ZTE local DNS

Modem setup, reviews and questions (All brands, including wireless modems)
peterox
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 9:18 am
Location: Brisbane

ZTE local DNS

Post by peterox » Thu May 09, 2019 8:29 pm

Hi there,

I am having trouble figuring out how to set a local DNS entry and make it resolvable from within my network.

I went to the ZTE Local Network -> DNS page and added a new entry
mediaserver.home = 192.168.0.111

BUT any device that connects to the WIFI gets the following DNS server entries:

58.96.3.34
220.233.0.4
192.168.0.1

With the router being the last entry no device seems to be able to resolve the entry I added.

> ping mediaserver.home
ping: cannot resolve mediaserver.home: Unknown host

> nslookup mediaserver.home
Server: 58.96.3.34
Address: 58.96.3.34#53

** server can't find mediaserver.home: NXDOMAIN

If I specify the router as the DNS host then thing work fine.

> nslookup mediaserver.home 192.168.0.1
Server: 192.168.0.1
Address: 192.168.0.1#53

Name: mediaserver.home
Address: 192.168.0.111
Name: mediaserver.home
Address: 192.168.0.111


If I change the DNS entries on my MAC to be JUST 192.168.0.1 then things work fine.

How do I get any device that connects via DHCP to ONLY get the router as a name server?

Am I doing something wrong or is this modem just useless?

Thanks in advance

kavindip
Exetel Staff
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2018 6:05 pm

Re: ZTE local DNS

Post by kavindip » Thu May 09, 2019 10:42 pm

peterox wrote:
Thu May 09, 2019 8:29 pm

I am having trouble figuring out how to set a local DNS entry and make it resolvable from within my network.

I went to the ZTE Local Network -> DNS page and added a new entry
mediaserver.home = 192.168.0.111

BUT any device that connects to the WIFI gets the following DNS server entries:

58.96.3.34
220.233.0.4
192.168.0.1

With the router being the last entry no device seems to be able to resolve the entry I added.

> ping mediaserver.home
ping: cannot resolve mediaserver.home: Unknown host

> nslookup mediaserver.home
Server: 58.96.3.34
Address: 58.96.3.34#53

** server can't find mediaserver.home: NXDOMAIN


How do I get any device that connects via DHCP to ONLY get the router as a name server?

With regard to the DNS Server entries, you may try to set up the DNS manually on the settings of the ZTE modem.

Since one of the DNS server entries are 192.168.0.1, let us know if you are currently using any other modem / router connected in bridge mode with this service.

Further to that, please elaborate your query about having the router as a name server.

peterox
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 9:18 am
Location: Brisbane

Re: ZTE local DNS

Post by peterox » Fri May 10, 2019 7:25 am

Thanks for your reply but it seems I didn't make myself clear.

I did add the entry on the modem.

The problem is that any entries I add will ONLY be resolved if the router is used as the primary DNS server.

The modem sets the DNS servers for any device that attaches to it as:

58.96.3.34
220.233.0.4
192.168.0.1

DNS resolution (as far as I know) works like this when trying to resolve "mediaserver.home" (the example I used in my original post):

Ask 58.96.3.34 to resolve "mediaserver.home
If a valid response is returned then stop. A valid response includes "I don't know this host"

220.233.0.4 is ONLY queried if 58.96.3.34 is not reachable and subsequently 192.168.0.1 is only queried if 220.233.0.4 is unreachable.

Therefore, any manual DNS entries I add to the modem will never be resolved.

In my opinion the router should be just returning itself as the only DNS, NOT the two set my exetel.

Is it possible to configure the modem to do this?

KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2472
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: ZTE local DNS

Post by KavindaS » Fri May 10, 2019 1:56 pm

peterox wrote:
Fri May 10, 2019 7:25 am

Is it possible to configure the modem to do this?
We would like to check this further with our Modem support, as well as through the internal system. Therefore, can you PM me your service number and we will check according to the relevant service ?

peterox
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 9:18 am
Location: Brisbane

Re: ZTE local DNS

Post by peterox » Tue May 14, 2019 3:55 pm

I've PM'd my service number but haven't heard back from you. Is there anything else you need?

KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2472
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: ZTE local DNS

Post by KavindaS » Tue May 14, 2019 9:06 pm

peterox wrote:
Tue May 14, 2019 3:55 pm
I've PM'd my service number but haven't heard back from you. Is there anything else you need?
Please allow us 24 hours further, as we have already escalated this with our Modem support and waiting on their response.

KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2472
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: ZTE local DNS

Post by KavindaS » Thu May 16, 2019 7:05 pm

KavindaS wrote:
Tue May 14, 2019 9:06 pm
peterox wrote:
Tue May 14, 2019 3:55 pm
I've PM'd my service number but haven't heard back from you. Is there anything else you need?
Please allow us 24 hours further, as we have already escalated this with our Modem support and waiting on their response.
We have done few configuration according to your requirement. Therefore, have your modem power reboot and monitor the service. Ticket reference number is 15052717.

peterox
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 9:18 am
Location: Brisbane

Re: ZTE local DNS

Post by peterox » Wed May 22, 2019 6:51 pm

I rebooted the modem, and then renewed the DHCP lease from my laptop and the DNS servers are still listed as:

resolver #1
nameserver[0] : fe80::1%en1
nameserver[1] : 58.96.3.34
nameserver[2] : 220.233.0.4
nameserver[3] : 192.168.0.1

And I still get "mediaserver.home’s server IP address could not be found." when browsing via chrome.

KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2472
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: ZTE local DNS

Post by KavindaS » Wed May 22, 2019 11:04 pm

peterox wrote:
Wed May 22, 2019 6:51 pm
I rebooted the modem, and then renewed the DHCP lease from my laptop and the DNS servers are still listed as:

resolver #1
nameserver[0] : fe80::1%en1
nameserver[1] : 58.96.3.34
nameserver[2] : 220.233.0.4
nameserver[3] : 192.168.0.1

And I still get "mediaserver.home’s server IP address could not be found." when browsing via chrome.
As the final step, we will be escalating this with the modem support to get their opinion or any settings suggestion. We will check and inform this to you via an email. Ticket reference number 15052717.

davemal
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2019 2:34 pm

Re: ZTE local DNS

Post by davemal » Thu Jul 11, 2019 5:35 pm

What was the outcome with this ?

I want to stop the router from being listed as a DNS server in DHCP responses. Seems that there is no obvious way to do this despite removing it in the DNS config......

nilushid
Exetel Staff
Posts: 675
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 2:18 pm
Location: sydney

Re: ZTE local DNS

Post by nilushid » Thu Jul 11, 2019 10:34 pm

davemal wrote:
Thu Jul 11, 2019 5:35 pm
What was the outcome with this ?

I want to stop the router from being listed as a DNS server in DHCP responses. Seems that there is no obvious way to do this despite removing it in the DNS config......
We already replied to you via emails, the outcome, which we received from the modem manufacture. The two emails were sent on 24 Jun 2019 and 28 Jun 2019. Please check and reply back to that email if you have any concerns.

davemal
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2019 2:34 pm

Re: ZTE local DNS

Post by davemal » Fri Jul 12, 2019 8:52 am

Thanks Nilushid

However I was not the OP - not even an Exetel customer when this was opened so no chance I got any emails..

Do I need to open a case to get the answer ?

KavindaS
Forum Admin
Posts: 2472
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: ZTE local DNS

Post by KavindaS » Fri Jul 12, 2019 1:20 pm

davemal wrote:
Fri Jul 12, 2019 8:52 am
Thanks Nilushid

However I was not the OP - not even an Exetel customer when this was opened so no chance I got any emails..

Do I need to open a case to get the answer ?
Sorry about the response above, as we have not emailed you. However, we have received the feedback from the modem support, have advised that you may try turning off the ISP DNS and configure your DNS and check the services.

davemal
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2019 2:34 pm

Re: ZTE local DNS

Post by davemal » Fri Jul 12, 2019 2:38 pm

unfortunately that doesnt work for me - see config and wireshark capture of DHCP response.
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (3.55 KiB) Viewed 435 times
The attachment Capture.PNG is no longer available

davemal
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2019 2:34 pm

Re: ZTE local DNS

Post by davemal » Fri Jul 12, 2019 2:40 pm

capture disappeared for some reason....
router.PNG
router.PNG (11 KiB) Viewed 435 times

Post Reply