Is it me or is ADSL2 Slower??

Connection issues, drop outs or speed related faults for ADSL and ADSL2+ services
imusic1991
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:56 pm
Location: Blacktown Sydney

Is it me or is ADSL2 Slower??

Post by imusic1991 » Fri Sep 05, 2008 4:49 pm

well i just got home went on to youtube for music and no video's would load, i done a 3mb speed test image wouldnt even load then i done a 600kb test and this is wat i got

Test run on [*05/09/2008*] @ [*04:44 PM*])]

[(Mirror: [*Exetel*]
Data: [*600 KB*]
Test Time: [*46.13 secs*])]

[(Your line speed is [*106 kbps*] (0.11 Mbps).
Your download speed is [*13 KB/s*] (0.01 MB/s). )]

i tried restarting my modem, disconnecting all my PC's but same result...is this only me or ?? and if so any assistance???
Thanks

DylanF
Exetel Staff
Posts: 200
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Is it me or is ADSL2 Slower??

Post by DylanF » Fri Sep 05, 2008 4:52 pm

Please report a fault on your service by emailing residentialsupport@exetel.com.au or give Exetel a call on 02 9927 1000 and press option 2.

muswellbrook
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 9:47 am
Location: Sydney

Re: Is it me or is ADSL2 Slower??

Post by muswellbrook » Fri Sep 05, 2008 4:55 pm

I have the same problem. Speedtest.net is reporting very slow download speeds and I can't stream 128 kb/s radio.

jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Is it me or is ADSL2 Slower??

Post by jokiin » Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:08 pm

muswellbrook wrote:I have the same problem. Speedtest.net is reporting very slow download speeds and I can't stream 128 kb/s radio.
very slow here right now also

Paul33

Re: Is it me or is ADSL2 Slower??

Post by Paul33 » Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:10 pm

same here on the portkembla exchange ..crawling along

jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Is it me or is ADSL2 Slower??

Post by jokiin » Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:16 pm

Paul33 wrote:same here on the portkembla exchange ..crawling along
just tested in the member facilities in I'm getting 300kbps, I'm generally at about 10000 or so, looks like something is playing up at the moment

Paul33

Re: Is it me or is ADSL2 Slower??

Post by Paul33 » Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:18 pm

yeah im usually in the same ballpark figure .....my upload was faster then download

jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Is it me or is ADSL2 Slower??

Post by jokiin » Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:19 pm

Paul33 wrote:..my upload was faster then download
same here

wingchun
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2004 6:20 pm

Re: Is it me or is ADSL2 Slower??

Post by wingchun » Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:36 pm

Slow here too.

Tested with speedtest.net both locally and OS and my uploads were always faster than downloads.

jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Is it me or is ADSL2 Slower??

Post by jokiin » Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:39 pm

wingchun wrote:Slow here too.

Tested with speedtest.net both locally and OS and my uploads were always faster than downloads.
just did a trace to Exetel and it seems to be falling over in the middle somewhere, Optus problem maybe???

wolfhunter2
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 8:34 am

Re: Is it me or is ADSL2 Slower??

Post by wolfhunter2 » Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:45 pm

[`[*Test Results from <a href="http://www.ozspeedtest.com">Oz Broadband Speed Test</a>*]`]
[(----------------------------------
Test run on [*05/09/2008*] @ [*05:44 PM*])]

[(Mirror: [*Exetel*]
Data: [*600 KB*]
Test Time: [*13.94 secs*])]

[(Your line speed is [*350 kbps*] (0.35 Mbps).
Your download speed is [*44 KB/s*] (0.04 MB/s). )]


Ain't too great here either.

imusic1991
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:56 pm
Location: Blacktown Sydney

Re: Is it me or is ADSL2 Slower??

