disappointed in my new broadband connection

Old, inactive threads
Post Reply
fireblade37
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 9:59 pm
Location: QLD

disappointed in my new broadband connection

Post by fireblade37 » Wed Jan 30, 2008 10:56 pm

Not sure whats going on here. But for some reason, I'm only getting 272kbps DL speed on exetels test page. and simular readings on speedtest.net.
I carried out all the tests as described in forum.
I have done DNS pri/sec check, no proxy, no speed control software, no p2p running, update off, and only one PC running. In fact had same results on a laptop. oh and isolated other phones etc.

My router seems to be functioning correctly. In my Draytek 2800VG is showing the following:
Upspeed: 384000, Downspeed: 8160000, SNR: 18.0 and Loop att:3.5
with connection configured as:
VPI:8, VCI:35, tried PPPoE and PPPoA - no difference, LLC/SNAP.
Tried restarting router couple of times, but difference.

HERE IS MY PING and TRACRT results as requested:
C:\WINDOWS\system32>ping 220.233.0.50

Pinging 220.233.0.50 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 220.233.0.50: bytes=32 time=34ms TTL=60
Reply from 220.233.0.50: bytes=32 time=34ms TTL=60
Reply from 220.233.0.50: bytes=32 time=36ms TTL=60
Reply from 220.233.0.50: bytes=32 time=35ms TTL=60

Ping statistics for 220.233.0.50:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 34ms, Maximum = 36ms, Average = 34ms

C:\WINDOWS\system32>tracert www.telstra.com

Tracing route to www.telstra.com [144.135.19.10]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms my.router [192.168.1.1]
2 20 ms 20 ms 21 ms 202.3.96.58.exetel.com.au [58.96.3.202]
3 35 ms 33 ms 34 ms 1.3.96.58.exetel.com.au [58.96.3.1]
4 38 ms 36 ms 36 ms 254.0.233.220.exetel.com.au [220.233.0.254]
5 34 ms 34 ms 35 ms 10.0.1.1
6 34 ms 34 ms 34 ms 38.2.233.220.exetel.com.au [220.233.2.38]
7 * 36 ms 35 ms 359-ge-0-0-0.GW5.SYD2.ALTER.NET [203.166.92.57]

8 36 ms 35 ms 35 ms 0.so-6-2-0.XT1.SYD2.ALTER.NET [210.80.38.221]
9 34 ms 35 ms 35 ms so-6-0-0.BR2.SYD2.ALTER.NET [210.80.33.218]
10 34 ms 34 ms 35 ms FastEthernet2-2.ken17.Sydney.telstra.net [139.13
0.4.185]
11 35 ms 34 ms 36 ms TenGigabitEthernet8-1.pit1.Sydney.telstra.net [2
03.50.20.39]
12 36 ms 35 ms 35 ms pitt-tcom-r01 [139.130.185.254]
13 34 ms 36 ms 36 ms 144.135.19.84
14 36 ms 36 ms 36 ms 144.135.19.10

Trace complete.

Look forward to suggestion please?
John.

VoIP Admin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:10 pm
Contact:

Post by VoIP Admin » Thu Jan 31, 2008 8:41 am

You trace and pings are fine, can you please post results of your speed?

It would be best if you can run a multi-session download, so you will need to download mutliple files from multiple sources at the same time.

Please post the results of the combined speeds for each download.

Some sites you can use are below.

www.apple.com
microsoft.com
www.nvidia.com

fireblade37
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 9:59 pm
Location: QLD

Post by fireblade37 » Thu Jan 31, 2008 4:02 pm

I did as instructed and went to Apple and Nvidia to download large files at the same time:
Apple itunes was downloading at 270kb/sec whilst Nvidia driver was downloading at 223Kb/sec. I then soon after did the Exetel speed test which showed 3.63Mbps which has jumped up considerably since last night?? But then www.speedtest.net showed 1615Kbps DL / 279Kbps.

This was all done at about 2.30pm.

Surely I should get better performance than this? I will also try later this evening to see how much this changes.

VoIP Admin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:10 pm
Contact:

Post by VoIP Admin » Thu Jan 31, 2008 4:40 pm

I dont see a problem you getting close to 5M there according to your results.

fireblade37
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 9:59 pm
Location: QLD

Post by fireblade37 » Thu Jan 31, 2008 9:59 pm

Because its in the evening that my speeds drop right down. The DL tests were in the afternoon.
Here is what I get @ 9pm with same proceedure:-
Apple site: 39.1Kbps
Nvidia site: 40Kbps
Exetel speed test: 1.78Mpbs
its as if the network is struggling with demand where I presume most people use it??
When checking my modem, I only have 2 corrected blocks with it running @ 8160000bps which is the best I've ever seen it with any ISP. So i can only think the bottleneck is with Exetel or something else?

VoIP Admin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:10 pm
Contact:

Post by VoIP Admin » Fri Feb 01, 2008 8:51 am

Does it occur every night after 9PM? Is it only affecting international sites?

Can you do the same speed test after 9PM using Australian sites so we can determine where the problem may be?

danander11
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 5:51 pm
Location: Sydney

Post by danander11 » Fri Feb 01, 2008 7:55 pm

I've had the same issues since coming over to exetel...

