New P2P Caching Service

Old, inactive threads
Locked
tocpcs
Posts: 523
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 10:01 am
Location: Online

Post by tocpcs » Wed Jan 16, 2008 11:51 am

CoreyPlover wrote:
DarkLotus wrote:Most private trackers all use the same "scene" releases, the hash's for the actual files will always be the same if its the same release.
Yeah. I understand that the content of the download will be identical between public and private trackers.

The "hash" I was referring to (apologies for any confusion) is the hash you require to connect to the tracker itself. The torrent that you download will contain a tracker url such as http://tracker.site.com:2710/1234567890 ... f/announce. The big long string in that URL is unique to your IP address. So if you post the torrent to this forum, no one else will be able to connect to the tracker, hence "not useful for trying to diagnose this issue".
[/quote]

Or they will, and the account will get banned, in any event, private trackers use hash technologies for a reason, tracking of data, and identifying users who share torrents (a big no no). Find it on a public tracker, share that, and you'll get the same packets from the cache as the private tracker delivered.

DarkLotus
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 8:17 pm

Post by DarkLotus » Wed Jan 16, 2008 8:54 pm

only the older style trackers are IP based most are key based now.

QPR_FC
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 12:19 pm
Location: Sydney

Does the cache affect Canberra users?

Post by QPR_FC » Thu Jan 17, 2008 6:31 pm

Does this cache facilitate users in Canberra?

I have always been disappointed with Exetel ADSL torrent speeds eg. max d/l during 12 hour off-peak is 1gb (at around 25-30 B/s)
I was always hitting 155 B/s with iinet but their prices went up and I churned to Exetel.
Anyway, since the cache has been introduced, I have not seen any improvement in torrent d/l. Yes, I do grab the 'popular' stuff.

ForumAdmin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 3663
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Does the cache affect Canberra users?

Post by ForumAdmin » Thu Jan 17, 2008 7:37 pm

QPR_FC wrote:Does this cache facilitate users in Canberra?

I have always been disappointed with Exetel ADSL torrent speeds eg. max d/l during 12 hour off-peak is 1gb (at around 25-30 B/s)
I was always hitting 155 B/s with iinet but their prices went up and I churned to Exetel.
Anyway, since the cache has been introduced, I have not seen any improvement in torrent d/l. Yes, I do grab the 'popular' stuff.
That's very odd because the cache delivers a peak of 600 mbps of additional bandwidth at the moment - i.e.it has added almost 30% additional 'bandwidth' and is actually 'too successful' at the moment as it is causing congestion at midnight for around 45 minutes each night and will cause us to re-balance the network over the next week.

We are in the process of doubling the disk from 4 tb to 8 tb which will broaden the number of popular titles cached.

That should be operational in the near future.
Last edited by ForumAdmin on Tue Jan 29, 2008 1:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

TheMuse
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2004 3:05 am
Location: Albury.

Post by TheMuse » Sat Jan 19, 2008 2:55 am

Pays to read some threads before I overeact and crack the sads. :oops:

Definitely had very very bad speeds and pings around midnight but after reading this thread I know why.

Had some super fast torrents too, which I thought was a little strange...spose exetel should take the credit for that one. :lol:

Look forward to a solution anyways...for now i just won't be able to game after work.
There are never grey areas, just excuses.

dogwomble
Posts: 375
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:21 am

Re: Does the cache affect Canberra users?

Post by dogwomble » Sat Jan 19, 2008 11:26 am

QPR_FC wrote:Does this cache facilitate users in Canberra?

I have always been disappointed with Exetel ADSL torrent speeds eg. max d/l during 12 hour off-peak is 1gb (at around 25-30 B/s)
I was always hitting 155 B/s with iinet but their prices went up and I churned to Exetel.
Anyway, since the cache has been introduced, I have not seen any improvement in torrent d/l. Yes, I do grab the 'popular' stuff.
I believe it covers all users - I am in Canberra and have noticed considerable improvements in torrent speeds after the cache system got implemented (was lucky to get 100k before, now I'm often able to max out my connection torrenting, torrent permitting).

cryptwizard
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2004 8:16 am

Post by cryptwizard » Mon Jan 21, 2008 10:22 am

I've noticed a significant degradation of non-P2P speeds from the 12AM to 3AM period. Could it be caused by the PeerApp using too much bandwidth?

