Xmas ADSL2 connection times

Old, inactive threads
Post Reply
darylp
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Xmas ADSL2 connection times

Post by darylp » Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:46 pm

Howdy,
I have 3 sites I want to upgrade to an ADSL2 AnyPhone A service.
Unfortunately, this means disconnecting the existing ADSL1 services & applying for ADSL2.

I want the disconnection times to be as short as possible.

I'm assuming the rest of December would be a no, no.

What about January?
What's the earliest I should request getting the ADSL1 codes removed & then placing an ADSL2 order?

The line rental will be with Telstra as each site has a Securitel service.
Will the AnyPhone A service be compatible with Telstra's Securitel service?

James D

Post by James D » Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:07 pm

I have asked someone to reply to you.

paulp
Exetel Staff
Posts: 303
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 10:13 am
Location: Sydney

Post by paulp » Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:51 pm

Hi,
"What about January?
What's the earliest I should request getting the ADSL1 codes removed & then placing an ADSL2 order? "
Based upon current procedures, have the ADSL1 codes removed 2nd of Jan, as there are no public holidays for quite some time. Once they're physically removed off the line, then immediately put through an order
"The line rental will be with Telstra as each site has a Securitel service.
Will the AnyPhone A service be compatible with Telstra's Securitel service?"
- Let me get back to you on this one. Some complex services can get rejected. I'll reply back to this thread soon.

paulp
Exetel Staff
Posts: 303
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 10:13 am
Location: Sydney

Post by paulp » Tue Dec 18, 2007 5:29 pm

In regards to the Securitel issue.

This specifically can cause a problem, because it is defined as a complex service and could be rejected. So you would have to seriously consider applying as you may have to remove this in order for the application to go through.

darylp
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post by darylp » Wed Dec 19, 2007 4:03 pm

paulp wrote:In regards to the Securitel issue.

This specifically can cause a problem, because it is defined as a complex service and could be rejected. So you would have to seriously consider applying as you may have to remove this in order for the application to go through.
Hmmm... that could be a problem:- the Securitel is mandatory.
I can & have ADSL1 with Securitel, so technically it shouldn't be a problem with ADSL2, but I understand this is a political problem.

Could you ask about this specific scenario to your wholesaler, (Powertel?).
I will make my own enquires via our alarm company & see if your findings & mine match.

dogwomble
Posts: 375
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:21 am

Post by dogwomble » Wed Dec 19, 2007 5:44 pm

To be completely safe, if you happen to have another direct line out, I'd recommend using that - IME a lot of businesses nominate their fax line.

darylp
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post by darylp » Wed Dec 19, 2007 7:02 pm

dogwomble wrote:To be completely safe, if you happen to have another direct line out, I'd recommend using that - IME a lot of businesses nominate their fax line.
Yes, have an ISDN2 Enhanced service.
Unless I'm wrong, ADSL2+ over ISDN2 whilst possible, is not available in Australia.

Post Reply