OH, NO! ANOTHER ADSL 2 SPEED THREAD!

Old, inactive threads
damo65
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 4:07 pm

OH, NO! ANOTHER ADSL 2 SPEED THREAD!

Post by damo65 » Sat Oct 20, 2007 1:20 am

NOT GOOD ENOUGH!
I switched from Exetel/Bigpond ADSL 8Mb to (allegedly) 24Mb ADSL2+ Exetel/Optusnet.
I'm about 1.5 km from my exchange. I was getting 4 Mb on the 8Mb plan, which I was happy enough with. In theory I should be getting 4 Mb on ADSL 2+ (according to my line attenuation).
NEVER BEEN CLOSE!
If I get 2 Mb I'm rapt! It's usually <1Mb and frequently <100k.
It's not my modem.
It's not my filter.
IT'S OPTUS!
Fix it or I'll go somewhere else.

CLoSeR
Posts: 858
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 1:49 pm
Location: West Ryde, NSW
Contact:

Post by CLoSeR » Sat Oct 20, 2007 6:16 am

Log a fault, how can you be sure your cablelength is only 1.5Km?

Can you please post your sync and line noise stats.
Need to log a fault ticket? Go here: https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au/

damo65
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 4:07 pm

Post by damo65 » Sat Oct 20, 2007 9:34 am

Line Mode RE-ADSL2 Line State Show Time
Latency Type Fast Line Up Time 00:00:05:48
Line Coding Trellis On Line Up Count 5

Statistics Downstream Upstream
Line Rate 831 Kbps 370 Kbps
Attainable Line Rate 1140 Kbps 380 Kbps
Noise Margin 12.4 dB 11.9 dB
Line Attenuation 54.5 dB 34.6 dB
Output Power 0.0 dBm 11.6 dBm

CLoSeR
Posts: 858
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 1:49 pm
Location: West Ryde, NSW
Contact:

Post by CLoSeR » Sat Oct 20, 2007 9:39 am

damo65 wrote:Line Mode RE-ADSL2 Line State Show Time
Latency Type Fast Line Up Time 00:00:05:48
Line Coding Trellis On Line Up Count 5

Statistics Downstream Upstream
Line Rate 831 Kbps 370 Kbps
Attainable Line Rate 1140 Kbps 380 Kbps
Noise Margin 12.4 dB 11.9 dB
Line Attenuation 54.5 dB 34.6 dB
Output Power 0.0 dBm 11.6 dBm
Your line attenutation is way too high to be only 1.5Km from the exchange. Either your cablelength is much further than you think, or your line is really poor quality.

See how your modem reports an estimated attainable line rate. Thats the best you can expect based on current conditions.

Have you tried changing modulation to G.DMT, what speed does your modem sync at with this set?

Also, what brand/model modem are you using? Is there a firmware update available?
Need to log a fault ticket? Go here: https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au/

damo65
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 4:07 pm

Post by damo65 » Sat Oct 20, 2007 9:50 am

And OK, I can't be sure the cable length is only 1.5 km, but I can almost see it from where I sit.

CLoSeR
Posts: 858
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 1:49 pm
Location: West Ryde, NSW
Contact:

Post by CLoSeR » Sat Oct 20, 2007 10:27 am

damo65 wrote:And OK, I can't be sure the cable length is only 1.5 km, but I can almost see it from where I sit.
Please try my suggestions, and regarding cablelength we know of connections which are less than 1Km via the road, but the actual cablelength is more than 2-3Km's in length.

Sometimes they go straight past you, and loop back.
Need to log a fault ticket? Go here: https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au/

Munka
Posts: 289
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2005 8:22 pm
Location: Rural NSW

Post by Munka » Sat Oct 20, 2007 10:36 am

Closer may be right in your situation.

I live less than 100m from the exchange, though the cable distance is closer to 2km, my line practically passes my house and goes on to a distribution point approx. 980m away, and then loops back to my address.
Munka

DaXiuyi
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 8:10 pm
Location: Sydney

I don't knwo what it going on, but it's not good...

Post by DaXiuyi » Sat Oct 20, 2007 11:10 am

G'day everyone,

This morning I don't know what has been going on, but my ADSL2+ (Optus) speeds have been the worst EVER (in 2 years I have been with Exetel). I have no idea what is going on, and am looking for some help/advice. Here is some information that I hope will help:

Exchange: Edgecliff (NSW) (I live 100m as the crow flies)
Modem: Netgear DG834 v3
Modem Stats:

Code: Select all

Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time 
WAN PPPoE 68408 65633 0 1462 20740 01:05:03 
LAN 10M/100M 58540 69765 0 18080 1869 01:05:57 
 

ADSL Link Downstream Upstream 
Connection Speed 18405 kbps 812 kbps 
Line Attenuation 13 db 2.5 db 
Noise Margin 9 db 14 db 
Speed test (ozspeed, 9MB test):

Code: Select all

Test run on 20/10/2007 @ 10:56 AM

Mirror: Exetel
Data: 9 MB
Test Time: 72.64 secs

Your line speed is 1.04 Mbps (1041 kbps).
Your download speed is 130 KB/s (0.13 MB/s).
As another test, my Usenet connection (easynews), which is always maxed out, is pulling 10KB/s :(
Ping and tracert:

Code: Select all

>ping 220.233.0.50

Pinging 220.233.0.50 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 220.233.0.50: bytes=32 time=25ms TTL=60
Reply from 220.233.0.50: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=60
Reply from 220.233.0.50: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=60
Reply from 220.233.0.50: bytes=32 time=52ms TTL=60

