Page 1 of 1

changing from other ISP ADSL to Exetel ADSL2+

Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 10:24 am
by sevusal
Hi,

I currently have ADSL service from aaNet and wanted to move to Exetel ADSL2+ service (without the phone line).

Can you please tell me the procedure to do that? If i sign up with Exetel, will it cancle my ADSL serivce from aaNet? bc'zo i asked aaNet and they said I need to cancle my service through them only in order to get ADSL2+ service from you guys. And if i do that i will be without the internet for atleast 2 weeks.

is this true? am I missing somethign here?

thanks,
toshal

Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 12:36 pm
by David_h
You'll need to cancel the service with aanet and apply for Exetel through the website.

Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 1:52 pm
by sevusal
This means that I will be without the internet for 2 weeks at least. correct?
is there any quicker way to do this?

one option can be
- i churn from aaNet to Exetel for my ADSL service, this takes 1-2 days.
- once i am with Exetel, Exetel upgrades me to ADSL2+ plan.

do you think this can work?

Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 3:30 pm
by David_h
No, that would not work, it woul dbe best to do it the way I indicated.

Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 4:05 pm
by sevusal
Thanks David..

Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 6:15 pm
by sevusal
2 weeks downtime is a big gap. couple of days should have been fine but 2 weeks. I may have to reconsider changing my ISP!!

Posted: Wed Dec 05, 2007 10:59 pm
by sevusal
HI,

I am thinking to cancle my ADSL service with aaNet on 4th-Jan. But before I do that I want Exetel to make sure that my exchange has ADSL2+ ports available.

I am thinking to get ADSL2+ (with no phone line i.e. Powertel). Does the Mitcham, VIC exchange has ADSL2+ (without the phone line) option available?

If i put in my applicatio to cancle my aaNet service for 4th Jan, when should i apply for my ADSL2+ plan with Exetel? On 4th Jan or before that?

Thanks,
Toshal

Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2007 1:13 am
by CoreyPlover
sevusal wrote:I am thinking to cancle my ADSL service with aaNet on 4th-Jan. But before I do that I want Exetel to make sure that my exchange has ADSL2+ ports available.

I am thinking to get ADSL2+ (with no phone line i.e. Powertel). Does the Mitcham, VIC exchange has ADSL2+ (without the phone line) option available?
Looks like it should be fine: http://www.adsl2exchanges.com.au/viewex ... hange=MITM

I suspect that if you apply for Exetel prior to 4th Jan you will risk being rejected because another ADSL service is still active on the line.