Parental control on Exetel modem

Modem setup, reviews and questions (All brands, including wireless modems)
Post Reply
maggie
Posts: 155
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 5:17 pm
Location: sydney

Parental control on Exetel modem

Post by maggie » Mon Sep 18, 2017 7:45 pm

We've just got our NBN and so far very happy with it. I am still finding my way around the new modem that comes with the service. My previous adsl modem had a parental control area where I could block certain urls and also have times schedules for various household devices to be allowed to access the internet. I need this function to keep sanity in our home. Where can I find this on the new modem?

User avatar
KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 1787
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Parental control on Exetel modem

Post by KavindaS » Mon Sep 18, 2017 11:08 pm

maggie wrote:We've just got our NBN and so far very happy with it. I am still finding my way around the new modem that comes with the service. My previous adsl modem had a parental control area where I could block certain urls and also have times schedules for various household devices to be allowed to access the internet. I need this function to keep sanity in our home. Where can I find this on the new modem?
Could you PM me the relevant service number? so I will check with the modem manufacturer support and confirm to you.

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5990
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Parental control on Exetel modem

Post by Dazzled » Tue Sep 19, 2017 7:10 am

I don't know if this is provided for either, but it is a router function, so if it becomes necessary you could consider bridging the new modem to the previous router.

maggie
Posts: 155
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 5:17 pm
Location: sydney

Re: Parental control on Exetel modem

Post by maggie » Tue Sep 19, 2017 4:47 pm

PM sent Kavinda

User avatar
KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 1787
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Parental control on Exetel modem

Post by KavindaS » Tue Sep 19, 2017 8:26 pm

maggie wrote:PM sent Kavinda
PM received and i have checked with ZTE support to get the confirmation. The modem doesn't have the feature. There is filtering function available, but it may not suite to control internet access.

James
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1930
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 10:27 pm

Re: Parental control on Exetel modem

Post by James » Wed Sep 20, 2017 2:08 am

I do not believe this feature is available, you might want to consider using your old modem in bridge mode.

maggie
Posts: 155
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 5:17 pm
Location: sydney

Re: Parental control on Exetel modem

Post by maggie » Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:44 am

James wrote:I do not believe this feature is available, you might want to consider using your old modem in bridge mode.
How do I do this?

maggie
Posts: 155
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 5:17 pm
Location: sydney

Re: Parental control on Exetel modem

Post by maggie » Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:28 am

Would it not be easier to buy a modem with this capacity? What do I need to look for in a modem with the NBN connection? And voip as well.

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5990
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Parental control on Exetel modem

Post by Dazzled » Wed Sep 20, 2017 7:29 pm

You might have to look hard for a new device that has all the same features and VoIP.

Bridging on the other hand isn't difficult. It involves leaving the modem function of the new one intact (that is, the line analogue to digital internet conversion) and turning off all other functions. When you do this the device will no longer be accessible from your network. You feed its output as the input of the existing router which has all your desired features. Reconfigure this unit with the modem function disabled, but all the goodies unchanged.

There is a general article at http://whirlpool.net.au/wiki/adsl_modem ... ridge_mode. The config pages for each device will be explained in their manuals.

AroshJ
Exetel Staff
Posts: 375
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 4:12 pm
Location: Sri Lanka

Re: Parental control on Exetel modem

Post by AroshJ » Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:58 pm

maggie wrote:
James wrote:I do not believe this feature is available, you might want to consider using your old modem in bridge mode.
How do I do this?
Please refer below in order to get an idea about configuring the ZTE modem in bridge mode. However the device is ideally used for PPPoE Routing mode and feel free to contact us if
there are any further issues.

http://exewiki.exetel.com.au/index.php? ... ridge_Mode

maggie
Posts: 155
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 5:17 pm
Location: sydney

Re: Parental control on Exetel modem

Post by maggie » Thu Sep 21, 2017 7:57 pm

Dazzled wrote:You might have to look hard for a new device that has all the same features and VoIP.
One of my previous modems was a voip modem. This one I think http://au.billion.com/bipac-7800vdpx Would this do or are there special requirements for NBN? Otherwise I will try the bridge system. Is this where you use 2 modems together? Or 2 routers?

User avatar
KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 1787
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Parental control on Exetel modem

Post by KavindaS » Thu Sep 21, 2017 11:21 pm

maggie wrote:
Dazzled wrote:You might have to look hard for a new device that has all the same features and VoIP.
One of my previous modems was a voip modem. This one I think http://au.billion.com/bipac-7800vdpx Would this do or are there special requirements for NBN? Otherwise I will try the bridge system. Is this where you use 2 modems together? Or 2 routers?
Considering the Fibre service you have, Connect the two routers using a wired connection from ZTE any of port 1-4 in router to the WAN port of Billion. No special requirement from NBN.

Post Reply