ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Help improve Exetel's services (a Suggestion Box is also available in your member facilities)
Locked
ryan07
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: QLD

ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Post by ryan07 » Fri Jun 25, 2010 10:03 pm

Hi,

Just wondering if exetel will ever offer adsl2+ on telstra enable adsl2+ exchanges. There are a few ISP's that are doing this now. Ive been you exetel for a total of 2yrs, but i have only lived in a telstra enable adsl2+ exchanges for those 2yrs. It would be great if exetel one day will offer adsl2+ on these exchanges. It would help keep the prices down. A great average quota and price could be 40G total, ( 20 off peak and 20 peak) for $49.95. Im sure there would be 100's of people that would sign up on this. I know i would. To get more profit/money, exetel could offer these plans with a phone line. So eg 40G total, (20 peak and 20 off peak) for $39.95 or $44.95 plus $29.95 for line rental.

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: ADSL2+ on telstra Exchange

Post by CoreyPlover » Sat Jun 26, 2010 2:01 pm

ryan07 wrote:Just wondering if exetel will ever offer adsl2+ on telstra enable adsl2+ exchanges.
This has been raised several times before and the answer has always been "No". The reason is that Telstra's pricing does not allow Exetel (or any competitor) to offer cheap Telstra ADSL2+ at the levels you state. The pricing structure is so restrictive that it doesn't even allow any differentiate from other competitors so they see no reason to offer it.

I'll see if I can dig up some threads on the topic:

Edit: viewtopic.php?p=271022#p271022 and viewtopic.php?p=270321#p270321 have some info
I am a volunteer moderator and not an Exetel staff member. As with all forum posts, mine do not constitute any "official" Exetel position. Support tickets may be logged via https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au or residentialsupport@exetel.com.au

James
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1992
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 10:27 pm

Re: ADSL2+ on telstra Exchange

Post by James » Sat Jun 26, 2010 3:31 pm

CoreyPlover wrote:
ryan07 wrote:Just wondering if exetel will ever offer adsl2+ on telstra enable adsl2+ exchanges.
This has been raised several times before and the answer has always been "No". The reason is that Telstra's pricing does not allow Exetel (or any competitor) to offer cheap Telstra ADSL2+ at the levels you state. The pricing structure is so restrictive that it doesn't even allow any differentiate from other competitors so they see no reason to offer it.

I'll see if I can dig up some threads on the topic:

Edit: viewtopic.php?p=271022#p271022 and viewtopic.php?p=270321#p270321 have some info
We are actually looking into this at the moment.

jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: ADSL2+ on telstra Exchange

Post by jokiin » Sat Jun 26, 2010 5:35 pm

James wrote:
We are actually looking into this at the moment.
that's good news, I think there are more than a few people that would rather choose Exetel over other resellers, any word on 8k/384 plans coming back also?

ryan07
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: QLD

Re: ADSL2+ on telstra Exchange

Post by ryan07 » Sun Jun 27, 2010 5:10 pm

Thats great news. Any word on how soon this might happen? Also what prices would we be looking at? I know for sure i could get at least 10 new customers to sign. I know that isnt much, but if 10 current exetel users could get 10 new customers thats 100 new customers. Please let us know asap on any info you might have/know. Thanks

James
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1992
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 10:27 pm

Re: ADSL2+ on telstra Exchange

Post by James » Sun Jun 27, 2010 6:11 pm

ryan07 wrote:Thats great news. Any word on how soon this might happen? Also what prices would we be looking at? I know for sure i could get at least 10 new customers to sign. I know that isnt much, but if 10 current exetel users could get 10 new customers thats 100 new customers. Please let us know asap on any info you might have/know. Thanks
No idea on when or the price, but as soon as there is info i'm sure it will be posted.

eecchhoo
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 9:48 pm

Re: ADSL2+ on telstra Exchange

Post by eecchhoo » Sun Jun 27, 2010 9:43 pm

That's great if it's under the radar for Telstra adsl2+ or adsl1 8M (rim users). As more and more are reselling this with more competitive prices.

and i also checked Telstra have been upgrading their rims that have the 8M speed limit on their reports link http://telstrawholesale.com/products/do ... e_list.xls

David R
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 1:39 am
Location: Sydney

Re: ADSL2+ on telstra Exchange

Post by David R » Mon Jun 28, 2010 2:41 pm

Just dont take too long (Telstra) - Optus Cable is available to my area and I have used it before. :|
*Vista Ultimate* Billion,7402GL &TP-Link,D-W8920G <Atten(dB)42 @1.9 km>; HTC Kaiser II, WM6; Pre-paid RP2000 (Optus)
200GB@3.1Mbps,$60pm Zone 1+ 2X H-Line Budget; WP Saver VoIP._ 220.233.165.22x; $3,450 revenue: 5 years club.

ryan07
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: QLD

Re: ADSL2+ on telstra Exchange

Post by ryan07 » Mon Jun 28, 2010 5:10 pm

do you think you could give us a ruff guesstimation when exetel will know if they will provide adsl2+ on telstra's exchange? thanks.

James
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1992
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 10:27 pm

Re: ADSL2+ on telstra Exchange

Post by James » Mon Jun 28, 2010 10:28 pm

ryan07 wrote:do you think you could give us a ruff guesstimation when exetel will know if they will provide adsl2+ on telstra's exchange? thanks.
Hi,

Nothing of any meaning.

James

Klaas
Posts: 609
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2004 1:48 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: ADSL2+ on telstra Exchange

Post by Klaas » Tue Jun 29, 2010 7:55 am

James wrote:Nothing of any meaning.
Something like "between now and some time in the future" ? :lol: :lol: :lol:

James
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1992
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 10:27 pm

Re: ADSL2+ on telstra Exchange

Post by James » Tue Jun 29, 2010 9:36 am

Klaas wrote:
James wrote:Nothing of any meaning.
Something like "between now and some time in the future" ? :lol: :lol: :lol:
Exactly:)

ryan07
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: QLD

Re: ADSL2+ on telstra Exchange

Post by ryan07 » Tue Jun 29, 2010 9:46 am

maybe this year?

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: ADSL2+ on telstra Exchange

Post by CoreyPlover » Tue Jun 29, 2010 10:02 am

My guess (and this is only a guess): Yes, Exetel will know within the near term future (a month or so?) about whether they will provide ADSL2+ on Telstra's exchanges and the answer will be "No, they won't provide it".

The question has been raised numerous times in the past and each occasion has not yielded anything that would enable or encourage Exetel to offer Telstra ADSL2+ services. I can't envisage that anything has changed. The port costs seem too high, the pricing seems too inflexible and there is no reason to think that Telstra won't throttle services like they do on some 8Mbps ADSL1 connections
I am a volunteer moderator and not an Exetel staff member. As with all forum posts, mine do not constitute any "official" Exetel position. Support tickets may be logged via https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au or residentialsupport@exetel.com.au

ryan07
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: QLD

Re: ADSL2+ on telstra Exchange

Post by ryan07 » Wed Jul 14, 2010 8:31 am

Hi, Are there any new updates yet? Anything would be great. Thanks

Locked