ZTE ZXHN H268A port forwarding

Modem setup, reviews and questions (All brands, including wireless modems)

ZTE ZXHN H268A port forwarding

Postby nrenfrey on Wed Oct 18, 2017 5:22 pm

Hi
Has anyone had any luck port forwarding a ZTE ZXHN H268A Router connected via HFC to the NBN
I've tried all the obvious but external port scans show no ports open.
Setting up a DMZ to an internal system still showed no open ports.
The only firewall settings are "ping" and "anti-hacking", turning these on or off makes no difference.
I added a 'allow' 'ip filter' for the port, no luck; I added one for the remote lan, no luck
I know the systems are configured OK because I'm still connected via ADSL to the same site and all is working fine over the old link.
Are these routers crippled as supplied by Exetel?
nrenfrey
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2017 4:49 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: ZTE ZXHN H268A port forwarding

Postby KavindaS on Wed Oct 18, 2017 6:08 pm

Hi
Has anyone had any luck port forwarding a ZTE ZXHN H268A Router connected via HFC to the NBN
I've tried all the obvious but external port scans show no ports open.
Setting up a DMZ to an internal system still showed no open ports.
The only firewall settings are "ping" and "anti-hacking", turning these on or off makes no difference.
I added a 'allow' 'ip filter' for the port, no luck; I added one for the remote lan, no luck
I know the systems are configured OK because I'm still connected via ADSL to the same site and all is working fine over the old link.
Are these routers crippled as supplied by Exetel?
Could you please make sure the below has been completed accordingly?

On the main page of the ZXHN H268A, select Internet>Security>Port Forwarding to open the Port Forwarding page.

Configure the port forwarding parameters.
port forward.jpg
port forward.jpg (43.96 KiB) Viewed 1280 times
Click Apply button to apply the changes
User avatar
KavindaS
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 1723
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: ZTE ZXHN H268A port forwarding

Postby nrenfrey on Wed Oct 18, 2017 7:53 pm

Hi
Yes did all that - no joy. also I would have thought that when I tested enabling a DMZ host as a last resort, it would forward all packet to that host - it doesn't.
nrenfrey
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2017 4:49 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: ZTE ZXHN H268A port forwarding

Postby nrenfrey on Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:07 pm

This is the setup I tried

http://203.24.209.10/fwd.jpg
nrenfrey
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2017 4:49 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: ZTE ZXHN H268A port forwarding

Postby nrenfrey on Wed Oct 18, 2017 9:28 pm

All fixed - my stupid, bad gateway on the RDP server
nrenfrey
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2017 4:49 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: ZTE ZXHN H268A port forwarding

Postby KavindaS on Wed Oct 18, 2017 10:52 pm

All fixed - my stupid, bad gateway on the RDP server
Glad to hear that and do let us know if further assistance requires. :)
User avatar
KavindaS
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 1723
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: ZTE ZXHN H268A port forwarding

Postby dressupplace on Wed Dec 27, 2017 6:45 pm

Just installed our ZTE H268A, and NAT is not working. I can't ping the router or get any response from NAT. The config is exactly the same as we had on our Billion 7800 VDPX, as the ZTE is still connected to ADSL2+ until our NBN service is activated (supposed to be tomorrow). This feature is vital for us, as it is used for our off-site backup

This is the current setup
Attachments
Nat.jpg
NAT config
Nat.jpg (13.49 KiB) Viewed 819 times
dressupplace
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 5:45 pm
Location: Vic

Re: ZTE ZXHN H268A port forwarding

Postby NIrmitha on Thu Dec 28, 2017 10:29 pm

Since you cannot receive any response from NAT, can you please check whether NAT is enabled in your ZTE router.

Please refer the attached screenshot in order to enable / disable NAT.

--> Log into the router using "Admin account"
--> Go to : "WAN settings" - "Ethernet" - "Create New Item"
--> Select IP version as : IPv4/6
--> Turn "ON" NAT
Attachments
NAT config.png
NAT config.png (18.75 KiB) Viewed 795 times
NIrmitha
Exetel Staff
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 1:05 pm

Re: ZTE ZXHN H268A port forwarding

Postby dressupplace on Sat Dec 30, 2017 12:50 pm

The issue has been resolved. I turned off ALG and NAT started working straight away. I'm not sure if it was a particular ALG setting that was causing the problem, but turning all off solved it.
dressupplace
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 5:45 pm
Location: Vic

Re: ZTE ZXHN H268A port forwarding

Postby rehanj on Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:21 pm

The issue has been resolved. I turned off ALG and NAT started working straight away. I'm not sure if it was a particular ALG setting that was causing the problem, but turning all off solved it.
Hi,

Happy to hear that turning off ALG resolved the issue you were experiencing. Thank you for the information and feedback provided, and our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. Please feel free to let us know if any further issues persist.
rehanj
Exetel Staff
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 10:26 am
Location: Colombo


Return to “%s” Modem issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron