NB5 - unresponsive after 29 hrs of connection

Modem setup, reviews and questions (All brands, including wireless modems)
mykol
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 10:37 am

Re: Firmware upgrade

Post by mykol » Fri Mar 09, 2007 10:29 am

Alcor1 wrote:I contacted Netcomm support a few days ago via e-mail, but have not heard back from them.
Should call them. Their technical staff are quite helpful over the phone. If they put u in a queue and asked if u want to leave a msg and have them call u back - dont do it - they sometimes doesnt call back.

So make sure u have a packet of chips and some drinks ready :P Best to watch a TV series (~42mins) while u are waiting.

Aaron Baron
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 6:04 pm
Location: Lane Cove

Firmware available

Post by Aaron Baron » Fri Mar 09, 2007 7:03 pm

Hey all, I've been emailed the new firmware from NetComm. I haven't got around to installing it yet, but here it is if you guys want it quick. I've placed it on my Exetel website:

http://home.exetel.com.au/katjahouse/NB ... rmware.zip

Good luck!

mykol
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 10:37 am

Post by mykol » Sat Mar 10, 2007 11:00 pm

Hey ppls!
The new fireware works like a charm! You all should install it as soon as possible! I've been online for 34 hrs and counting!

As for the issue where when u reboot and port forwarding setting gets resets, that is just because you didn't save the settings - Tools > System commands > save setting

Enjoy~

Alcor1
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 11:16 am

Post by Alcor1 » Thu Mar 15, 2007 12:15 pm

Just confirming that I have installed the new firmware and have now been continuously connected for longer than 29hrs.

kitcho
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2006 1:20 pm
Location: Goulburn

Re: Firmware available

Post by kitcho » Fri Mar 16, 2007 11:14 am

Aaron Baron wrote:Hey all, I've been emailed the new firmware from NetComm. I haven't got around to installing it yet, but here it is if you guys want it quick. I've placed it on my Exetel website:

http://home.exetel.com.au/katjahouse/NB ... rmware.zip

Good luck!
Aaron,

thanks for the link, my new nb5 is doing the same thing.
but before I install the firmware can you tell me what model number, firmware number, and what hardware version is your modem is so that I can make sure that this upgrade is for my nb5. (unfortunately I cant tell you mine details as I am replying to this forum from the computer at work).

Thanks!

trev
Posts: 171
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 12:38 pm
Location: The LAN Downunder

Re: Firmware available

Post by trev » Sat Mar 17, 2007 9:50 pm

but before I install the firmware can you tell me what model number, firmware number, and what hardware version is your modem is so that I can make sure that this upgrade is for my nb5. (unfortunately I cant tell you mine details as I am replying to this forum from the computer at work).
There's a README in the zip file which details this for you to check :)

ShadowXero
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 4:28 pm

Post by ShadowXero » Tue Mar 20, 2007 9:21 pm

54 hours and 22 minutes uptime and the NB5 is still going strong!

@Aaron Baron: Thanks for uploading it, it worked great.

User avatar
JamesR1
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 4:02 am

Post by JamesR1 » Sat Mar 24, 2007 3:00 am

Thanks for sharing the firmware upgrade mate.

Can you tell me if it fixes the unstable ADSL2+ modulation issues?

I had to use ADSL1 (g.dmt) modulation because it had issues connecting or maintaining a connection. A huge waste since I am 2.4km from the exchange and on an ADSL2+ plan.

Any info appreciated.

User avatar
VoIP Admin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Same issue for me also

Post by VoIP Admin » Thu Apr 05, 2007 9:08 am

avsrini wrote:Hi,

I've also moved to ADSL2 last week and using NB5 modem and having
same issue. Do we have any solution for this issue? Should we open a
ticket with Exetel or Netcomm?

Pls reply
Sri.
Hi Guys

The new firmware seems to have resolve the problem for some of you (Referring to PG 3) however some are still having the problem.

Anyone who is still having the problems please PM me the following details below.

- Name and best contact number
- Current Firmware Installed
- Serial Number of the unit

This problem will be referred to Netcomm and will be addressed. Updates will be posted here.

fiat_lux_777
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 1:08 pm

Post by fiat_lux_777 » Sun Apr 15, 2007 9:28 am

Hi,

I've just updated modem firmware as connection seemed to freeze if constant internet activity was not maintained. Just have a few questions regarding configuration of modem:

The modem (NB5 ADSL2+) has been configured as outlined elsewhere in these forums, yet if I go to the EasyConfig link there is a red light next to connection status (even though I am connected), and if I go to the modem test link under the Tools submenu and submit the test, the modem fails every time, although actual modem status shows -

Modem Status

Connection Status Connected
Us Rate (Kbps) 812
Ds Rate (Kbps) 15215
US Margin 14
DS Margin 8
Trained Modulation ADSL_2plus
LOS Errors 0
DS Line Attenuation 27
US Line Attenuation 11
Peak Cell Rate 1915 cells per sec
CRC Rx Fast 0
CRC Tx Fast 0
CRC Rx Interleaved 9
CRC Tx Interleaved 0
Path Mode Interleaved
DSL Statistics

Near End F4 Loop Back Count 0
Near End F5 Loop Back Count 0

Any ideas?

Todd

User avatar
Gidget
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 1811
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:33 am
Location: Sydney

Post by Gidget » Sun Apr 15, 2007 9:47 am

Hi Todd

Regarding the connection status red light, I also get that and this has occurred on the 2 different NB5 units I have used, with and without the latest firmware. I think it is a bug rather than a feature :D and was surprised that others hadn't mentioned it. As you say, the modem works fine so I just ignore it.

Re the Diagnostic Test, this Knowledgebase article from Netcomm might answer your query - see
http://kb.netcomm.com.au/kb/default.asp?id=1025&Lang=1
Diagnostic Tests F4 & F5

The F5 test checks the connection to your local DSLAM.
When the ADSL link light is ON, the F5 test will show 'Success'.

The F4 test is currently not supported by many DSLAMs, and most of the time, will result with 'Failure'.
If an F4 test fails, but you can still access the internet, there is no need to worry, as it is most likely that your local DSLAM does not support F4 testing.
Cheers

Gidget
Last edited by Gidget on Sun Apr 15, 2007 10:28 am, edited 2 times in total.
Log a fault ticket here
or call Exetel VOIP numbers (02) 8030 1000 or 1300 788 141 (log faults 24x7)
Exetel Support Portal

fiat_lux_777
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 1:08 pm

Post by fiat_lux_777 » Sun Apr 15, 2007 10:17 am

Hi Gidget

Thanks for your reply - looks like the firmware upgrade has stopped the drop outs - fingers crossed. Speed issues also seem to be improving....

Thanks again
Todd

Dittohead
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 9:17 pm

Post by Dittohead » Mon Apr 16, 2007 2:03 pm

The link that Aaron Baron provided is no longer working. Can anyone hook a brother up? :)

fiat_lux_777
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 1:08 pm

Post by fiat_lux_777 » Mon Apr 16, 2007 2:09 pm

Looks like I spoke too soon - back to internet lockups again as per my other post...sigh...

Todd

User avatar
VoIP Admin
Exetel Staff
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:10 pm
Contact:

Post by VoIP Admin » Mon Apr 16, 2007 3:50 pm

Hi Guys

Netcomm are still looking into the problem, so you have not been forgotten.

I will provide an update as soon as one becomes available.

Post Reply