ZTE local DNS

Modem setup, reviews and questions (All brands, including wireless modems)
Post Reply
peterox
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 9:18 am
Location: Brisbane

ZTE local DNS

Post by peterox » Thu May 09, 2019 8:29 pm

Hi there,

I am having trouble figuring out how to set a local DNS entry and make it resolvable from within my network.

I went to the ZTE Local Network -> DNS page and added a new entry
mediaserver.home = 192.168.0.111

BUT any device that connects to the WIFI gets the following DNS server entries:

58.96.3.34
220.233.0.4
192.168.0.1

With the router being the last entry no device seems to be able to resolve the entry I added.

> ping mediaserver.home
ping: cannot resolve mediaserver.home: Unknown host

> nslookup mediaserver.home
Server: 58.96.3.34
Address: 58.96.3.34#53

** server can't find mediaserver.home: NXDOMAIN

If I specify the router as the DNS host then thing work fine.

> nslookup mediaserver.home 192.168.0.1
Server: 192.168.0.1
Address: 192.168.0.1#53

Name: mediaserver.home
Address: 192.168.0.111
Name: mediaserver.home
Address: 192.168.0.111


If I change the DNS entries on my MAC to be JUST 192.168.0.1 then things work fine.

How do I get any device that connects via DHCP to ONLY get the router as a name server?

Am I doing something wrong or is this modem just useless?

Thanks in advance

kavindip
Exetel Staff
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2018 6:05 pm

Re: ZTE local DNS

Post by kavindip » Thu May 09, 2019 10:42 pm

peterox wrote:
Thu May 09, 2019 8:29 pm

I am having trouble figuring out how to set a local DNS entry and make it resolvable from within my network.

I went to the ZTE Local Network -> DNS page and added a new entry
mediaserver.home = 192.168.0.111

BUT any device that connects to the WIFI gets the following DNS server entries:

58.96.3.34
220.233.0.4
192.168.0.1

With the router being the last entry no device seems to be able to resolve the entry I added.

> ping mediaserver.home
ping: cannot resolve mediaserver.home: Unknown host

> nslookup mediaserver.home
Server: 58.96.3.34
Address: 58.96.3.34#53

** server can't find mediaserver.home: NXDOMAIN


How do I get any device that connects via DHCP to ONLY get the router as a name server?

With regard to the DNS Server entries, you may try to set up the DNS manually on the settings of the ZTE modem.

Since one of the DNS server entries are 192.168.0.1, let us know if you are currently using any other modem / router connected in bridge mode with this service.

Further to that, please elaborate your query about having the router as a name server.

peterox
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 9:18 am
Location: Brisbane

Re: ZTE local DNS

Post by peterox » Fri May 10, 2019 7:25 am

Thanks for your reply but it seems I didn't make myself clear.

I did add the entry on the modem.

The problem is that any entries I add will ONLY be resolved if the router is used as the primary DNS server.

The modem sets the DNS servers for any device that attaches to it as:

58.96.3.34
220.233.0.4
192.168.0.1

DNS resolution (as far as I know) works like this when trying to resolve "mediaserver.home" (the example I used in my original post):

Ask 58.96.3.34 to resolve "mediaserver.home
If a valid response is returned then stop. A valid response includes "I don't know this host"

220.233.0.4 is ONLY queried if 58.96.3.34 is not reachable and subsequently 192.168.0.1 is only queried if 220.233.0.4 is unreachable.

Therefore, any manual DNS entries I add to the modem will never be resolved.

In my opinion the router should be just returning itself as the only DNS, NOT the two set my exetel.

Is it possible to configure the modem to do this?

User avatar
KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2261
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: ZTE local DNS

Post by KavindaS » Fri May 10, 2019 1:56 pm

peterox wrote:
Fri May 10, 2019 7:25 am

Is it possible to configure the modem to do this?
We would like to check this further with our Modem support, as well as through the internal system. Therefore, can you PM me your service number and we will check according to the relevant service ?

peterox
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 9:18 am
Location: Brisbane

Re: ZTE local DNS

Post by peterox » Tue May 14, 2019 3:55 pm

I've PM'd my service number but haven't heard back from you. Is there anything else you need?

User avatar
KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2261
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: ZTE local DNS

Post by KavindaS » Tue May 14, 2019 9:06 pm

peterox wrote:
Tue May 14, 2019 3:55 pm
I've PM'd my service number but haven't heard back from you. Is there anything else you need?
Please allow us 24 hours further, as we have already escalated this with our Modem support and waiting on their response.

User avatar
KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2261
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: ZTE local DNS

Post by KavindaS » Thu May 16, 2019 7:05 pm

KavindaS wrote:
Tue May 14, 2019 9:06 pm
peterox wrote:
Tue May 14, 2019 3:55 pm
I've PM'd my service number but haven't heard back from you. Is there anything else you need?
Please allow us 24 hours further, as we have already escalated this with our Modem support and waiting on their response.
We have done few configuration according to your requirement. Therefore, have your modem power reboot and monitor the service. Ticket reference number is 15052717.

peterox
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 9:18 am
Location: Brisbane

Re: ZTE local DNS

Post by peterox » Wed May 22, 2019 6:51 pm

I rebooted the modem, and then renewed the DHCP lease from my laptop and the DNS servers are still listed as:

resolver #1
nameserver[0] : fe80::1%en1
nameserver[1] : 58.96.3.34
nameserver[2] : 220.233.0.4
nameserver[3] : 192.168.0.1

And I still get "mediaserver.home’s server IP address could not be found." when browsing via chrome.

User avatar
KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2261
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: ZTE local DNS

Post by KavindaS » Wed May 22, 2019 11:04 pm

peterox wrote:
Wed May 22, 2019 6:51 pm
I rebooted the modem, and then renewed the DHCP lease from my laptop and the DNS servers are still listed as:

resolver #1
nameserver[0] : fe80::1%en1
nameserver[1] : 58.96.3.34
nameserver[2] : 220.233.0.4
nameserver[3] : 192.168.0.1

And I still get "mediaserver.home’s server IP address could not be found." when browsing via chrome.
As the final step, we will be escalating this with the modem support to get their opinion or any settings suggestion. We will check and inform this to you via an email. Ticket reference number 15052717.

Post Reply