Ping statistics for 220.233.0.50:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 25ms, Maximum = 52ms, Average = 33ms

>tracert www.telstra.com

Tracing route to www.telstra.com [144.135.19.10]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  www.routerlogin.com [192.168.0.1]
  2    32 ms    36 ms    25 ms  150.1.233.220.exetel.com.au [220.233.1.150]
  3     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  4    23 ms    25 ms    24 ms  10.0.1.1
  5    41 ms    39 ms    38 ms  359-ge-0-0-0.GW5.SYD2.ALTER.NET [203.166.92.57]

  6    66 ms    39 ms    37 ms  so-6-2-0.XT1.SYD2.ALTER.NET [210.80.38.221]
  7    39 ms    39 ms    39 ms  so-6-0-0.BR2.SYD2.ALTER.NET [210.80.33.218]
  8    54 ms    39 ms    39 ms  FastEthernet2-2.ken17.Sydney.telstra.net [139.13
0.4.185]
  9    25 ms    25 ms    27 ms  TenGigabitEthernet8-1.pit1.Sydney.telstra.net [2
03.50.20.39]
 10    56 ms    50 ms    27 ms  pitt-tcom-r01 [139.130.185.254]
 11    26 ms    24 ms    23 ms  144.135.19.84
 12    31 ms    34 ms    44 ms  144.135.19.10

Trace complete.
I also ran a tracert to my usenet provider, in case there was a problem with them and I kept getting 100% packet loss on routers called "???" which "are filtering ICMP packets." Is this a bad thing? Is it a problem to do with my connection?

While I realise that P2P filtering could be responsible for the ICMP filtering, I am also concerned by the rather poor browsing speed I am also experiencing.

Have tried power cycling modem, upgraded modem F/W, reducing MTU to 1401, isolation tests...

Any ideas/thoughts/suggestions? This has never happened this bad before, and am quite worried.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

PS: Don't use BT or P2P

DaXiuyi
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 8:10 pm
Location: Sydney

Post by DaXiuyi » Sat Oct 20, 2007 12:12 pm

Update after 12pm:

Hasn't gotten better :?

Ozspeed test again (3MB):

Code: Select all

Test run on 20/10/2007 @ 12:10 PM

Mirror: Exetel
Data: 3 MB
Test Time: 41.5 secs

Your line speed is 590 kbps (0.59 Mbps).
Your download speed is 74 KB/s (0.07 MB/s).
Oh well, still beating dial-up atm :(

damo65
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 4:07 pm

Post by damo65 » Sat Oct 20, 2007 12:15 pm

And, as if by magic:

Line Mode RE-ADSL2 Line State Show Time
Latency Type Fast Line Up Time 00:00:57:26
Line Coding Trellis On Line Up Count 7

Statistics Downstream Upstream
Line Rate 2416 Kbps 531 Kbps
Attainable Line Rate 2944 Kbps 532 Kbps
Noise Margin 12.3 dB 11.7 dB
Line Attenuation 49.5 dB 28.3 dB
Output Power 0.0 dBm 11.5 dBm

Line attenuation drops back to under 50 dB and speed goes up!
I didn't change a thing.
Still not getting anywhere near what I'm paying for, mind, but I can live with that if it stays like that. Not holding my breath, but!

CLoSeR
Posts: 858
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 1:49 pm
Location: West Ryde, NSW
Contact:

Post by CLoSeR » Sat Oct 20, 2007 12:25 pm

Yes your frustrated, but your paying for an ADSL2+ port, and thats what you have been given. There are no guarantee of speeds, as there are too many variables.

When you want to try and fix the problem, please let us know. As it seems to me you dont wish to help yourself and try some of the suggestions made.
Need to log a fault ticket? Go here: https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au/

damo65
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 4:07 pm

Post by damo65 » Sat Oct 20, 2007 12:36 pm

I HAVE tried all suggestions posted on the forum.
I HAVE tried all line modes. Including G.DMT. It didn't increase the line speed at all.

I am perfectly happy with a 2-3 Mb service. I am, understandably I feel, a little annoyed when the line speed drops down to almost 0 without my changing anything. THAT'S why I started this thread.

Why did the line attenuation drop suddenly?

CLoSeR
Posts: 858
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 1:49 pm
Location: West Ryde, NSW
Contact:

Post by CLoSeR » Sat Oct 20, 2007 1:40 pm

damo65 wrote:I HAVE tried all suggestions posted on the forum.
I HAVE tried all line modes. Including G.DMT. It didn't increase the line speed at all.

I am perfectly happy with a 2-3 Mb service. I am, understandably I feel, a little annoyed when the line speed drops down to almost 0 without my changing anything. THAT'S why I started this thread.

Why did the line attenuation drop suddenly?
If you've tried G.DMT please tell me you've done this. Otherwise how am I to know?? I think your line is too unstable to support ADSL2+ mode, you should try setting it to GDMT. I suspect your line rate will be similar on G.DMT, but you'll probably have much better stability.


On the ADSL1 profile, you can probably hold sync much better.
Need to log a fault ticket? Go here: https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au/

damo65
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 4:07 pm

Post by damo65 » Sat Oct 20, 2007 6:26 pm

OK, OK, I'm sorry.
As you could probably tell I was a little upset when I started the thread.
I've done some more playing around the line modes today and have found that unchecking all other modes and forcing an ADSL2 (not +) connection seems to give the best speed, around 2-2.5 Mb, so I'll leave it alone for now.
Still not that happy, but at least it's better than it was.

damo65
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 4:07 pm

Post by damo65 » Sat Oct 20, 2007 6:26 pm

John Howard reckons I should be getting 12Mbs, too!!!

Locked