Using WIFI On Your Mobile To Reduce Call Charges

Old, inactive threads
Munka
Posts: 289
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2005 8:22 pm
Location: Rural NSW

Post by Munka » Tue Dec 04, 2007 7:08 pm

I believe Google has a generic platform in the works
http://money.cnn.com/2007/11/05/technol ... e.fortune/
Sorry that is a crap link as an outline, but can't find the original one I was reading. It had far more tech detail.

Edit: this link http://www.openhandsetalliance.com/

Advice: don't ever, ever buy a LG KGXXX series mobile :)
Munka

ecky
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 9:43 pm

Post by ecky » Tue Dec 04, 2007 7:31 pm

I have been using exetel VOIP on my Nokia E65 (using the default SIP client) for about 4 months and so far everything works really well for me. I am currently using Billion 7404VGO router with sw version "5.08a.ds4" and this is the only firmware that works for me. I tried upgrading my billion to newer firmwares and for some reasons, my phone will fail to register.

Below are my settings:

Menu -> Tools -> Settings -> Connection

1) SIP settings
Profile Name: Exetel
Service profile: IETF
Default access point: your wifi ap
Public username: 09xxxxxx@sip1.exetel.com.au (09xxxxxx = your voip account)
Use compression: No
Registration: When needed
Use security: No

Proxy Server
Proxy server address: sip1.exetel.com.au
Realm: sip1.exetel.com.au
Username: 09xxxxxx (your voip account)
Password: your password
Allow loose routing: Yes
Transport type: UDP
Port: 5060

Registrar server
Registrar serv. addr: sip1.exetel.com.au
Realm: sip1.exetel.com.au
Username: 09xxxxxx (your voip account)
Password: your password
Transport type: UDP
Port: 5060

Remember to set it as default profile if you have more than one profile

2) Internet. tel settings
Name: Exetel
SIP Profile: Exetel (or whatever you created in 1) )

Whenever you want to make a call and you are within your wifi range, just dial the number (so far i can only use 0011 instead of the + symbol) and press

Options -> Call -> Internet Call

If prompted to connect to the access point, just press yes

Tafkam
Posts: 323
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:50 pm
Location: Northern Rivers NSW

Post by Tafkam » Tue Dec 04, 2007 7:57 pm

Ah ok, thanks CyberBlade!

Wiggan
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: sydney

Post by Wiggan » Tue Dec 04, 2007 8:12 pm

Good idea but, This was announced today.

http://www.threeskypephone.com.au/?cm_m ... -preorder1

CyberBlade
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 12:23 am
Location: Erm, like.. Melbourne! (DUH!)

Post by CyberBlade » Tue Dec 04, 2007 8:17 pm

Wiggan wrote:Good idea but, This was announced today.

http://www.threeskypephone.com.au/?cm_m ... -preorder1
pfft, thats 3 and its skype :P
thats like asking for trouble and copping more then whats asked :P

i like my own DIY setup. more of a learning curve, fun, and a damnsite cheaper too because your supporting your beloved isp :)

Urizha
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 1:58 am

Post by Urizha » Tue Dec 04, 2007 9:21 pm

not sure if this is any help but I've been using Voip via mynetfone with my Nokia E65 for the last few months.
Has been great, very clear. (was fine with the 1500k account, and working great with the 8000 now)
Havn't needed to worry about setting up QoS at all on the 8000 account yet

I'm not sure what settings are in the phone, I just used their little SIS app which set it all up within a minute
-=[ Urizha ]=-

supermatty
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 1:18 am

Internet access via bluetooth

Post by supermatty » Tue Dec 04, 2007 10:25 pm

I know this is a bit off topic, but have any of you guys tried using a blue tooth connection to get internet access? I have an LG phone (not sure of model) with browser and blue tooth built in, so one would think that it would be fairly simple to get it to connect to the internet via my pc. But LG don't seem to allow this.Any thoughts?

CyberBlade
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 12:23 am
Location: Erm, like.. Melbourne! (DUH!)

