Page 1 of 3

ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 3:03 pm
by dataist
My internet connection is dead even though the ADSL and PPP LEDs are green as usual. Restarted the Netcomm NB6 modem/router with no change. Could this be a local problem or is the Exetel wide service down again? BTW using incphone connection account in Redfern (Surry Hills). Fault report (via phone) confirmed but no answer as yet.

Re: ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 3:08 pm
by willitrain
I'm experiencing the same problem. The only difference being that we have VOIP and that is not working either and nor is it showing up on the router.

Re: ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 3:09 pm
by dataist
Just received SMS saying I'm online and the case has been closed. I sincerely hope the service was restored since I'm online using my HSDPA mobile atm. The message should be made more unambigupus since users with alternative access like me may be similarily confused.

Re: ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 3:12 pm
by James
Try different DNS.

Re: ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 3:12 pm
by JasonM
No outage here, I'm working from my INCPHONE connection.

Re: ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 3:18 pm
by SeanSheep
I'm having the same issue (ticket has been logged)...
From my end,it seems to be a DNS issue with Exetel?

Can ping Exetel DNS Servers (220.233.0.3 and .4)
Can surf by IP address
Can't surf by URL

If I change the modem's DNS settings to use a Telstra DNS or OpenDNS server, I can surf by URL.



Using Exetel DNS Servers at the router:

If I do a nslookup via the router, I get timeout errors

(e.g. nslookup www.whirlpool.net.au gives a timeout)

but if I do an nslookup specifying the exetel DNS server, it works

(e.g. nslookup www.whirlpool.net.au 220.233.0.3 will work)

Re: ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 3:19 pm
by willitrain
How do you try a different DNS??????

Re: ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 3:23 pm
by bharatk
I'm having the same problem as dataist. Lodged a complaint and was advised that fault has been closed cos customer online. Still can't access Internet although adsl and PPP light both on. I'm on nophone plan based in Brisbane.
Pls help.
Bharat

Re: ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 3:29 pm
by andrewpontes
I am experiencing the same problem here in Telopea NSW 2117.

Problem occurred yesterday between 8:30pm to 10pm and again since today 1pm.

Exetel, please give us poor customers some update and estimate !

I have also logged a tickit.

Andrew Pontes

Re: ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 3:37 pm
by fother
same problem here in Melbourne. Also logged.

Re: ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 3:57 pm
by SeanSheep
Exetel how about an update on this? It's obviously affecting a reasonable number of users.

Another thread is going on about this on the Whirlpool forums:
http://117.53.171.171/forum-replies.cfm?t=1155303&p=14

Even if you don't have a fix yet; Acknowledging that there is a problem at all would be a great start.

Re: ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 4:02 pm
by James
SeanSheep wrote:Exetel how about an update on this? It's obviously affecting a reasonable number of users.

Another thread is going on about this on the Whirlpool forums:
http://117.53.171.171/forum-replies.cfm?t=1155303&p=14

Even if you don't have a fix yet; Acknowledging that there is a problem at all would be a great start.
So you've solved it? You can connect fine now.

Re: ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 4:04 pm
by coogeeman
Yeah. I am having the same issue with Internet connection. The PPP LED is on but the internet is dead. We have been experiencing the same issue last night from around 8:00PM - 9:30PM and I suspect it's an Exetel DNS sever issue. I am at Eastwood.

Re: ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 4:05 pm
by SeanSheep
The only reason I can browse at present is because I've changed my DNS servers away from Exetel's to OpenDNS (which isn't a long term solution in my mind)

As soon as I change the DNS servers back to Exetel (220.233.0.3 and .4), I stop being able to browse.

Same deal if I select "Automatically detect DNS Servers", which gives me the above two IPs

Thanks,
Sean.

Re: ADSL2+ outage since 2pm 5 March 2009

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 4:06 pm
by bmach
I just got it working.

I have a Dynalink modem. I went into the following page:

Advanced > Internet > DNS Server

I unticked "Enable Automatic Assigned DNS" and entered the following:

Primary DNS server: 220.233.0.4
Secondary DNS server: 220.233.0.3

Worked for me.

Cheers,

Brent