WoW Gateway for Exetel Customers

Old, inactive threads
Post Reply
Malignance
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 10:38 pm
Location: Gold Coast

WoW Gateway for Exetel Customers

Post by Malignance » Sat Dec 08, 2007 8:21 pm

Hi I was just wondering if there had been any discussions or thought about setting up a gateway for WoW players? (or online games in general)

Internode have recently set up one and have been getting great feedback.

Discussion and Setup Topics

ForumAdmin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 3663
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: Sydney

Post by ForumAdmin » Sat Dec 08, 2007 9:13 pm

I've asked someone more knowledgeable to reply.

Aegis
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 10:58 am

Post by Aegis » Sat Dec 08, 2007 9:15 pm

As well as Internode, a new service that uses this type of gateway setup is:

www.lowerping.com

which charges per month. I have used it, and instead of the typical 450-500ms I get, it goes down to around 200-250ms.

However, there is a discussion on the world of warcraft forums about whether or not using these types of gateways is against the TOS (This goes for the service internode is using also).

Blizzard is unable to properly comment on it via their forums, but you can send an email to hacks@blizzard.com asking for more information.

http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/threa ... 2967988620

http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/threa ... 3271068756

Malignance
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 10:38 pm
Location: Gold Coast

Post by Malignance » Sat Dec 08, 2007 9:32 pm

ForumAdmin wrote:I've asked someone more knowledgeable to reply.
Thanks.

Yeh, i'm using Lowerping now too since it's the only option available to me.

ForumAdmin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 3663
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: Sydney

Post by ForumAdmin » Sat Dec 08, 2007 9:40 pm

Malignance wrote:
ForumAdmin wrote:I've asked someone more knowledgeable to reply.
Thanks.

Yeh, i'm using Lowerping now too since it's the only option available to me.
The only real option, as I understand it, is for Blizzard to address the issue on a permanent basis.

Aegis
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 10:58 am

Post by Aegis » Sat Dec 08, 2007 10:15 pm

It has been detected by both internode and lowerping that there is a problem (within the code) with how the traffic gets to the server cluster from the client. If Blizzard (developers of WoW) sorted this out, then Oceanic pings would be a lot lower.

rx213b
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:08 pm
Location: Bundoora, Melbourne

Post by rx213b » Sun Dec 16, 2007 10:11 pm

It has been like this for 3 years...believe me, if they wanted to sort this out they would have already!

ForumAdmin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 3663
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: Sydney

Post by ForumAdmin » Mon Dec 17, 2007 8:04 am

rx213b wrote:It has been like this for 3 years...believe me, if they wanted to sort this out they would have already!
Then the only real solution is for Blizzard to have servers hosted in Australia - assuming the market here justifies the expense.

Frostytoad
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 12:07 am

Next Patch

Post by Frostytoad » Mon Jan 07, 2008 7:54 pm

The next Blizz patch should fix the Nagle issue with latency. You can also patch XP so that it does not use Nagles algorithm. Be warned, this will impact your other traffic, e.g. my WoW ping went from 400 to 250-300 but my downloads are about 20% slower now.

Post Reply