Re: Internet access via bluetooth

Post by CyberBlade » Tue Dec 04, 2007 10:37 pm

supermatty wrote:I know this is a bit off topic, but have any of you guys tried using a blue tooth connection to get internet access? I have an LG phone (not sure of model) with browser and blue tooth built in, so one would think that it would be fairly simple to get it to connect to the internet via my pc. But LG don't seem to allow this.Any thoughts?
i have but not with an LG phone, the pc module your running should have a 'share the internet' feature in the bluetooth console configuration utility.
(if its vista forget it) if its xp, you may have luck.

as to how on the lg phone, i got no idea. i only support and back Sony mobile phones.

Munka
Posts: 289
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2005 8:22 pm
Location: Rural NSW

Re: Internet access via bluetooth

Post by Munka » Tue Dec 04, 2007 11:07 pm

supermatty wrote:I know this is a bit off topic, but have any of you guys tried using a blue tooth connection to get internet access? I have an LG phone (not sure of model) with browser and blue tooth built in, so one would think that it would be fairly simple to get it to connect to the internet via my pc. But LG don't seem to allow this.Any thoughts?
Three hours of my life I would like back, configurations that disappear for no apparent reason, and too many profile based sub-menu's, instead of a master configuration and then added profiles.
LG KG800 looks pretty but useless as a practical tool.
Nokia for me next time.
Munka

ForumAdmin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 3663
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: Sydney

Post by ForumAdmin » Wed Dec 05, 2007 8:00 am

Thank you to everyone who has responded - it's been very helpful.

We will set up a 'wiki' for this function so that people with less/no experience can get some help for their specific handset type and get recommendations regarding software that is suitable.

Your continuing interest in helping set up this wiki will be appreciated if you have the time.

Edwin
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 6:25 am
Location: Sydney

Post by Edwin » Wed Dec 05, 2007 8:11 am

If I set up my mobile to use my Exetel SIP account, can I use this concurrently with my ATA using the same Exetel SIP account, or would I need to order a second VOIP service from Exetel?

Also if this work with a single SIP account, would both my ATA attached phone and mobile phone ring when receiving a VOIP call?

David_h
Exetel Staff
Posts: 582
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 9:20 am

Post by David_h » Wed Dec 05, 2007 9:02 am

You could use this simultaneously with some restrictions.

If you make an outgoing call from the mobile, noone can make an outgoing call on the ATA. The same would apply in reverse, if a call is made on the ATA then no calls can be made on the mobile through voip.

If there was an incoming call, provided you're logged into the voip on both the mobile and the ATA both will ring.
-David

David_h
Exetel Staff
Posts: 582
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 9:20 am

Post by David_h » Wed Dec 05, 2007 12:27 pm

I'm looking for specific guides that can be added to the VoIP over WiFi wiki to be found here.

http://exewiki.exetel.com.au/index.php? ... _over_WiFi

You should either PM them to me or email them to davidh@exetel.com.au

Ecky,

I put yours in there already
-David

David_h
Exetel Staff
Posts: 582
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 9:20 am

Post by David_h » Thu Dec 06, 2007 11:20 am

Thanks to Ecky who submitted a comprehensive guide for the Nokia E65 mobile handset.
-David

21st100
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 9:11 pm

Post by 21st100 » Fri Dec 07, 2007 7:09 pm

Hey

I have used this on my Nokia E61...
I gotta tell u it is really poor...
The Quality it all ok but.......
It connects instantly to the router but then takes 10 mins to register with the provider..
Once registered and you make a internet call it takes like 5 mins to connect..
It is realllly SLow...I m fairly sure that the process would have been sped up via F/W upgrade but i still think its a useless idea unless wherever you go you have CONSTANT WIFI..
If you lose connection another 10 mins to register with the server..
There are many companies that offer this on the net..fee calls to many popular countries..
I use VOIPCHEAP...well used and gave up...

Cheers

Post Reply