ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Connection issues, drop outs or speed related faults for ADSL and ADSL2+ services
Prodigy
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 5:31 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Post by Prodigy » Thu Mar 05, 2009 5:15 pm

JasonM wrote:
Prodigy wrote:
JasonM wrote:The issue last night was resolved, if you are still experiencing difficulties, there's a high possibility that your modem has the wrong username entered.
I never changed my username or password in the modem settings, and cant use the correct username/password on the helpdesk page here at work, so how is that the cause of my problem?
It is very possible if you reset the modem that the details are no longer correctly set.

PM your number to me if you wish, and I will investigate.
Details were never changed in the modem, they're saved into the settings. And no, I didn't reset to factory settings. :roll:
I checked/double/triple the username/password given that message it was giving me.
number pm'd

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Post by CoreyPlover » Thu Mar 05, 2009 11:16 pm

I too experienced an outage around the times of posters in this thread (wasn't here at the computer, but my wife told me the internet went down though naturally came back on a short time afterwards).

For those who may find it useful, you can always try http://www.opendns.com which has instructions, for hardcoding OpenDNS as an alternate DNS server.

Also, http://forum.exetel.com.au/viewtopic.php?f=295&t=31080 is a related thread to this one.

syncmaster
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 10:15 am
Location: Sydney

Re: ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Post by syncmaster » Fri Mar 06, 2009 8:31 am

CoreyPlover wrote:I too experienced an outage around the times of posters in this thread (wasn't here at the computer, but my wife told me the internet went down though naturally came back on a short time afterwards).

For those who may find it useful, you can always try http://www.opendns.com which has instructions, for hardcoding OpenDNS as an alternate DNS server.

Also, http://forum.exetel.com.au/viewtopic.php?f=295&t=31080 is a related thread to this one.
Same problem here and waiting for Exetel support response. Again, I haven't even touched my modem/voip setting still cannot connect. My modem setting has never been changed before/after the power outage.

So still an alternate DNS server would give us temporary fix?

Is anyone solve the problem with alternate DNS? I am at work (cause this is the only way I can connect internet at this moment) so I cannot test it.
Sydney inner west (2042)

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Post by CoreyPlover » Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:23 am

syncmaster wrote:Is anyone solve the problem with alternate DNS? I am at work (cause this is the only way I can connect internet at this moment) so I cannot test it.
Worked for some people at least:
SeanSheep wrote:The only reason I can browse at present is because I've changed my DNS servers away from Exetel's to OpenDNS (which isn't a long term solution in my mind)
As soon as I change the DNS servers back to Exetel (220.233.0.3 and .4), I stop being able to browse.
But the Exetel DNS servers should have recovered by last night.

syncmaster
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 10:15 am
Location: Sydney

Re: ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Post by syncmaster » Fri Mar 06, 2009 10:15 am

CoreyPlover wrote:
syncmaster wrote:Is anyone solve the problem with alternate DNS? I am at work (cause this is the only way I can connect internet at this moment) so I cannot test it.
Worked for some people at least:
I will try this alternate DNS and report the result when reconnected.

goldendel
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2008 5:16 pm
Location: Pennant Hills, NSW

Re: ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Post by goldendel » Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:52 am

For what it's worth my problem turned out to be layer 8. I re-entered my password in my router when the outage occured on Wednesday (as authentication was out), and put in the wrong one, so when the servers came back up, I couldn't authenticate :oops:

Sorry for any confusion caused!

Tim

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Post by CoreyPlover » Fri Mar 06, 2009 12:29 pm

goldendel wrote:For what it's worth my problem turned out to be layer 8.
Thanks for the update.

I like the "Layer 8" reference. For those who don't know, there is an OSI Model that details 7 layers that encapsulate communication protocols from bottom level (Layer 1 = physical signal) to top level (Layer 7 = the application). "Layer 8" humourously extends this one further to the "User" much like the ID:10T or PEBKAC errors.

I'm waiting until I can claim a "Layer 9 error", which represents a stuff-up one higher than "User": i.e. "Management layer". Reminds me of a Dilbert comic:
Dilbert: "This issue was caused by an MG-2 error"
Spiky haired boss: "What's a MG-2 error?"
Dilbert: "Management error number 2"
Spiky haired boss: "Management don't make errors!"
Dilbert: "That's an MG-1 error"

syncmaster
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 10:15 am
Location: Sydney

Re: ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Post by syncmaster » Fri Mar 06, 2009 4:53 pm

I have changed my DNS setting with alternative ones as below.

