Unable to connect to sites

Connection issues, drop outs or speed related faults for ADSL and ADSL2+ services
Post Reply
jamien73
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 4:31 pm
Location: Bundaberg

Unable to connect to sites

Post by jamien73 » Thu May 29, 2008 11:22 am

Hi, since getting my adsl2 connection, apart from some speed issues, i have been having problems connecting to some sites:

centrelonk.gov.au (Hell the whole gov.au heirarchy is down)
and
merp.com (though this comes up and down, but admins say its always been up.

ADSL2 thru optus
Billion 7404VGP-M
Exetel dns
Cheers
Jamie

James D

Re: Unable to connect to sites

Post by James D » Thu May 29, 2008 12:24 pm

What is your MTU setting at.

jamien73
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 4:31 pm
Location: Bundaberg

Re: Unable to connect to sites

Post by jamien73 » Thu May 29, 2008 1:36 pm

Hi, it is 1500. I keep trying to change it in the billion at Configuration->WAN->ISP->EDIT->MTU, but it always reverts back to 1500 no matter what i change it to.

Any ideas?

Jamie

funnily enough i can access merp.com from the fedora 9 box here.

richardk
Posts: 544
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 9:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Unable to connect to sites

Post by richardk » Thu May 29, 2008 2:33 pm

Hello,

I believe that you might be using the WAN type as PPPoA.
Try switching the WAN type to PPPoE LLC which should default to 1492 for the MTU.

Thank You

jamien73
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 4:31 pm
Location: Bundaberg

Re: Unable to connect to sites

Post by jamien73 » Thu May 29, 2008 3:12 pm

Hi, i changed to PPPoE, and it has changed to 1492, but i still cant reach the aformentioned sites.

Jamie

daza
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 12:34 pm

Re: Unable to connect to sites

Post by daza » Thu May 29, 2008 3:32 pm

jamien73 wrote:Hi, since getting my adsl2 connection, apart from some speed issues, i have been having problems connecting to some sites:

centrelonk.gov.au (Hell the whole gov.au heirarchy is down)
and
merp.com (though this comes up and down, but admins say its always been up.

ADSL2 thru optus
Billion 7404VGP-M
Exetel dns
Cheers
Jamie
The http://www.centrelink.gov.au/ webpage loads for me. Perhaps you might want to try this (assuming you are running a variant of Windows) Start -> Run > "cmd" > "ipconfig /flushdns"

If that fails, perhaps try Start -> Run > "cmd" > "netsh winsock reset all".

Good luck & post your results!

jamien73
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 4:31 pm
Location: Bundaberg

Re: Unable to connect to sites

Post by jamien73 » Thu May 29, 2008 5:17 pm

daza wrote:
jamien73 wrote:Hi, since getting my adsl2 connection, apart from some speed issues, i have been having problems connecting to some sites:

centrelonk.gov.au (Hell the whole gov.au heirarchy is down)
and
merp.com (though this comes up and down, but admins say its always been up.

ADSL2 thru optus
Billion 7404VGP-M
Exetel dns
Cheers
Jamie
The http://www.centrelink.gov.au/ webpage loads for me. Perhaps you might want to try this (assuming you are running a variant of Windows) Start -> Run > "cmd" > "ipconfig /flushdns"

If that fails, perhaps try Start -> Run > "cmd" > "netsh winsock reset all".

Good luck & post your results!
Hi, no luck on the vista or mce boxes. The f9 box can still get to merp.com, but no one can get to *.gov.au.

jamie

jamien73
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 4:31 pm
Location: Bundaberg

