Cannot access www.yahoo.com.au

Old, inactive threads
MJH
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 12:58 am

Cannot access www.yahoo.com.au

Post by MJH » Mon Jan 14, 2008 10:05 pm

Hi Exetel,
My fatherinlaw is having problems access www.yahoo.com.au from his Exetel ADSL1 service, he can access www.yahoo.com though but then cannot get to the login pages. This has apprently stopped working before xmas. This ADSL service is located in Balranald which is in NSW though has a 03 phone number and is in the IP range 58.96.78.xx (previous IP range 58.96.74.247). I believe there is possilbly an issue with the routing for ip range 58.96.78.xx through Pipe as I can access www.yahoo.com.au and www.yahoo.com from my Exetel ADSL 2+ inc Phone service which routes www.yahoo.com.au through the Sydney Pipe link and both services route www.yahoo.com via the Optus link. Below is the traceroute from the ADSL1 service to yahoo.com.au which times out from the 10.0.1.2 address.

tracert www.yahoo.com.au

Tracing route to i1.aunz.vip.aue.yahoo.com [203.84.217.26]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 2 ms 1 ms 2 ms 192.168.130.1
2 45 ms 42 ms 42 ms 37.1.233.220.exetel.com.au [220.233.1.37]
3 * * * Request timed out.
4 50 ms 48 ms 45 ms 10.0.1.2
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 * * * Request timed out.
7 * * * Request timed out.

Would appreciate any assistance you can do to look into this problem.
Thanks,
MJH

JamesR
Posts: 424
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 10:20 am

Post by JamesR » Mon Jan 14, 2008 10:07 pm

I'm currently on ADSL1 in Queensland and can access those sites perfectly if that helps :?
Regards,

JamesR
Customer since 2005

NetworkAdmin
Posts: 559
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 1:19 am
Contact:

Re: Cannot access www.yahoo.com.au

Post by NetworkAdmin » Tue Jan 15, 2008 9:45 am

MJH wrote:Would appreciate any assistance you can do to look into this problem.
Thanks,
MJH
I can't see any problem with the route path, but that ADSL service is not connected at the moment. When it is I can test the routing more thoroughly.

MJH
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 12:58 am

Post by MJH » Wed Jan 16, 2008 8:04 am

I PM the 58.96.78.xx ip address yesterday to ForumAdmin. I have just checked and the IP Address of this service has changed to 220.233.76.xx and can now ping www.yahoo.com.au. This was the IP Address when the service was first comissioned and somehow it changed to 58.96.78.xx without requesting a IP Address change including in the User Facilities. Now it is back to the 220.233.76.xx address including the User Facilities so all is good now.
Thanks,
MJH

jnicol
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 11:06 am

Post by jnicol » Wed Jan 16, 2008 9:32 pm

Same issue, but I can't see yahoo.com.au at all, as well as other sites including emusic.com and www.ozspeedtest.com.

Here is a traceroute:

---

tracert www.yahoo.com.au

Tracing route to i1.aunz.vip.aue.yahoo.com [203.84.217.26]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 2616 ms 6 ms 6 ms 192.168.0.1
2 45 ms 43 ms 43 ms 150.1.233.220.exetel.com.au [220.233.1.150]
3 * * * Request timed out.
4 45 ms 43 ms 44 ms 10.0.1.2
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 * * * Request timed out.
7 * * * Request timed out.
8 * * * Request timed out.

---

I am in Melbourne.

MJH
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 12:58 am

Post by MJH » Thu Jan 17, 2008 1:11 am

I have rested and I can access www.yahoo.com and www.yahoo.com.au and www.ozspeedtest.com and www.ozspeedtest.com.au from my ADSL2 service though my Fatherinlaw's connection can still access www.yahoo.com and www.yahoo.com.au and www.ozspeedtest.com.au though cannot access www.ozspeedtest.com on IP 122.201.80.100.
MJH

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Post by CoreyPlover » Thu Jan 17, 2008 1:43 am

jnicol wrote: 1 2616 ms 6 ms 6 ms 192.168.0.1
This is a very big issue. You should be getting <1ms responses from 192.168.0.1 (which is your ADSL modem). Such large delays like this strongly indicate spyware on your machine, which could also be hijacking your traffic and causing issues accessing the sites you mentioned.

Other reasons for these delays might be QoS settings on your router, but either way you will have to perform a complete system scan and reduce these values to their proper <1ms levels before Exetel can proceed with any further investigation.

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Post by CoreyPlover » Thu Jan 17, 2008 1:48 am

MJH wrote:I have rested and I can access www.yahoo.com and www.yahoo.com.au and www.ozspeedtest.com and www.ozspeedtest.com.au from my ADSL2 service though my Fatherinlaw's connection can still access www.yahoo.com and www.yahoo.com.au and www.ozspeedtest.com.au though cannot access www.ozspeedtest.com on IP 122.201.80.100.
MJH
Is this still continuing? Because it may have just been a temporary thing, especially if no other web pages are being affected and if you are trying between midnight and 3am when Exetel network (and possibly even the wider Australian network) is congested. What is the traceroute to ozspeedtest.com?

jnicol
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 11:06 am

Post by jnicol » Thu Jan 17, 2008 7:15 am

CoreyPlover wrote:This is a very big issue. You should be getting <1ms responses from 192.168.0.1 (which is your ADSL modem).
Or, more likely it's because of my crappy wireless connection to the modem ;)

In any case, I ran the traceroute on another machine (mac, this time) which has a wired connection to the modem. This is the result:

traceroute to yahoo.com.au (203.84.217.26), 64 hops max, 40 byte packets
1 192.168.0.1 (192.168.0.1) 0.721 ms 0.463 ms 0.448 ms
2 149.1.233.220.exetel.com.au (220.233.1.149) 39.444 ms 37.930 ms
40.871 ms
3 * * *
4 10.0.1.2 (10.0.1.2) 58.051 ms 39.933 ms 39.396 ms
5 * * *
6 * * *

EDIT: I should mention I have an ADSL2 transfer pending, but I don't see that this is likely to cause certain sites to become unavailable. Thought I should mention it in any case.

