Page 1 of 2

SIP Server upgrade

Posted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 9:21 am
by VoIP Admin
We will replace our existing SIP Server with a newer version SIP Server. The new server would allow more SIP clients, with new features added plus bug fixes.
We will commence the change-over on 10 July 2008 at 6am AEST. There will be an outage in a windows time between 5 - 15 mins. Calling-Card service will also be affected.

All customer does not need to change any SIP details within their SIP software / hardware.

Re: SIP Server upgrade

Posted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 5:53 pm
by VoIP Admin
SIP Upgrade plan has been postponed to Friday 11 July due to further testing.

Re: SIP Server upgrade

Posted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 6:35 pm
by oldman
VoIP Admin wrote:We will replace our existing SIP Server with a newer version SIP Server. The new server would allow more SIP clients, with new features added plus bug fixes.
Can you give any more details of the new features?

Re: SIP Server upgrade

Posted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 10:51 am
by Shortlegs
Today 11/7 . i an getting a busy tone every time i dial out, I now that the numbers i am dialing are not busy. Is this happening because of the sip server upgrade? I have reset the modem several times. the modem is a NB9W

Re: SIP Server upgrade

Posted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 10:57 am
by Edwin
I have been experiencing the same issue, busy tone for every number called.

Re: SIP Server upgrade

Posted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 10:59 am
by JamesR
Edwin wrote:I have been experiencing the same issue, busy tone for every number called.
Exactly the same here...

Re: SIP Server upgrade

Posted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:08 am
by VoIP Admin
We're actively troubleshooting the problem. There are some unforeseen problem which wasn't occur during lab test. Will keep everyone up-to-date.

Re: SIP Server upgrade

Posted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:12 am
by sable
All outgoing calls except those to non did Exetel users result in engaged signal even with area code

can receive incoming calls

need fix urgently, my clients getting toey

Re: SIP Server upgrade

Posted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:52 am
by denishancock
We're unable to make any outgoing calls. This is obviously a problem caused by the upgrade. Can you please advise when we will be able to call out again ?

Re: SIP Server upgrade

Posted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 12:01 pm
by ForumAdmin
It's being worked on.

No MTTR is yet available.

Re: SIP Server upgrade

Posted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 12:47 pm
by egort
My Voip is working fine but instead of sip1.exetel.com.au, I have the IP address (58.96.1.2) on my setup. My friend just up the road from me was having the busy tone problem but he put in the IP and his now works.

Evert

Re: SIP Server upgrade

Posted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 12:53 pm
by VoIP Admin
The issue we have this morning is now resolved. For those who still can't register, please reboot your voip machine after 5 min.

Some of you may have problem with sip1.exetel.com.au, which probably related to dns issue / registration message too big. I suggest try 58.96.1.2 as it connect straight to the server without resolving any dns.

Re: SIP Server upgrade

Posted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 1:16 pm
by denishancock
DNS changes works for me, thanks everyone !

Re: SIP Server upgrade

Posted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 1:19 pm
by JamesR
VoIP Admin wrote:Some of you may have problem with sip1.exetel.com.au, which probably related to dns issue / registration message too big. I suggest try 58.96.1.2 as it connect straight to the server without resolving any dns.
Being an agent, we have setup all our customers connections with sip1.exetel.com.au per the instruction manuals, and now the business VoIP here does not like the sip1.exetel.com.au but does accept 58.96.1.2.

Will this mean we need to reconfigure all my VoIP customers to the IP instead of the domain? Is there any chance that the sip1.exetel.com.au will still work? Why isn't it working for us - have we set something wrong somewhere?

Re: SIP Server upgrade

Posted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 1:20 pm
by terrox
Where will the new features be posted?