Re: Unable to connect to sites

Post by jamien73 » Thu May 29, 2008 6:21 pm

Hi, gere is some stuff from the fedora 9 machine to bom and centrelink

[jamie@maki ~]# ping bom.gov.au
ping: unknown host bom.gov.au

[jamie@maki ~]# traceroute -m 50 centrelink.gov.au
traceroute to centrelink.gov.au (203.13.1.12), 50 hops max, 40 byte packets
1 192.168.1.254 (192.168.1.254) 0.496 ms 0.405 ms 0.440 ms
2 * * *
3 * 252.0.233.220.exetel.com.au (220.233.0.252) 58.369 ms 59.246 ms
4 10.0.1.2 (10.0.1.2) 60.579 ms 62.047 ms 62.645 ms
5 34.2.233.220.exetel.com.au (220.233.2.34) 70.027 ms 68.800 ms *
6 Vlan366.o2gsc76f03.optus.net.au (203.202.84.65) 70.866 ms 338.222 ms 339.120 ms
7 61.88.226.255 (61.88.226.255) 346.797 ms 347.576 ms 348.684 ms
8 * * *
9 * * *
10 * * *
11 * * *
12 * * *
13 * * *
14 * * *
15 * * *
16 * * *
17 * * *
18 * * *
19 * * *
20 * * *
21 * * *
22 * * *
23 * * *
24 * * *
25 * * *
26 * * *
27 * * *
28 * * *
29 * * *
30 * * *
31 * * *
32 * * *
33 * * *
34 * * *
35 * * *
36 * * *
37 * * *
38 * * *
39 * * *
40 * * *
41 * * *
42 * * *
43 * * *
44 * * *
45 * * *
46 * * *
47 * * *
48 * * *
49 * * *
50 * * *

Need2No
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 9:15 pm
Location: Shalvey Exchange, NSW

Re: Unable to connect to sites

Post by Need2No » Thu May 29, 2008 8:19 pm

jamien73 wrote:Hi, since getting my adsl2 connection, apart from some speed issues, i have been having problems connecting to some sites:

centrelonk.gov.au (Hell the whole gov.au heirarchy is down)
and
merp.com (though this comes up and down, but admins say its always been up.

ADSL2 thru optus
Billion 7404VGP-M
Exetel dns
Cheers
Jamie
My Billion 7402 had a bad habit of blocking some sites that it didn't like, for what ever reason. Every now and then, I had to go into its set up and clear its list. I can't think off hand of what they call this feature, I will need to go through the forum for my old posts, as I have mentioned this before.

Regards

Edit: Added link
http://au.billion.com/forums/index.php? ... f=6&t=1218

GLOpro
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 11:36 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Unable to connect to sites

Post by GLOpro » Fri May 30, 2008 5:41 am

I am using a Open824RLW and cant access www.zazz.com.au all yesterday and still now.

I could access it 2 days ago!

jamien73
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 4:31 pm
Location: Bundaberg

Re: Unable to connect to sites

Post by jamien73 » Fri May 30, 2008 12:15 pm

Hi, cjecked that the firewall was off, and it is, still no luck connecting. I am trying to set the mtu to a smaller value, but everytime i reconnect the modem, it always goes back to 1492.

Cheers
Jamie

GLOpro
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 11:36 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Unable to connect to sites

Post by GLOpro » Fri May 30, 2008 1:34 pm

Jamie,

can you connect to www.zazz.com.au?

Regards
GLO

jamien73
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 4:31 pm
Location: Bundaberg

Re: Unable to connect to sites

Post by jamien73 » Fri May 30, 2008 2:07 pm

zazz is good here.

I was trying to change my MTU, is that allowed, ore will it go back to the isp/dslam size all the time?

Jamie

GLOpro
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 11:36 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Unable to connect to sites

Post by GLOpro » Fri May 30, 2008 2:22 pm

Maysbe zazz.com.au is a problem only in Sydney.

At work i can access it, but thats with a different provider.

James D

Re: Unable to connect to sites

Post by James D » Fri May 30, 2008 6:39 pm

jamien73 wrote:zazz is good here.

I was trying to change my MTU, is that allowed, ore will it go back to the isp/dslam size all the time?

Jamie
If you are on PPPoE then you are able to change the MTU, try to lower it to 1452 or 1400 and see if that makes a difference

Post Reply