Funny they should steer someone to other sites to perform bandwidth tests.. when I was going through everything with the service department, I submitted results from other servers and was told that they would only accept details from the exetel speed test server.. and that the extremely slow speeds I was getting from anywhere else were not going to be considered..

I can connect to exetel with almost full speed, I cannot connect to anywhere else without a drastic reduction.. an issue I never had with my previous ISP.

In the end, I was told that everything was fine and that I could, essentially, like it or lump it.

Great customer service there.. I cannot wait for my 6 months to end so that I can go somewhere else.. and I'm telling everyone that I know to stay away for this reason.

danander11
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 5:51 pm
Location: Sydney

Post by danander11 » Sat Feb 02, 2008 8:09 am

danander11 wrote:I've had the same issues since coming over to exetel...

Funny they should steer someone to other sites to perform bandwidth tests.. when I was going through everything with the service department, I submitted results from other servers and was told that they would only accept details from the exetel speed test server.. and that the extremely slow speeds I was getting from anywhere else were not going to be considered..

I can connect to exetel with almost full speed, I cannot connect to anywhere else without a drastic reduction.. an issue I never had with my previous ISP.

In the end, I was told that everything was fine and that I could, essentially, like it or lump it.

Great customer service there.. I cannot wait for my 6 months to end so that I can go somewhere else.. and I'm telling everyone that I know to stay away for this reason.
I should have said mirrors, just to clear up any confusion... and also, the rant at the end is childish, please disregard it as such...

Peace!

fireblade37
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 9:59 pm
Location: QLD

Post by fireblade37 » Sun Feb 03, 2008 9:21 pm

VoIP Admin wrote:Does it occur every night after 9PM? Is it only affecting international sites?

Can you do the same speed test after 9PM using Australian sites so we can determine where the problem may be?
An issue has just cropped up over the weekend with my telephone but im sure its unrelated. My broadband is still functioning, but my line is dead!! no dial tone. This was report to telstra so hopefully it should be fixed tomorrow? Then I will do a series of tests before/after 9pm.

I agree with other comment.. why aint you considering the speed result from exetel or speedtest.net when I have always found speedtest.net to be faily accurate results in the past?

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Post by CoreyPlover » Mon Feb 04, 2008 2:32 am

fireblade37 wrote:why aint you considering the speed result from exetel or speedtest.net when I have always found speedtest.net to be faily accurate results in the past?
I would definitely not consider speedtest.net to be accurate. Successive tests minutes apart have the capacity to differ by over 100%. This difference can be caused by various things such as load on the remote testing site. By performing 3 simultaneous downloads on different servers (see below) you reduce the impact that a congested remote site or individually limited stream may have.

Speed results from Exetel should be reliable, but the difference may boil down to the use of the speed test. Downloading a file from the Exetel mirror has the capacity to max out your connection because it is local (traffic never leaves Exetel's network) and is good to determine the throughput for the chain from your computer -> phone cable -> exchange -> Exetel. Downloading 3 simultaneous files has the capacity to more accurately identify your real-world downloading speeds. Under ordinary conditions, real-world downloading speeds are slower than Exetel mirror downloads, but downloading 3 or more simultaneously should still have the capacity to max out your connection. So each test usually serve their purpose in identifying the throughput of your connection.

fireblade37
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 9:59 pm
Location: QLD

Still poor

Post by fireblade37 » Mon Feb 11, 2008 11:18 pm

Well I seem to still get poor bandwidths about 9ish and only presume Im on a high retention ratio? Well Im going to admin im a pom and not usually the wining type cus im actually from wales. There I lived further away from the exchange, same router (but upgraded to Australian firmware), same PC etc etc.
What I find odd is I was on a lower connection speed because i was further from the exchange in the UK but had much better performance than here with well over 600Kbps download speed!
My philosophy is, there’s no point wining on spending hours moaning on about this on a forum. So if I see no change in 6 months, Im off chaps.
Iv been brought up in the years of ZX spectrum’s, 8086, 386,486 etc and put up lots of headaches with things not working right. So I’ve ended up hating technology but can’t leave it alone! Now my patients are wearing thin with b****t in this industry. Sorry to sound so negative and not having much faith, but I have yet to find any large company who really do ‘care’ about there customers. Maybe my faith could be returned one day. :wink:
Last edited by fireblade37 on Tue Feb 12, 2008 10:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

dogwomble
Posts: 375
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:21 am

Post by dogwomble » Tue Feb 12, 2008 6:07 am

I'm concerned about you saying the 48 gig has been dropped?

It actually hasn't been ... it's just as of this month charged $3 a gig for going over that.

fireblade37
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 9:59 pm
Location: QLD

Post by fireblade37 » Tue Feb 12, 2008 10:48 am

dogwomble wrote:I'm concerned about you saying the 48 gig has been dropped?

It actually hasn't been ... it's just as of this month charged $3 a gig for going over that.
Do apologise, yourright. I must of read it too late one nite :lol:

fireblade37
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 9:59 pm
Location: QLD

Post by fireblade37 » Sun Feb 17, 2008 8:52 pm

Oh, so looking at recent replies, its looking like my faith is still lost.

Post Reply