortunately I don't think I am able to borrow another modem to do any further tests.

Excuse my ignorance but what does "pm" mean? Would you be able to supply Martin V's email etc in order for my to contact him about downgrading my profile.

Cheers,
Steve

Posted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 6:03 pm
by CoreyPlover
"PM" = "private message". Click the little PM button underneath his post on this thread to send him a message. Be sure to include the URL of this thread so that he can review our conversation.

I don't know his email address but he will respond to you via email if you provide him your address in your PM to him.