ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Help improve Exetel's services (a Suggestion Box is also available in your member facilities)
Locked
grasshopper
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 9:26 am
Location: Brisbane

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Post by grasshopper » Sun Aug 15, 2010 9:11 am

Ok so i have taken the plunge and put in a change request to move from my TL-C1 (1500\256) plan to the new TE-2D plan.
ADSL2 exchange tells me
You are 1282 m from REDL as the crow flies.
Estimated cable length of 1987.1 m.
Estimated speed of 14000

My Draytek Vigor 2700VG currently syncs at
UP speed 256000
Down speed 1536000
SNR margin 28
Loop Att 21

So i am hoping i can look forward to a fair speed boost and the extra peak quota will be very nice.

However i am hoping that someone can recommend me me some good ADSL2 line filters and where i can get them or if they are all about the same performacne wise,
As i primarly use voip for outgoing calls i would like to limit the amount of line noise much as possible. All advice is greatly received.

TIA

Regards
grasshopper

outbush
Posts: 327
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:49 am

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Post by outbush » Sun Aug 15, 2010 11:36 am

grasshopper wrote:Ok so i have taken the plunge and put in a change request to move from my TL-C1 (1500\256) plan to the new TE-2D plan.......

However i am hoping that someone can recommend me me some good ADSL2 line filters and where i can get them or if they are all about the same performance wise,....
Try these, ACS901E2+ they work well.
http://www.warcom.com.au/shop/flypage/adslaccess/2270

grasshopper
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 9:26 am
Location: Brisbane

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Post by grasshopper » Sun Aug 15, 2010 11:59 am

[quote="outbush
Try these, ACS901E2+ they work well.
http://www.warcom.com.au/shop/flypage/adslaccess/2270[/quote]
Will do
Thanks outbush.

piXelatedEmpire
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 4:55 pm
Location: Mooroolbark, Vic

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Post by piXelatedEmpire » Sun Aug 15, 2010 12:06 pm

The new plans look excellent, have submitted my plan change request, looking forward to ADSL2 speeds! :D
Surely worth the sacrifice of my 12 hour off peak time.

ronCYA
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 6:11 pm
Location: Newcastle, NSW

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Post by ronCYA » Sun Aug 15, 2010 1:31 pm

The new plans are fantastic. Will there be any shaped plans in the future or near future?

TijN
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 6:44 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Post by TijN » Sun Aug 15, 2010 3:21 pm

woot. applied for adsl2. i'll post how it go's when it happens on the 1st.

ForumAdmin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 3663
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Post by ForumAdmin » Sun Aug 15, 2010 4:01 pm

ronCYA wrote:The new plans are fantastic. Will there be any shaped plans in the future or near future?
There are no reasons for shaping with the allowances already in place.

ahas
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 12:14 am
Location: Wedderburn, Victoria

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Post by ahas » Sun Aug 15, 2010 4:48 pm

Just applied
My stats from adsl2exchanges.com.au are
Line of Sight: 453 m
Estimated Cable: 747 m
Estimated Attenuation: 11
Estimated Maximum Speed: 22666

Will be interesting to see what the final results are

ryan07
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: QLD

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Post by ryan07 » Sun Aug 15, 2010 4:55 pm

ahas wrote:Just applied
My stats from adsl2exchanges.com.au are
Line of Sight: 453 m
Estimated Cable: 747 m
Estimated Attenuation: 11
Estimated Maximum Speed: 22666

Will be interesting to see what the final results are
My stats from adsl2exchanges.com.au are
Line of Sight: 238 m
Estimated Cable: 393 m
Estimated Attenuation: 6
Estimated Maximum Speed: 24000

huh?
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 11:25 pm

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Post by huh? » Sun Aug 15, 2010 4:57 pm

ForumAdmin wrote:The ADSL services via Telstra's network will be available to order from the web site and the User Facilities before COB today.
The above was on Friday so I must be blind - I can only see the following when going into Change Service of my User Facilities

ADSL2 (No Telephone)
Plans Cost Of Plan Change Monthly Access Charge Included Downloads Apply
AAA $10.00 $30.00 10 gbytes
AAB $10.00 $40.00 30 gbytes
AAC $10.00 $50.00 60 gbytes
AAD $10.00 $70.00 90 gbytes
ADSL2 (No Telephone) With Free Wireless Broadband As Backup
Plans Cost Of Plan Change Monthly Access Charge Included Downloads Apply
AAAW $10.00 $30.00 10 gbytes
AABW $10.00 $40.00 30 gbytes
AACW $10.00 $50.00 60 gbytes
AADW $10.00 $70.00 90 gbytes
PLUS a Free Wireless Broadband service with the plans above.



