Churned to Exetel - Can't connect

Old, inactive threads
Post Reply
Sandrust
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 10:34 am
Location: Melbourne

Churned to Exetel - Can't connect

Post by Sandrust » Fri Feb 01, 2008 12:17 pm

Hi all,

churned to Exetel from People Telecom on Wednesday and so far have had no luck in connecting to the internet.
Have changed modem settings and Exetel can confirm the connection is valid and working. I cannot ping anything and a tacert to Exetel's DNS server address lasts 3 hops then timeouts.
My wife and I have rung Exetel 3 times and simply been told, "it's a problem at your end, nothing we can do". Unable even to offer hints or suggestions as to what to try next.

Windows 2000 Professional
The modem is a Netcomm NB1300plus4
We've isolated the modem.
Did a factory reset and re-entered the login details.
Disabled firewall and all security software.
Changed TCP/IP settings from Obtain Automatically to Exetels DNS servers 220.233.0.4 and 220.233.0.3 with no luck.

Tracert to 220.233.0.4
1. 192.168.1.1
2. 58.96.2.202
3. 58.96.2.1
4 Time out
5 to 30 Time Out

Username: xxxxxxxxxx@vic.exetel.com.au
(ten digit phone number)

Password: xxxxxxxxxxBA
(ten digit phone number and 1st initials of street in Caps)

Any suggestions as to what next would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Sandy

User avatar
VoIP Admin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:10 pm
Contact:

Post by VoIP Admin » Fri Feb 01, 2008 12:24 pm

Hi

Can you please PM me your service number?

User avatar
VoIP Admin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:10 pm
Contact:

Post by VoIP Admin » Fri Feb 01, 2008 3:36 pm

Hi

The problem is now resolved, i have confirmed that it is working with your partner as well.

Please let me know if you have any other problems.

Have a great weekend.

Sandrust
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 10:34 am
Location: Melbourne

Post by Sandrust » Mon Feb 04, 2008 9:12 am

Thanks for your help. Was a relief to get it working, you wouldn't believe the flak I was copping from the kids.
Unfortunately, by the time I got home on Friday, 5:30pm 'ish, we had no link.
(Link light flashing on modem).
Didn't come back up until Saturday morning. Is this part of a "Bedding" in process?
Apart from a ten minute period on Sunday it's been OK since then.

Cheers,

Sandy

User avatar
VoIP Admin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:10 pm
Contact:

Post by VoIP Admin » Mon Feb 04, 2008 9:26 am

Sandrust wrote:Thanks for your help. Was a relief to get it working, you wouldn't believe the flak I was copping from the kids.
Unfortunately, by the time I got home on Friday, 5:30pm 'ish, we had no link.
(Link light flashing on modem).
Didn't come back up until Saturday morning. Is this part of a "Bedding" in process?
Apart from a ten minute period on Sunday it's been OK since then.

Cheers,

Sandy
If you are losing sync it can be a number of things.

Best thing to do if it occurs again is to do an isolation test, if the light continues to flash you will need to open a fault with us.

Sandrust
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 10:34 am
Location: Melbourne

Post by Sandrust » Mon Feb 04, 2008 9:44 am

Ok, thanks.
Have a good one.

S.

stealth
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Brisbane

Post by stealth » Mon Feb 04, 2008 5:51 pm

I too are having the same issue with a clients exetel adsl1 service. Churned on friday and can't login. reconfigured the modem and tried again and no luck. I also reset the password and still no luck. They also have line sync so it isn't that. I've also tried my exetel adsl username and password in the modem and still no luck.

Can anyone please assist me to fix this issue as the client needs to have this connection working and can't have anymore down time.

Pav L
Exetel Staff
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 9:36 am
Location: Australia

Post by Pav L » Tue Feb 05, 2008 9:15 am

Stealth if you are still experiencing issues please pm me your service number and also the link to this thread.

Post Reply