Some considerations for speed issues

Connection issues, drop outs or speed related faults for ADSL and ADSL2+ services
glennjh66
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 10:08 am

Some considerations for speed issues

Post by glennjh66 » Fri May 09, 2008 12:29 pm

Recently I made some changes to the setup for my ADSL.

Any Speedtest would average 2100 - 2500 downspeed on an 8000/385?? plan.

First thing I did was remove the filter/splitter and have the modem going directly into the phone wall socket.
Second thing I did was take the cordless phone out. (ready to be chucked). This was causing line noise.
I then put a POTS handset on the splitter and put it in the other room on the wall socket.

Ran the speedtest again 5900 - 6000 downspeed.

This may not work with those people with a single wall socket, but its made a difference here.

Cheers.

User avatar
CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: Some considerations for speed issues

Post by CoreyPlover » Fri May 09, 2008 2:52 pm

Thank you for your post. This is exactly why people are asked to perform a proper isolation test before lodging speed faults. Splitters and filters can easily be inadequate or fail over time and phones (especially cordless phones) can cause a lot of interference on the ADSL signal. An isolation test is an easy test to do which has the capacity to immediate identify this issue and should be the very first test conducted whenever anybody is experiencing slow speeds

ChaiseC
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 3:40 pm
Location: Gippsland, Victoria

Re: Some considerations for speed issues

Post by ChaiseC » Wed May 14, 2008 12:37 pm

I will definatly have to try this at some point as i am only getting 4000 - 5000mbit on speedtests.

Im only about 1km away from my exchange aswell.

Thanks for the information.

User avatar
Martin V
Exetel Staff
Posts: 464
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 12:38 pm
Location: Sydney where else :P

Re: Some considerations for speed issues

Post by Martin V » Thu Jul 24, 2008 10:24 am

ChaiseC wrote:I will definatly have to try this at some point as i am only getting 4000 - 5000mbit on speedtests.

Im only about 1km away from my exchange aswell.

Thanks for the information.
I get around that speed and im around 1.5km's away from the exchange :)
Martin
eXeTeL Support

jayday
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 9:10 pm

Re: Some considerations for speed issues

Post by jayday » Fri Dec 12, 2008 12:45 pm

Mod Delete
Last edited by jayday on Wed Feb 25, 2009 9:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: Some considerations for speed issues

Post by CoreyPlover » Fri Dec 12, 2008 11:16 pm

jayday wrote:I'm 7.2KM away from the excahange and I can still max out my connection :D
That doesn't sound right. 7.2km would usually imply that you can't even get ADSL1, let alone ADSL2+. How did you determine your distance of 7.2km?

1stimer
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 9:22 am
Location: spring farm nsw

Re: Some considerations for speed issues

Post by 1stimer » Sat Dec 05, 2009 9:49 pm

hello, im in new spring farm nsw subdivsion. internet is running really really slow. i should be on that 8000 speed but thats not happenening. my main concern is why is my speed line so low?

Test run on 05/12/2009 @ 09:46 PM

Mirror: Exetel
Data: 600 KB
Test Time: 17.24 secs

Your line speed is 283 kbps (0.28 Mbps).
Your download speed is 35 KB/s (0.03 MB/s).

James
Exetel Staff
Posts: 1989
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 10:27 pm

Re: Some considerations for speed issues

Post by James » Sat Dec 05, 2009 11:11 pm

What troubleshooting have you done?

1stimer
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 9:22 am
Location: spring farm nsw

Re: Some considerations for speed issues

Post by 1stimer » Sun Dec 06, 2009 1:33 pm

James wrote:What troubleshooting have you done?
i have disconected everything except home alarm, i believe thats not hooked up to the telephone because the guy who was installing it didnt ask for emeregency phone number or anything. do u have any other sugestions?

User avatar
Dazzled
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 6003
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:16 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Some considerations for speed issues

Post by Dazzled » Sun Dec 06, 2009 3:33 pm

Can you physically check that alarm's connection (or not), as if not correctly filtered, alarms can cause interference. Watch out for Foxtel IQ too.

