NB5 - unresponsive after 29 hrs of connection

Modem setup, reviews and questions (All brands, including wireless modems)
mykol
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 10:37 am

NB5 - unresponsive after 29 hrs of connection

Post by mykol » Sun Jan 28, 2007 12:32 am

I don't know if this is a modem problem or problem with Exetel ADSL service...

Problem: If I leave the modem on all day/night while connected (Edited: approximately 29 hrs of connectivity), the connection becomes unresponsive (cannot load anything - browsing, downloading, the lot) even though the modem indicates connection is active (ADSL light on, PPP light on).

At the momment the fix seemed to be turning modem off and on again.. Does anyone have similar problem?
Last edited by mykol on Fri Feb 23, 2007 5:55 pm, edited 3 times in total.

CLoSeR
Posts: 858
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 1:49 pm
Location: West Ryde, NSW
Contact:

Post by CLoSeR » Sun Jan 28, 2007 2:22 pm

What firmware is your modem running? Sounds like the modem is the problem.
Need to log a fault ticket? Go here: https://helpdesk.exetel.com.au/

mykol
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 10:37 am

Post by mykol » Sun Jan 28, 2007 7:49 pm

Software Version: 2.A09NCT3.8324A
Is that the firmware version?

Here are the other information from the modem page:
Product Information
CPU INFO TNETD7200
MEMORY SIZE 0x00800000
FLASH SIZE 0x00400000
Model Number AR7RD
HW Revision V1.0

Software Versions
Gateway 2.A09NCT3.8324A
ATM Driver 6.00.01.00
DSL HAL 6.00.01.00
DSL Datapump 6.00.04.00 Annex A
SAR HAL 01.07.2b
PDSP Firmware 0.54
Boot Loader 1.4.0.4


Apart from this, I'm yet to see my download speed exceed 30KB/s... and the speed mostly fluctuates between 0KB/s and 3KB/s. I've just got connected on 1500/256 plan.
Last edited by mykol on Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

mykol
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 10:37 am

Post by mykol » Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:21 am

Problem: Internet connection dies (despite all lights are green) after exactly 29 hrs everytime.

Anyone have similar issues?[/b]

ua_a2z
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:25 pm

Yea Same Problem =|

Post by ua_a2z » Tue Feb 06, 2007 4:09 pm

Yewa actually i got the same problem it dies for no reason im not sure wat firmwarte version im using

eecchhoo
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 9:48 pm

Post by eecchhoo » Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:15 am

Hi ...
I have exactly the same problem ....
The modem web configuration page still accessable ... but the Internet connection not usable. It happens to me when i leave it connected overnight and when i am back from work the internet doesn't work even the ppp light indicator is still showing connected.

I tried to telnet to the modem as well to configure the ip filter as suggested on adsl 1 forum but it will just drop the telnet session after running 1 command line
BusyBox on localhost login: root
Password:
DSL Modem CLI
Copyright (c) 2004 Texas Instruments, Inc.
cli> cd proc
^
% Invalid input at caret.

cli>

Connection to host lost.

This is a new modem that i just received from Exetel when i joined about a week ago.

Not sure if it's related to the Telstra firmware issue or needs to be escalate to the netcomm support.

Any advise will be appriciated ...

ua_a2z
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:25 pm

Email From Exeetel

Post by ua_a2z » Fri Feb 09, 2007 1:45 pm

Well regarding this problem Exetel sent me a very infomative email. Unfortunately i deleted it =(.... however i have noticed that if u change the modulation type of the ADSL modem to ADSL_dmt then the times u dropout are significantly reduced... try this ONLY if u are with an ADSL1 cnnection.

mykol
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 10:37 am

Post by mykol » Sun Feb 11, 2007 12:59 am

I've notified NetComm tech, and they said they've seen similar problems, and wanted me to email them a list of connection/disconenction times as recorded by Exetel. I emailed exetel for it, and they have not gave me the detail i requested.. instead they gave me that posting regarding some DSLAM problems in certain areas..
cli> cd proc
^
% Invalid input at caret.
you gotta execute "shell"
then u do that

I've changed it according that post u saw in the forum.. and it didnt make any significant improvement.