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Post by CoreyPlover » Mon Jan 21, 2008 10:34 am

cryptwizard wrote:I've noticed a significant degradation of non-P2P speeds from the 12AM to 3AM period. Could it be caused by the PeerApp using too much bandwidth?
Short answer, yes. Quite possibly.

ForumAdmin's entry 3 post back states:
ForumAdmin wrote:it has added almost 30% additional 'bandwidth' and is actually 'too successful' at the moment as it is causing congestion at midnight for around 45 minues each night and will cause us to rebalance the network over the next week.

NetworkAdmin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 559
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 1:19 am
Contact:

Post by NetworkAdmin » Mon Jan 21, 2008 10:46 am

The new 4Tbyte disk array is in place and slowly filling up:

Code: Select all

Volume	Size GB	Used GB	Avail GB	Use %	State
1	397	362	35	91.22	active
2	397	382	15	96.23	active
3	397	383	14	96.50	active
4	397	382	15	96.20	active
5	377	341	36	90.49	active
6	377	349	28	92.54	active
7	397	0	397	0.12	active
8	397	373	24	93.98	active
9	397	381	16	96.10	active
10	396	356	40	90.09	active
11	794	7	787	0.94	active
12	794	27	767	3.47	active
13	757	21	736	2.81	active
14	794	17	777	2.19	active
15	794	19	775	2.49	active
Total	7862	3400	4462	43.25	15/15 
In other news, we will be making a change tomorrow morning that we think will enable us to smooth out the midnight data peak.

dogwomble
Posts: 375
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:21 am

Post by dogwomble » Mon Jan 21, 2008 12:21 pm

That's excellent news. I hope it works out for yo.

WilliamsF1
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 1:04 am

Post by WilliamsF1 » Mon Jan 21, 2008 5:29 pm

I'm not sure if this is a bad thing, but while on ebay, my browser alerted me to an intrusion attempt via "a248.e.akamai.net".

As I know the Cache servers are called akamai I figured that it's something on the cache end?

NetworkAdmin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 559
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 1:19 am
Contact:

Post by NetworkAdmin » Mon Jan 21, 2008 5:37 pm

WilliamsF1 wrote:I'm not sure if this is a bad thing, but while on ebay, my browser alerted me to an intrusion attempt via "a248.e.akamai.net".

As I know the Cache servers are called akamai I figured that it's something on the cache end?
I believe ebay is an Akamaized site, and Akamai is a legitimate distribution service used by many major sites and software distributors.

I would be inclined to turn my browser security down a tad, but it's up to you.

WilliamsF1
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 1:04 am

Post by WilliamsF1 » Mon Jan 21, 2008 5:48 pm

^^ Thanks

From a quick browse on the net it states:
a248.e.akamai.net is a fast caching service that many large companies use to store their update lists and provide secure connections, like Wells Fargo. The following are some cut and pastes:

"Akamia is a fast caching solution for websites whiuch have a great number of hits. These websites store there gifs and seldom changing popular apps at this cache hosting company. Numerous companies such as McAfee.com, Wells Fargo, B of A etc. post data and programs to Akamia. McAfee posts there DAT files at this location to support the user community in grabbing the latest DAT when a new virus threat hits. Several years ago McAfee ranked 23rd out of all websites in terms of activity. At present many companies would require 3 to 10 OC4 transmission lines. An OC4 is 28 T3's which is 784 T1's) to handle the volume of traffic. Many companies would not be able to stay in the .com world without Akamia."
So, I gather Exetel & Ebay are the same, in that they're Akamaised in their storage methods?

ottyacat
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 9:41 pm
Location: Mornington, VIC

Post by ottyacat » Mon Jan 21, 2008 6:34 pm

Nope, you a bit off the track.

Exetel use peerapp (p2p caching equipment) to speed up their p2p speeds & save bandwidth.

http://www.peerapp.com/

They are also in the process of organizing Akamai caching servers. These servers speed up websites & save bandwidth by delivering normal web content, streams etc directly from the exetel network for sites which use akamai for distribution. Such as ebay

http://www.akamai.com/
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Akamai_Technologies

ForumAdmin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 3663
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: Sydney

Post by ForumAdmin » Tue Jan 22, 2008 10:06 am

This thread is now closed as it's too long.

A new thread has been opened which starts at today's status.

Locked