I am interested in the TE-2D plan @ $65/m but cannot see these to apply. At 50Gb +120Gb it is way more than I need but is $10 less a month.
Currently on TELN so even going to TE-M for same speed would save $10 but I cannot see these either.
Can anyone advise where else I can look for these?


Thanks.
Where am I?

andrewvs
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 10:34 pm
Location: 1.5Mbit, Melb POP, Geelong, Vic

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Post by andrewvs » Sun Aug 15, 2010 5:01 pm

huh? wrote: Can anyone advise where else I can look for these?
Have a look under the ADSL1 section :wink::
8192kbps Down/384kbps Up
TE-M $10.00 $65.00 20 gbytes 120 gbytes
TE-N $10.00 $75.00 40 gbytes 120 gbytes
TE-O $10.00 $85.00 80 gbytes 120 gbytes
TE-P $10.00 $95.00 120 gbytes 120 gbytes
ADSL2
TE-2D $10.00 $65.00 50 gbytes 120 gbytes
TE-2E $10.00 $75.00 100 gbytes 120 gbytes

ronCYA
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 6:11 pm
Location: Newcastle, NSW

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Post by ronCYA » Sun Aug 15, 2010 5:30 pm

ForumAdmin wrote:
ronCYA wrote:The new plans are fantastic. Will there be any shaped plans in the future or near future?
There are no reasons for shaping with the allowances already in place.
Yes that's understandable. I was just wondering. Thank you.

CrackerJak1
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 12:43 am
Location: NSW

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Post by CrackerJak1 » Sun Aug 15, 2010 9:45 pm

I'm on an Exetel adsl1 plan but rent my phone line from telstra, when applying for an adsl 2 upgrade do I select;

ADSL2 (With Telephone)
"Naked" ADSL2
or
ADSL2 (No Telephone)

This feels like a noob question so I apologize in advance :oops: .

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Post by CoreyPlover » Sun Aug 15, 2010 9:47 pm

djevoultion wrote:I want to change my home phone to Telstra's HomeLine Budget (To save $10 since I'll be using voip)
When is the best time to change? Now? (I'm on ADSL1) or after I've been upgraded to ADSL2+?
Should not make any difference. Neither ADSL1 nor ADSL2+ on Telstra affect your eligibility for Homeline Budget
I am a volunteer moderator and not an Exetel staff member. As with all forum posts, mine do not constitute any "official" Exetel position. Support tickets may be logged via https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au or residentialsupport@exetel.com.au

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Post by CoreyPlover » Sun Aug 15, 2010 9:50 pm

CrackerJak1 wrote:I'm on an Exetel adsl1 plan but rent my phone line from telstra, when applying for an adsl 2 upgrade do I select;

ADSL2 (With Telephone)
"Naked" ADSL2
or
ADSL2 (No Telephone)

This feels like a noob question so I apologize in advance :oops: .
I'd say, "ADSL2 (No Telephone)". This will mean you keep your current phone line rental unchanged and you get a monthly bill from Exetel for internet and another from Telstra for phone.

If you go with the "ADSL2 (With Telephone), then you don't get billed by Telstra anymore, all internet + phone get billed through Exetel.

If you go with "Naked" ADSL2, you will lose your phone line altogether, menaing you will need to use VOIP for telephone calls.
I am a volunteer moderator and not an Exetel staff member. As with all forum posts, mine do not constitute any "official" Exetel position. Support tickets may be logged via https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au or residentialsupport@exetel.com.au

Locked