W.A. Users PLEASE HELP!... Can you access Belldirect.com.au?

Old, inactive threads
richardk
Exetel Staff
Posts: 544
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 9:02 pm
Contact:

Re: W.A. Users PLEASE HELP!... Can you access Belldirect.com.au?

Post by richardk » Mon Jul 07, 2008 1:47 pm

Hello,

We still believe that it's a possible block on certain range of IP addresses within the 58.96.0.0 network.
There is not a lot that EXETEL can do to further investigate the problem.

Thank You

Bruce Evans
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Perth

Re: W.A. Users PLEASE HELP!... Can you access Belldirect.com.au?

Post by Bruce Evans » Mon Jul 07, 2008 3:22 pm

Hello,
Is it possible to answer the questions I asked, namely:
Are my router settings definitely correct? Is Belldirect definitely blocking me, whether they know it or not?
Since they think they're not blocking me what can I do next?
If my router settings are correct then the problem seems to be somewhere between Exetel and Belldirect.
Perhaps Exetel and Belldirect should contact each other to resolve the problem since I've been in contact with both for the last 2 and a half weeks so far and seem to be getting nowhere. Is this possible?
Bruce.

Bruce Evans
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Perth

Re: W.A. Users PLEASE HELP!... Can you access Belldirect.com.au?

Post by Bruce Evans » Mon Jul 07, 2008 3:52 pm

Hello again,
I just had a thought: If the problem is just a case of a range of IP addresses being blocked, then since you also have a 58.96.x.x number and yours works, would it be possible for you, or an Exetel engineer, to try to contact belldirect through another 58.96.x.x number and if successful then assign the address to me?

ForumAdmin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 3663
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: W.A. Users PLEASE HELP!... Can you access Belldirect.com.au?

Post by ForumAdmin » Mon Jul 07, 2008 9:41 pm

Bruce Evans wrote:Hello again,
I just had a thought: If the problem is just a case of a range of IP addresses being blocked, then since you also have a 58.96.x.x number and yours works, would it be possible for you, or an Exetel engineer, to try to contact belldirect through another 58.96.x.x number and if successful then assign the address to me?
No - we have no basis for doing that.

Perhaps you should go to the user facilites and change yor IP?

Bruce Evans
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Perth

Re: W.A. Users PLEASE HELP!... Can you access Belldirect.com.au?

Post by Bruce Evans » Mon Jul 07, 2008 10:42 pm

My IP address has been changed 3 times already, both by Exetel staff & by myself. But, as you must know, the address only changes by a small incrementel number each time, therefore making it all but immpossible for me to find a working number without changing it perhaps hundreds of times, whereas you could try just a few completely different numbers to find one that works, considering that Richard K's number works, and considering that the Belldirect site knows of no block on a range of IP addresses that you seem to be insisting is responsible for the problem, and considering you apparently have no better idea of how to resolve the problem. What more basis do you need???
Perhaps you would prefer me to just go away and stop bothering you with the problem that began with your new WA server?
Perhaps this is your usual response to problems you cannot understand.
Or perhaps you simply do not care!

NetworkAdmin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 559
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 1:19 am
Contact:

Re: W.A. Users PLEASE HELP!... Can you access Belldirect.com.au?

Post by NetworkAdmin » Tue Jul 08, 2008 9:11 am

Bruce Evans wrote:I live in Perth WA, and immediately after Exetel connected me to their new WA server 2 weeks ago I can't access http://www.belldirect.com.au at all.
I used to be connected to Exetel's NSW server and had no problem accessing this site immediately before being moved to the WA server.
None of my settings or anything was changed when the problem started, although I've tried changing settings since in an effort to correct the problem, such as reducing MTU etc. but nothing helps.
I have no problem accessing any other sites that I've tried.
I've contacted Exetel about it who investigated but said they have no problem with their network.
I've contacted Belldirect who can't seem to help, although they are at least continuing to try.
Could someone else who is connected through the WA server (58.96.x.x) please try to access this site so I will know if the problem is with my router setup or the network somewhere?
Thanks.
I am in WA with the same IP address range as you, and I can reach that site without any problems. That means there are two things that are the most likely cause:

1. Your modem or computer firewall is blocking your access to the site

2. the site is blocking your access

You may be able to determine which by using the traceroute utility ('tracert' in Windows). You should also contact the site itself and ask them if they are blocking you or if they can look into the issue further - it is not uncommon for a site to have a route or firewall problem of which they are unaware.

Bruce Evans
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Perth

Re: W.A. Users PLEASE HELP!... Can you access Belldirect.com.au?

Post by Bruce Evans » Tue Jul 08, 2008 10:03 am

Thank you for your response.
And thanks for not being too offended by the remarks of a very frustrated customer!
However, all of the things you mentioned I have already done.
The problem remains even with no firewall on either the router or the computer.
A tracert has been carried out more than once and forwarded to both Exetel and Belldirect.
I have already asked Belldirect about the suspected blocking.
This is their latest response which I received today:

--------------------------------------------------

HI Bruce,

Bell Potter IT has confirmed that there are no IP addresses blocking for the Bell Direct website. We have escalated this issue to our own ISP to investigate.
It would be appreciated if you could please obtain your current DNS from your ISP so that we can forward it to our ISP.

Thank you.

Yours sincerely,
Jay Felipe
Broking Representative
http://www.belldirect.com.au

-------------------------------------------------

I've already forwarded them my Primary and Secondary DNS numbers as listed in my router and asked them to let me know if they need it specifically from you.

Can you please tell me if my router needs any specific changes to settings to make it more compatible with the new WA server, as it worked fine through the NSW server? Although, I've already tried many changes of settings, as I stated earlier, with no success.