1stimer
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 9:22 am
Location: spring farm nsw

Re: Some considerations for speed issues

Post by 1stimer » Mon Dec 07, 2009 6:59 pm

Dazzled wrote:Can you physically check that alarm's connection (or not), as if not correctly filtered, alarms can cause interference. Watch out for Foxtel IQ too.
im afraid i cant turn alarm off. christ.

JasonM

Re: Some considerations for speed issues

Post by JasonM » Tue Dec 08, 2009 12:21 am

Can you please access your modem, find the ADSL status page, and post the speeds reported?

1stimer
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 9:22 am
Location: spring farm nsw

Re: Some considerations for speed issues

Post by 1stimer » Tue Dec 08, 2009 9:39 pm

JasonM wrote:Can you please access your modem, find the ADSL status page, and post the speeds reported?
hello, thank u for trying to help me, hopefully this is the info u need:

This information reflects the current status of your DSL connection.

System Info
Model Name: DSL-2740B
Time and Date: 8.12.2009,21:36:10 Tue
Firmware Version: AUS_4.08

Internet Info
Internet Connection: PPPoE_8_35_2
Internet Connection Status: Unknown
Internet Connection Up Time : N/A
Default Gateway: 0.0.0.0
Preferred DNS Server: N/A
Alternate DNS Server: N/A
Downstream Line Rate (Kbps): 1088
Upstream Line Rate (Kbps): 384

VPI/VCI Service Name Protocol IGMP QoS Status IP Address
8/35 PPPoE_8_35_1 PPPoE Disable Disable Disable
8/35 PPPoE_8_35_2 PPPoE Disable Disable Enable 115.70.75.237



Wireless Info
MAC Address : 00:24:01:56:BB:A5
Status: Enabled
Network Name (SSID): xxxxxxx
Visibility: Visible
Security Mode: WPA2-Personal(AES)


Local Network Info
MAC Address : 00:24:01:56:bb:a4
IP Address: 192.168.1.1
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
DHCP Server: Enabled

JasonM

Re: Some considerations for speed issues

Post by JasonM » Wed Dec 09, 2009 4:14 pm

Your problem is here:
1stimer wrote:Downstream Line Rate (Kbps): 1088
Upstream Line Rate (Kbps): 384
Do you have any extension leads or the like that have the potential to degrade the speed of the line?

Please try the modem by itself, in isolation, with a different 1 - 2m cable at the first socket, and see if those speeds improve.
If available, testing an alternative modem would also be helpful.

Is your land line working OK?

1stimer
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 9:22 am
Location: spring farm nsw

Re: Some considerations for speed issues

Post by 1stimer » Fri Dec 11, 2009 6:31 pm

JasonM wrote:Your problem is here:
1stimer wrote:Downstream Line Rate (Kbps): 1088
Upstream Line Rate (Kbps): 384
Do you have any extension leads or the like that have the potential to degrade the speed of the line?

Please try the modem by itself, in isolation, with a different 1 - 2m cable at the first socket, and see if those speeds improve.
If available, testing an alternative modem would also be helpful.

Is your land line working OK?
hi ..well i have chceked foxtel myself...and fair enough i put adsl filter there....so now speed goes up to 1500 this is what i get
System Info
Model Name: DSL-2740B
Time and Date: 11.12.2009,18:28:46 Fri
Firmware Version: AUS_4.08

Internet Info
Internet Connection: PPPoE_8_35_2
Internet Connection Status: Unknown
Internet Connection Up Time : N/A
Default Gateway: 0.0.0.0
Preferred DNS Server: N/A
Alternate DNS Server: N/A
Downstream Line Rate (Kbps): 1696
Upstream Line Rate (Kbps): 384


telephone line is working ok. i think that must be that home alarm. i tried to put adsl filter between that box and phone socket but phone didnt work at all. dont understand why alarm is conected to phone line when it is not riniging any number when it goes off. is there any way to fix this? also not sure if my modem is set up corectly.

Post Reply