Monitoring ZTE H268A status using DSLStats program

Modem setup, reviews and questions (All brands, including wireless modems)
Post Reply
Misha v.3
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: Brisbane, QLD, AU

Monitoring ZTE H268A status using DSLStats program

Post by Misha v.3 » Sat Jun 08, 2019 9:35 am

While troubleshooting connection issues open-source program DSLStats can ce very handy.
The program simply connect to the modem using telnet, issue cli command, and use results to draw graphs.
The ZTE H268A modem/router supplied by Exetel is not on the list of supported models of the programs, however it is supported.

You need try to connect to the modem using telnet (use your IP address).

Code: Select all

telnet 192.168.0.1
Login: root
Password: root
Then you will be able to run xdslctl info --show cli command there:
telnet.png
telnet.png (21.08 KiB) Viewed 550 times
The command shows you the modem's DSL stats, something you usually can see in modem UI:
ZTE.DLSStats.png
ZTE.DLSStats.png (73.52 KiB) Viewed 550 times
Notice, the use/password was used is root/root, not admin/admin or user/user as they specified in User Management:
The attachment ZTE.UserManagement.png is no longer available
...to be continue...
Attachments
ZTE.UserManagement.png
ZTE.UserManagement.png (48.8 KiB) Viewed 550 times

Misha v.3
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: Brisbane, QLD, AU

Re: Monitoring ZTE H268A status using DSLStats program

Post by Misha v.3 » Sat Jun 08, 2019 9:45 am

Then you need to download DSLStats program and unpack the archive.
Run the program and on Configuration | Login page enter your connection information: modem IP address, telnet user/password (root/root) and xdslctl as cli program.
DSLStats.Configuration.png
DSLStats.Configuration.png (33.27 KiB) Viewed 544 times
Hit Run button and thats it, you can see graphs after a while:
DSLStats.ConnectionSpeed.png
DSLStats.ConnectionSpeed.png (31.31 KiB) Viewed 544 times
I've also created video with steps required:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uniUjgYsTBs

Some people mentioned that they cannot establish telnet connection to the modem.
Unfortunately, I do not now why.

It is possible that:
- Wired connection required for telnet connection (no WiFi)
- It works in bridge mode only (I'm using ZTE in bridge mode)
- The telnet connection was disabled in some FW (I have V1.0.1_ETL.1T2 from the beginning and have not upgraded to the latest T7)

Misha v.3
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: Brisbane, QLD, AU

Re: Monitoring ZTE H268A status using DSLStats program

Post by Misha v.3 » Sat Jun 08, 2019 9:49 am

Finally, when you have line issues, connection speed graph will be looking something like this:
Speed-2018-08-04-12.00.26.png
Speed-2018-08-04-12.00.26.png (36.2 KiB) Viewed 543 times
And when no line issues, like this:
Speed-2018-08-03-06.00.26.png
Speed-2018-08-03-06.00.26.png (22.28 KiB) Viewed 543 times

Grantly
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 19, 2019 8:50 pm

Re: Monitoring ZTE H268A status using DSLStats program

Post by Grantly » Mon Jun 10, 2019 10:51 am

Great work. Liked the video you made as well!!

shauno100
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 2:38 pm

Re: Monitoring ZTE H268A status using DSLStats program

Post by shauno100 » Wed Jun 12, 2019 7:11 pm

Hi,

What telnet port are you using (default)? I tried to telnet my H268A and i get a connection refused message. I am using the latest ETL.1T7 firmware so assuming telnet has now been blocked in later firmware releases. I noticed you are using 1T2 firmware.

User avatar
KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2423
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Monitoring ZTE H268A status using DSLStats program

Post by KavindaS » Wed Jun 12, 2019 7:24 pm

shauno100 wrote:
Wed Jun 12, 2019 7:11 pm
Hi,

What telnet port are you using (default)? I tried to telnet my H268A and i get a connection refused message. I am using the latest ETL.1T7 firmware so assuming telnet has now been blocked in later firmware releases. I noticed you are using 1T2 firmware.
General response we have received from the modem support : Telnet feature is not open to end users. Instead, we suggest customers to make use of web UI to manage and configure the modem.

Misha v.3
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: Brisbane, QLD, AU

Re: Monitoring ZTE H268A status using DSLStats program

Post by Misha v.3 » Thu Jun 20, 2019 8:25 pm

I'm using default telnet port (23) as per screen shot/video.

Could you advice, if your connection wired or wireless? I'd expect that telnet is allowed from wired LAN connection only.

Have you checked that telnet port is not blocked by your local firewall.

Do you use your modem as modem+router or in bridged mode. If the later one, can you connect to the its web UI?

Yes, I'm using old T2 firmware.
It is possible that in newer firmware telnet was disabled. However, GlennW in Whirlpool forum said that they not aware of such change.

Misha v.3
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: Brisbane, QLD, AU

Re: Monitoring ZTE H268A status using DSLStats program

Post by Misha v.3 » Wed Aug 21, 2019 7:53 pm

It was confirmed by Exetel (in whirpool forum) that the telnet was disabled after T2 firmware.

User avatar
KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2423
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Monitoring ZTE H268A status using DSLStats program

Post by KavindaS » Wed Aug 21, 2019 8:02 pm

Misha v.3 wrote:
Wed Aug 21, 2019 7:53 pm
It was confirmed by Exetel (in whirpool forum) that the telnet was disabled after T2 firmware.
This has been confirmed by the modem vendor support as well.

Post Reply