It's interesting that you reside in WA and yet can access the website when I cannot. As there seems to be no blocking, I hope Belldirect can find the problem. I'll keep you posted.

Thanks for your patience,
Bruce.
Last edited by Bruce Evans on Tue Jul 08, 2008 10:34 am, edited 2 times in total.

NetworkAdmin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 559
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 1:19 am
Contact:

Re: W.A. Users PLEASE HELP!... Can you access Belldirect.com.au?

Post by NetworkAdmin » Tue Jul 08, 2008 10:06 am

Can you please post the traceroute you did to the site. It may help shed some light on the matter.

Bruce Evans
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Perth

Re: W.A. Users PLEASE HELP!... Can you access Belldirect.com.au?

Post by Bruce Evans » Tue Jul 08, 2008 10:46 am

Hi,
I didn't keep copies of the pevious trace routes, so here is one I just carried out today.
It always seems to get stuck immediately after a gigabitethernet hop.


Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>tracert http://www.belldirect.com.au

Tracing route to http://www.belldirect.com.au [202.164.26.80]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.254
2 75 ms 27 ms 51 ms 202.1.96.58.exetel.com.au [58.96.1.202]
3 205 ms 106 ms 138 ms 17.4.96.58.exetel.com.au [58.96.4.17]
4 379 ms 208 ms 67 ms 56.1.96.58.exetel.com.au [58.96.1.56]
5 108 ms 234 ms 243 ms 61.1.96.58.exetel.com.au [58.96.1.61]
6 202 ms 152 ms 80 ms 1.4.96.58.exetel.com.au [58.96.4.1]
7 150 ms 197 ms 175 ms 10.0.1.1
8 92 ms 69 ms 120 ms 38.2.233.220.exetel.com.au [220.233.2.38]
9 133 ms 68 ms 69 ms 359-ge-0-0-0.GW5.SYD2.ALTER.NET [203.166.92.57]

10 563 ms 240 ms 146 ms 0.so-7-2-0.XT4.SYD2.ALTER.NET [210.80.33.193]
11 81 ms 291 ms 229 ms 0.ge-7-0-0.BR3.SYD2.Alter.Net [210.80.34.54]
12 166 ms 89 ms 368 ms gigabitEthernet0-3-1.bdr4.syd.connect.com.au [20
3.8.183.73]
13 69 ms 206 ms 146 ms so-3-1-0.cre1.syd.connect.com.au [202.10.4.91]
14 121 ms 153 ms 143 ms as0.cre1.hay.connect.com.au [202.10.0.59]
15 104 ms 197 ms 212 ms so-5-0-0.cre1.bur.connect.com.au [202.10.0.251]

16 138 ms 309 ms 286 ms so-0-0-1.dst1.mel.connect.com.au [202.10.0.130]

17 104 ms 294 ms 171 ms gigabitethernet0-2.cor10.mel.connect.com.au [203
.63.170.131]
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 280 ms 192 ms 290 ms 10.225.15.44
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>

Bruce Evans
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Perth

Re: W.A. Users PLEASE HELP!... Can you access Belldirect.com.au?

Post by Bruce Evans » Tue Jul 08, 2008 11:44 am

Hi again,
There's another peculiarity I've noticed which I mentioned in my Fault ticket to you 2 weeks ago which I should perhaps draw to your attention, in case it also sheds some light on the problem:
I access many pages from ft.com every day and since being connected to the WA server some of the pages jam after partly loading, usually 48kb. Because this only happens when using the Opera browser version 9.27 (the earlier version hesitates at 48kb, then continues loading) it's not really a problem for me. However, it indicates some kind of strange compatibility issue which was not present when connecting through your NSW server.
I hope this is of some help.
Bruce.

NetworkAdmin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 559
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 1:19 am
Contact:

Re: W.A. Users PLEASE HELP!... Can you access Belldirect.com.au?

Post by NetworkAdmin » Tue Jul 08, 2008 12:00 pm

Your traceroute is the same as mine, which means it is unlikely to be a routing problem.

From what you say about pages partly loading, that sort of problem is usually caused by an MTU issue.

Bruce Evans
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Perth

Re: W.A. Users PLEASE HELP!... Can you access Belldirect.com.au?

Post by Bruce Evans » Tue Jul 08, 2008 12:04 pm

Hi,
I reduced the MTU from 1492 to 1400, and then 1100 last week with no success in either case.
It is now set to 1400.
Any other suggestions?
Bruce.

100brian
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 3:58 pm

Re: W.A. Users PLEASE HELP!... Can you access Belldirect.com.au?

Post by 100brian » Wed Jul 09, 2008 10:53 am

Bruce Evans wrote:Hi,
I reduced the MTU from 1492 to 1400, and then 1100 last week with no success in either case.
It is now set to 1400.
Any other suggestions?
Bruce.
Hi Bruce

I have had this problem in the past trying to log on to bankwest, when it has happened to me what i have done is do a factory reset on my modem/router then log all my details back in to the modem and it would log on no problem,

by the way i am in wa and can log on to belldirect

Bruce Evans
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Perth

Re: W.A. Users PLEASE HELP!... Can you access Belldirect.com.au?

Post by Bruce Evans » Wed Jul 09, 2008 11:57 am

Hi
I already did that 2 weeks ago.
I assume your IP address is 58.96.x.x then?
Bruce.

James D

Re: W.A. Users PLEASE HELP!... Can you access Belldirect.com.au?

Post by James D » Wed Jul 09, 2008 12:39 pm

Hi Bruce Evans,

Can you please email me directly the following details:

Your service number.
Your modem make and model
And your OS details.

Please email them to jamesd@exetel.com.lk

Thanks

Locked