Primary DNS: 220.233.0.3
Secondary DNS: 208.67.222.222
Uncheck the option 'automatically assign DNS'

and the connection comes back instantly!

johnnybegood
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: melbourne

Re: ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Post by johnnybegood » Sat Mar 07, 2009 3:43 pm

Hi Exetel Support,

My internet doesn't work since the outage on Thurs 5 Mar 09

My status is :
  • All modem lights woring OK my Dynalink model RTA1046VW
    Voip OK and working
    Internet gets failed login
Things I have tried so far to resolve internet not working :-
  • Check and re-checked IP username passwords
    Restored factory defaults on modem
    Waited 30-40 mins with modem and computer switched off
    Logged a fault with exetel (cleared as working line)
    Amended DNS to numerous different combinations as suggested in forum
    Disabled VOIP on modem

Cheers.
Last edited by johnnybegood on Sun Mar 08, 2009 3:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Mixer
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 2:21 pm
Location: Sydney - Randwick

Re: ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Post by Mixer » Sat Mar 07, 2009 7:29 pm

johnnybegood , trying powering off both voip and modem for 30 - 40min then bring up modem first then voip. I found voip ATA seemed to hang my NB6+4W modem.
RAND-NBN50- ZTE H268A

johnnybegood
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: melbourne

Re: ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Post by johnnybegood » Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:48 am

Mixer wrote:johnnybegood , trying powering off both voip and modem for 30 - 40min then bring up modem first then voip. I found voip ATA seemed to hang my NB6+4W modem.
I am using Dynalink Voip RTA1046VW Modem

Do you mean disable VOIP? I noticed that when the VOIP works fine but drops out after a while . I can't use the internet at all only get failed login message.

Cheers

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Post by CoreyPlover » Sun Mar 08, 2009 10:28 pm

johnnybegood wrote:Things I have tried so far to resolve internet not working :-
  • Check and re-checked IP username passwords
    Restored factory defaults on modem
    Waited 30-40 mins with modem and computer switched off
    Logged a fault with exetel (cleared as working line)
    Amended DNS to numerous different combinations as suggested in forum
    Disabled VOIP on modem

Cheers.
Does your username/password work on your Member Facilities? What WAN IP address is your modem getting when you authenticate?

If your WAN IP address is of the form 10.x.x.x, then you should probably try emailing residentialsupport@exetel.com.au again and make it clear to them that it is a failed login issue but that your username/pass works perfectly in your Member Facilities.

johnnybegood
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: melbourne

Re: ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Post by johnnybegood » Mon Mar 09, 2009 9:03 am

CoreyPlover wrote:
johnnybegood wrote:Things I have tried so far to resolve internet not working :-
  • Check and re-checked IP username passwords
    Restored factory defaults on modem
    Waited 30-40 mins with modem and computer switched off
    Logged a fault with exetel (cleared as working line)
    Amended DNS to numerous different combinations as suggested in forum
    Disabled VOIP on modem

Cheers.
Does your username/password work on your Member Facilities?
YES
What WAN IP address is your modem getting when you authenticate?
10.43.0.30

If your WAN IP address is of the form 10.x.x.x, then you should probably try emailing residentialsupport@exetel.com.au again and make it clear to them that it is a failed login issue but that your username/pass works perfectly in your Member Facilities.
Will do!

johnnybegood
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: melbourne

Re: ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Post by johnnybegood » Mon Mar 09, 2009 3:00 pm

Hi Exetel,

Internet Now working. Password Case Sensitive issue.

Have posted suggestion to amend the follow statement in your standard email :-

RE : Exetel ADSL Password and Modem Settings

Note: You must use CAPITALS for the last two letters of your password

If the ADSL User name and password are not entered EXACTLY as shown, your ADSL connection will not work.

As I had amended my password this highlighted phase doesn't apply to me as my password is all lower case not upper case for the last two letters as indicated here.

Cheers,

John.

Post Reply