RTA1046VW - VOIP not working

Modem setup, reviews and questions (All brands, including wireless modems)
Post Reply
keithy47
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2008 2:59 pm
Location: Sydney

RTA1046VW - VOIP not working

Post by keithy47 » Sat Nov 01, 2008 9:49 pm

I don't seem to be able to get a Voip connection with the RTA1046VW modem. In the basic settings window error message says (The registration is failed. You can not make VOIP phone calls through this port now.)
These are the settings im using:
Interface:pppoe_8_35_1
SIP Transport Protocol:UDP Port:5060
VoIP Service Provider: Others
SIP Registrar Address:58.96.1.2 Port:5060
SIP Outbound Proxy:58.96.1.2 Port:5060
SIP Proxy Server Address:58.96.1.2 Port:5060

Registration Information
phone number/Callername/user name: DID number from e-mail, Password: from e-mail
Any help would be appreciated.

jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: RTA1046VW - VOIP not working

Post by jokiin » Sun Nov 02, 2008 3:08 pm

keithy47 wrote:I don't seem to be able to get a Voip connection with the RTA1046VW modem. In the basic settings window error message says (The registration is failed. You can not make VOIP phone calls through this port now.)
These are the settings im using:
Interface:pppoe_8_35_1
SIP Transport Protocol:UDP Port:5060
VoIP Service Provider: Others
SIP Registrar Address:58.96.1.2 Port:5060
SIP Outbound Proxy:58.96.1.2 Port:5060
SIP Proxy Server Address:58.96.1.2 Port:5060

Registration Information
phone number/Callername/user name: DID number from e-mail, Password: from e-mail
Any help would be appreciated.

can you download this softphone and try it http://www.counterpath.com/x-lite.html if it still doesn't work then it's likely an account issue so opening a support ticket would be the way to go, if it does work however then it will most likely be a config problem in your router

This would be the first step in troubleshooting the issue

Jamez
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 1:37 am
Location: Sydney

Re: RTA1046VW - VOIP not working

Post by Jamez » Mon Nov 03, 2008 2:00 am

Experienced similar problem with connecting VOIP on the same router. Try these VOIP settings:

SIP Registrar Address: sip1.exetel.com.au Port: 5060
SIP Outbound Proxy: sip1.exetel.com.au Port: 5060
SIP Proxy Server Address: sip1.exetel.com.au Port: 5060

Check also that under advanced settings, NAT ALG SIP should be enabled for VOIP.

All the best

netmum
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 10:01 pm
Location: brisbane

Re: RTA1046VW - VOIP not working

Post by netmum » Tue Oct 20, 2009 9:40 pm

I understand this is an old post but if you have trouble connecting with either 58.96.1.2 or sip1.exetel.com.au.
Make sure the phone number entered is your VOIP number and also try cutting and pasting the password.
Despite entering the correct password I could only get my VOIP working after the cut & paste trick.
Hope this helps someone.

hohum
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 10:05 am
Location: Sydney

Re: RTA1046VW - VOIP not working

Post by hohum » Sat Jan 30, 2010 10:44 am

I had problems last night. Here's roughly what happened:

1) couldn't find email from exetel with VoIP password
2) called exetel, support rep insisted that the only password was the ADSL password (?)
3) after some mucking around, called exetel back and insisted that ADSL password != VoIP password - then got the VoIP activation email with the correct password (whew! - now we can begin!)
4) configured VoIP much as you have it (sip1.exetel.com.au 5060 etc.) but it didn't work :(
5) entered into a telnet* session to the router. Used voice show and voice set to configure, then saved, then rebooted
6) VoIP working!

I don't care to investigate it further, but I believe that what worked in the end was the reboot!....

* use telnet and "voice show" etc. at your own risk - if you don't know what telnet is then don't even try if you're not prepared to put in some work. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Telnet and once your in use "help" a lot - i.e. "help" and "voice help" etc. - help practically tells you what to do. Also Phone 1 config password is in plain text, so you can verify you have it right (which is nice).

Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: RTA1046VW - VOIP not working

Post by Dazzled » Sat Jan 30, 2010 6:06 pm

The VoIP password is actually shown, in clear, in the User Facility under VoIP. I thought I was the only one dumb enough (or old enough) to configure a router on telnet. As a general rule the proxy server lives at 58.96.1.2, to save time with name lookups.

Post Reply