Post by imusic1991 » Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:52 pm

well not sure about you guys but mine seems to be back to normal,
Test run on [*05/09/2008*] @ [*05:50 PM*])]

[(Mirror: [*Exetel*]
Data: [*3 MB*]
Test Time: [*12.73 secs*])]

[(Your line speed is [*1.92 Mbps*] (1924 kbps).
Your download speed is [*240 KB/s*] (0.23 MB/s). )]

not the fastest but it works

jokiin
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 2970
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Is it me or is ADSL2 Slower??

Post by jokiin » Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:53 pm

wolfhunter2 wrote:
Ain't too great here either.
Whatever it was it seems to be sorted, internet is flying again :)

PsychoChicken
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 8:28 pm
Location: QLD

Re: Is it me or is ADSL2 Slower??

Post by PsychoChicken » Fri Sep 05, 2008 7:16 pm

Not where I am in QLD.
[*Test Results from <a href="http://www.ozspeedtest.com">Oz Broadband Speed Test</a>*]
[(----------------------------------
Test run on [*05/09/2008*] @ [*07:04 PM*])]

[(Mirror: [*Exetel*]
Data: [*9 MB*]
Test Time: [*110.82 secs*])]

[(Your line speed is [*682 kbps*] (0.68 Mbps).
Your download speed is [*85 KB/s*] (0.08 MB/s). )]
I went ADSL2 on Monday, and Monday was the only day that it was great! Everyday since Tuesday I have had problems. I'm about to do an isolation test shortly, so we'll see what this achieves.

But basically this is what I receive EVERY DAY
Fri, 2008-09-05 19:11:28 - Loss of synchronization :x

and this....

Network Timeout

The server at forum.exetel.com.au is taking too long to respond.

The requested site did not respond to a connection request and the browser has stopped waiting for a reply.

* Could the server be experiencing high demand or a temporary outage? Try again later.
* Are you unable to browse other sites? Check the computer's network connection.
* Is your computer or network protected by a firewall or proxy? Incorrect settings can interfere with Web browsing.
* Still having trouble? Consult your network administrator or Internet provider for assistance.

This forum keeps timing out as I try and post this.

EDIT:I just read this thread. http://forum.exetel.com.au/viewtopic.php?f=226&t=26307. Initially, when I signed up for the INCPHONEB package, it did ask if i had an inline filter, of which i said, yes (thinking of the current ADSL one i had been using prior). Not sure if this will make a diff... or if adsl and adsl2 filters are different?

snappy05
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 8:53 pm
Location: Central Coast NSW

Re: Is it me or is ADSL2 Slower??

Post by snappy05 » Fri Sep 05, 2008 7:37 pm

my adsl2+ is running really slow still on Long Jetty exchange Central Coast nsw. only just breaking the 1500kbps minimum and I only live about 500m from the exchange. also did a trace to www.telstra.com as per the instructions from exetel and it seems that I can't connect to one of the destinations.

C:\Documents and Settings\Snappy05>tracert www.telstra.com

Tracing route to www.telstra.com [144.135.19.10]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 29 ms 27 ms 27 ms 254.0.233.220.exetel.com.au [220.233.0.254]
4 29 ms 42 ms 28 ms 34.2.233.220.exetel.com.au [220.233.2.34]
5 37 ms 64 ms 29 ms Vlan366.o2gsc76f03.optus.net.au [203.202.84.65]

6 29 ms 29 ms 29 ms gigabitethernet4-3.ken12.sydney.telstra.net [139
.130.2.65]
7 38 ms 37 ms 30 ms TenGigabitEthernet8-1.pit1.Sydney.telstra.net [2
03.50.20.39]
8 29 ms 29 ms 29 ms pitt-tcom-r01 [139.130.185.254]
9 30 ms 32 ms 29 ms 144.135.19.84
10 29 ms 31 ms 33 ms 144.135.19.10

Trace complete.

Don't quite know what this means but there was no timeout on the example in the instructions so I figure there is a problem. If it's a problem that affects my speed I'm yet to find out but I have left a fault ticket and nothing happened.

Post Reply