Zonealarm not playing nice with XP hotfix

Old, inactive threads
Post Reply
CCCs
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 12:30 am
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Zonealarm not playing nice with XP hotfix

Post by CCCs » Fri Jul 11, 2008 12:49 pm

I'm not sure if Zonealarm/Microsoft has fixed this issue, but with the latest security hotfix from MS, zonealarm effectively blocks at the very least http traffic. Pinging and dns lookup still seemed to work when I tested last night on 3 of my xp boxes, but it was only when I turned off ZoneAlarm that I was able to browse the internet (http). Now I haven't tried BT or any other internet protocol, but I think it might be worthwhile, at least until a patch is release to advise everyone else that ZoneAlarm does not play nice with the latest XP hotfix.

This notice might stop many unnecessary posts about "internet" not working....

CCCs
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 12:30 am
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Re: Zonealarm not playing nice with XP hotfix

Post by CCCs » Fri Jul 11, 2008 1:19 pm

Apparently a fix to ZoneAlarm has been released.
I'm still at work so can't verify.... will try tonight.

http://forums.zonealarm.org/zonelabs/bo ... e.id=34074

Flame
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 3:22 pm
Location: Hobart

Re: Zonealarm not playing nice with XP hotfix

Post by Flame » Fri Jul 11, 2008 2:54 pm

Good news, thanks CCCs. I'll try it out when I get home too.

Flame
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 3:22 pm
Location: Hobart

Re: Zonealarm not playing nice with XP hotfix

Post by Flame » Fri Jul 11, 2008 7:58 pm

Yep the latest version of Zonealarm seems to have fixed any problems I was having!

Post Reply