ADSL2 inc phone application rejection

Old, inactive threads
Post Reply
khoshimola
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 9:54 am
Location: Grovedale

ADSL2 inc phone application rejection

Post by khoshimola » Sat Apr 19, 2008 11:12 pm

Hi

We had put an application to change our ADSL1 to ADSL2,
the application has been updated in user facilities with status=rejected
but the reason is a bit strange:

Status: REJECTED
Rejection Date: 2008-04-17
Rejection Reason: ADSL2 TRANSMISSION LOST TOO HIGH

anyone knows what does this mean?
any workaround?


Thanks,
KS

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Post by CoreyPlover » Sat Apr 19, 2008 11:53 pm

Have a read of http://forum.exetel.com.au/viewtopic.php?t=24229. It seems to be similar to what you are experiencing. The rejected messages sometimes don't means what they might imply though, so your best bet is to contact provisioning@exetel.com.au to confirm the reason behind the rejection.

ymo
Posts: 294
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 4:36 pm
Location: Wollongong NSW

Post by ymo » Sun Apr 20, 2008 12:37 am

It could mean that you are too far from the exchange for ADSL2+ but not for ADSL1 - you might be on a CMUX (in a green box beside the road) rather than an exchange based ADSL1 DSLAM.

What does http://www.adsl2exchanges.com.au report when you enter your address into the search box?

ScottH2155
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:37 am
Location: Sydney

Re: ADSL2 inc phone application rejection

Post by ScottH2155 » Tue May 06, 2008 8:58 am

Hi,

I'm in the process of moving and got this ADSL2 TRANSMISSION LOST TOO HIGH rejection.

I believe I'm on Kellyville East exchange (based on the guy that connected my phone), which may be a separate issue.

When I checked the link to exchanges in the above post - it tells me that Optus is "Optus No Ports - Unable to Expand"

Would that be the real reason perhaps? How can I tell? I did ring provisioning, but all he did was confirm this message was the reason.

Unsure which way to go now.

richardk
Posts: 544
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 9:02 pm
Contact:

Re: ADSL2 inc phone application rejection

Post by richardk » Tue May 06, 2008 9:29 am

Hello,

I know that there are some sub exchanges around the Kellyville area that could cause this rejection.
Please pm em your telephone number and I'll take a look to see if this is the case.

Thank You

ScottH2155
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:37 am
Location: Sydney

Re: ADSL2 inc phone application rejection

Post by ScottH2155 » Tue May 06, 2008 12:01 pm

You have Mail!
Thanks Richard.

richardk
Posts: 544
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 9:02 pm
Contact:

Re: ADSL2 inc phone application rejection

Post by richardk » Tue May 06, 2008 12:48 pm

Hello,

Your problem is the service goes through a local sub exchange.
The sub exchange is called Kellyville East.

You can try to apply for EXETEL ADSL 1 if you wanted to.

Thank You

ScottH2155
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:37 am
Location: Sydney

Re: ADSL2 inc phone application rejection

Post by ScottH2155 » Tue May 06, 2008 2:09 pm

OK, bugger...was looking forward to an Exetel all things rolled into one DSL2...

Appreciate your help.

ScottH2155
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:37 am
Location: Sydney

Re: ADSL2 inc phone application rejection

Post by ScottH2155 » Wed May 07, 2008 11:30 am

Richard - out of interest - what's the position with "sub-exchanges" - does Exetel seek to implement into them over time? Or is this still a restricted area?

richardk
Posts: 544
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 9:02 pm
Contact:

Re: ADSL2 inc phone application rejection

Post by richardk » Wed May 07, 2008 11:44 am

Hello,

Would say that our providers will proberly never offer ADSL 2+ services in sub exchanges.
The reaosn for this is there is limited amounts of bandwith that can be provisioned at one of these types of exchanges.

Thank You

Post Reply