MJH
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 12:58 am

Post by MJH » Thu Jan 17, 2008 8:14 am

CoreyPlover wrote: Is this still continuing? Because it may have just been a temporary thing, especially if no other web pages are being affected and if you are trying between midnight and 3am when Exetel network (and possibly even the wider Australian network) is congested. What is the traceroute to ozspeedtest.com?
Hi Corey,
My fatherinlaw does not use his computer between midnight and 6am. I just retested early this morning when I saw someone else had a similar problem. He was having problems with other web pages though has not provided me a list if they are still not working as his main concern was getting to www.yahoo.com.au to check his email. I have rested again now and the only site I know is not working is www.ozspeedtest.com IP 122.201.80.100. Sorry I can't provide a traceroute from my fatherinlaw as the adsl modem does not support this. I would have to step my fatherinlaw to do a traceroute and not quite so high on his list at the moment as he has start packing and moving 1200km from yesterday. The only common info I see in both problems is that the traceroute stops at the 10.0.1.2 and is not getting to as10026.sydney.pipenetworks.com [218.100.2.21] which is where my traceroute goes from my ADSL2 service.
Thanks,
MJH

Pav L
Exetel Staff
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 9:36 am
Location: Australia

Post by Pav L » Thu Jan 17, 2008 8:55 am

jnicol and MJH could you please send me a pm of the service numbers for the affected services, could you also paste the link of this thread as well.

andyos
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 6:27 pm
Location: Wodonga

Post by andyos » Sun Jan 20, 2008 7:55 pm

Hi. I have also been experiencing the same problem with yahoo.com.au and also flybys australia for about 2 weeks.I can get into Yahoo.com but not the Yahoo.com.au and i cant access yahoo email either.I am running 2 computers both with windows xp pro service pack 2,a DLINK DSL-G604T modem/router,IE 7 and firefox,my computer is running Ashampoo antivirus and my sons has AVG.I am sure it is not a computer issue because i have reinstalled windows only 2 days ago and the issue is still there.Also my sons computer which is connected via a crossover cable has the exact same issue.I had an old DLINK modem kicking around so i set it up thinking it may be a router issue and it still did the same thing.I am really at a loss.......

andyos
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 6:27 pm
Location: Wodonga

Post by andyos » Mon Jan 21, 2008 6:15 pm

Here is a tracert of the problem.........

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\geoffery>ping www.yahoo.com.au

Pinging www.yahoo.com.au [203.84.217.26] with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 203.84.217.26:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Documents and Settings\geoffery>tracert www.yahoo.com.au

Tracing route to i1.aunz.vip.aue.yahoo.com [203.84.217.26]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 * * * Request timed out.
2 38 ms 36 ms 37 ms 4.1.233.220.exetel.com.au [220.233.1.4]
3 36 ms 36 ms 36 ms 61.1.96.58.exetel.com.au [58.96.1.61]
4 38 ms mygateway1.ar7 [10.1.1.1] reports: Destination protocol unreachab
le.

Trace complete.

C:\Documents and Settings\geoffery>ping www.au.yahoo.com

Pinging i1.aunz.vip.aue.yahoo.com [203.84.217.26] with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 203.84.217.26:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Documents and Settings\geoffery>tracert www.au.yahoo.com

Tracing route to www.au.yahoo.com [203.84.217.26]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 * * * Request timed out.
2 38 ms 36 ms 36 ms 4.1.233.220.exetel.com.au [220.233.1.4]
3 36 ms 36 ms 36 ms 61.1.96.58.exetel.com.au [58.96.1.61]
4 38 ms mygateway1.ar7 [10.1.1.1] reports: Destination protocol unreachab
le.

Trace complete.

Any help would be appreciated....

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Post by CoreyPlover » Mon Jan 21, 2008 9:15 pm

andyos wrote:1 * * * Request timed out.
2 38 ms 36 ms 37 ms 4.1.233.220.exetel.com.au [220.233.1.4]
3 36 ms 36 ms 36 ms 61.1.96.58.exetel.com.au [58.96.1.61]
Your traceroutes look remarkably similar to several other users whose posts and PMs I have read, who all have various degrees of trouble accessing sites. It is identical to this post of nluchow, but that thread has been locked so I do not know of its status. It also seems similar to this post. where another poster stated
forostie wrote:On your good traces, you are being routed correctly from:
Home -> LNS -> P2P Caching -> LNS -> Work
but on the failing ones it seems to be going:
Home -> Border Router -> Interstate PoP -> ####
You could try changing your IP address and see if your traceroutes and browsing improves temporarily. If so, it sounds like a similar issue.

Also, I have seen many users post that this:
andyos wrote:1 * * * Request timed out.
is a sign of misconfiguration of your router and that it should always participate in internal ICMP / traceroute pings. I don't actually agree with this view, especially when it successfully passes the request on to the second hop, but you might want to investigate why your router chooses not to respond.

andyos
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 6:27 pm
Location: Wodonga

Post by andyos » Wed Jan 23, 2008 3:33 pm

:D Thanks Corey for your advice.I went to Exetel and in my account details i changed my ip address.I now have a fully working normal internet again where i can access all sites. :D :D :D

Post Reply