I'm curious whether the downtime for you two are the same as mine - exactly 29 hrs. Next time when your internet dies while you are using the net, log into modem's config page and check the connection time.

Alcor1
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 11:16 am

Confirm NB5 problem

Post by Alcor1 » Mon Feb 12, 2007 1:07 pm

Hi,

I recently connected to Exetel ADSL2+ with an NB5 modem from Exetel. I have exactly the same problem as mykol, loss of connectivity after 29h of continuous operation.

My NB5 status page reports identical software to that of mykol.

Advice on this problem would be appreciated.

Regards.

Aaron Baron
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 6:04 pm
Location: Lane Cove

Post by Aaron Baron » Fri Feb 16, 2007 6:08 pm

I am having exactly the same issue.

I've noticed that if you go to "EasyConfig" and press apply for your settings, it restarts the PPP connection. After a couple of minutes transfer starts working again. However, I've also noticed that your port forwarding settings disappears....

avsrini
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 9:08 pm

Same issue for me also

Post by avsrini » Tue Feb 20, 2007 8:01 am

Hi,

I've also moved to ADSL2 last week and using NB5 modem and having
same issue. Do we have any solution for this issue? Should we open a
ticket with Exetel or Netcomm?

Pls reply
Sri.

nocor
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:25 pm
Location: Geelong

Same issue here

Post by nocor » Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:35 pm

I am having the same issue here. I have logged a call with both exetel and netcomm and am yet to here back any response since monday night :evil:
Same modem (NB5) and same firmware as above. after ~29hours power, adsl, ppp and eth lights are on but cannot access internet, sometimes i cannot access the router interface or runs extremely slow
conor

Sokar
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 7:18 am

Post by Sokar » Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:42 pm

Will it come as any surprise to anyone if I say I have the same thing? The only difference for me seems to be that it drops out at around 28h 53m, give or take a minute or two.

Is there any particular reason that the admin of these forums that has replied to my other posts about this issue have NOT directed me to this part of the boards, let alone this thread?

I think this is the same thing mykol posted:

Product Information
CPU INFO TNETD7200
MEMORY SIZE 0x00800000
FLASH SIZE 0x00400000
Model Number AR7RD
HW Revision V1.0
Ethernet MAC 00:60:64:14:1B:3E
DSL MAC 00:60:64:14:1B:3F
Software Versions
Gateway 2.A09NCT3.8324A
ATM Driver 6.00.01.00
DSL HAL 6.00.01.00
DSL Datapump 6.00.04.00 Annex A
SAR HAL 01.07.2b
PDSP Firmware 0.54
Boot Loader 1.4.0.4

mykol
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 10:37 am

Post by mykol » Fri Feb 23, 2007 5:48 pm

Sokar wrote:...it drops out at around 28h 53m...
Yeah, roughly around that time as well.
I've also contacted NetComm about this issue, they said they wanted a list of connection/disconnection time from exetel, so they can find out more about the problem. I asked extel support for that information, and they've never get back to me with that list - I mean, this shouldn't be a big hassle to get that information is it?

One time they replied me with link to one of the post on the forum about telstra fixing their DSLAMs... BUT ALL I WANT IS THE FRIGGIN LIST!

Isn't it funny that no forum admin seemed to pay any attention to this post? except for closer at the start...

I think we all should open a ticket with link to this post, and make sure they do something about this..

Aaron Baron
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 6:04 pm
Location: Lane Cove

Opened a ticket with Exetel

Post by Aaron Baron » Sat Feb 24, 2007 7:35 pm

I've opened a ticket with Exetel regarding my problem. It'll be good if you could all do that too to hopefully escalate the problem.

I'm not sure if this is a contributing factors to the issue, but I have port forwarding setup. Do you guys have that as well? That is the only change I've made to my default setting.

Also, how are your maximum down stream speed? My modem states that I'm connected at 812/19448, but I am only receiving max speed of 8Mbps when I perform a speedtest at ozspeedtest.

Post Reply