Page 24 of 27

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 1:19 pm
by jokiin
Tazz wrote: However, my real confusion is why I have a faster connection after getting the email that I couldn't, due to an incompatible speed technical issue.
I'm not sure, with some ISP's using Tesltra if you don't pass the test to qualify for ADSL2 they put you on an 8000/384 connection, not sure if this is standard procedure though, what's your upload like and what is your sync speed as reported by your modem?

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 1:20 pm
by jokiin
ottyacat wrote:
Remote desktop into servers is now like being on the console.
it's the upload that makes all the difference, makes life much easier for remote support

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 1:39 pm
by Tazz
jokiin wrote:
Tazz wrote: However, my real confusion is why I have a faster connection after getting the email that I couldn't, due to an incompatible speed technical issue.
I'm not sure, with some ISP's using Tesltra if you don't pass the test to qualify for ADSL2 they put you on an 8000/384 connection, not sure if this is standard procedure though, what's your upload like and what is your sync speed as reported by your modem?
I have these test results, as for sync speed, I don't know what sync speed is...

Image

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 2:05 pm
by Midnight Rider
I applied to change from TE-M to TE-2D on 17th August.

I received an email from Exetel yesterday (19th Aug) stating that the plan change will be actioned on 1st Sept, but that the speed change was already active. I checked in my user facilities, and it also says "ACTIVE" for the Changing Status as well, however my service speed is still 8192/384.

I have tried cycling my modem (several times) but it still remains stuck on 8192/384. Am I mis-reading the info in the "Change Service Status" window???

Will I just have to wait until 1st Sept for both speed and plan change, or is there possibly something more sinister afoot? (like my RIM isn't ADSL2-enabled, and Telstra hasn't yet figured that out) I've had excellent service and speed on 8192/384, so it certainly wouldn't be the end of the world if I couldn't get ADSL2, and had to stay on 8mb.

Any ideas???

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 2:33 pm
by jokiin
Tazz wrote: I have these test results

Image
your upload suggests your on ADSL2, sync as reported by your modem would confirm if that's the case, check your user manual if you're not sure where to look

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 2:58 pm
by Tazz
jokiin wrote:
Tazz wrote: I have these test results

Image
your upload suggests your on ADSL2, sync as reported by your modem would confirm if that's the case, check your user manual if you're not sure where to look
Looked through the manual and can't find even a mention of sync speed anywhere in it, have also logged into the modem and gone through every screen and can't find any mention of sync speed there either.
But it's an ADSL1 modem and In a previous post in this thread I was told that even if I get an ADSL2 connection it would cap me to 8m speeds, so maybe that's what has happened.

But, I don't know exactly what Telstra have done, I don't know if I have an ADSL1 8m connection, or an ADSL2 connection, and I don't know what plan will appear in my members area on Sept 1st
If it's an ADSL1 8m connection I could be put on an 8m plan I don't want to be on, and then have to apply for the 8m plan I want and have to wait another month...

Any chance of Exetel staff finding out what has happened?

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 3:29 pm
by dean_goddard
I just wanted to thank you, Exetel, for providing ADSL2+ plans, even if it is with Telstra, and promptly emailing me.

Thanks for listening.

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 3:32 pm
by Munka
The business that I manage is currently using an Exetel B05 garden variety ADSL1 plan, just wondering if there is anything on the drawing board that may give business connections access to ADSL2 plans on telstra regional exchanges?

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 3:38 pm
by ForumAdmin
Munka wrote:The business that I manage is currently using an Exetel B05 garden variety ADSL1 plan, just wondering if there is anything on the drawing board that may give business connections access to ADSL2 plans on telstra regional exchanges?
It's under consideration.

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 3:55 pm
by jokiin
Tazz wrote: Looked through the manual and can't find even a mention of sync speed anywhere in it
what's the make and model of your modem?

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 4:31 pm
by Tazz
jokiin wrote:
Tazz wrote: Looked through the manual and can't find even a mention of sync speed anywhere in it
what's the make and model of your modem?
4c6eaa8b.jpg
4c6eaa8b.jpg (41.64 KiB) Viewed 2007 times

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 4:35 pm
by Gidget
Your sync speeds are 7616 down and 992 up - max for an 8K service, or for an ADSL2 service using an ADSL1 modem.

Gidget

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 4:57 pm
by Tazz
Gidget wrote:Your sync speeds are 7616 down and 992 up - max for an 8K service, or for an ADSL2 service using an ADSL1 modem.

Gidget
So, now I'll wait until Sept 1st to see what plan I'm on, and then maybe I'll know what's happened...

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 5:06 pm
by ottyacat
Tazz wrote:So, now I'll wait until Sept 1st to see what plan I'm on, and then maybe I'll know what's happened...
You connection has been updated to a adsl2 profile. You are sinking higher than 384Kbs for the upload part so you are on ADSL2. As telstra cap all adsl1 8mbit connections to 384.

You modem is ADSL1 only though so if you were to update that you will probably see a higher download speed. Mine went from 7616 to 14000ish

Re: ADSL2+ on Telstra Exchanges

Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 5:14 pm
by Tazz
ottyacat wrote:
Tazz wrote:So, now I'll wait until Sept 1st to see what plan I'm on, and then maybe I'll know what's happened...
You connection has been updated to a adsl2 profile. You are sinking higher than 384Kbs for the upload part so you are on ADSL2. As telstra cap all adsl1 8mbit connections to 384.

You modem is ADSL1 only though so if you were to update that you will probably see a higher download speed. Mine went from 7616 to 14000ish
Looks like after I got the Exetel email saying it had failed, Telstra found a way to go ahead and do it anyway.... :D