High latency while using Ventrilo and World of Warcraft

Connection issues, drop outs or speed related faults for ADSL and ADSL2+ services
WilliamC
Posts: 369
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 10:50 pm

Re: High latency while using Ventrilo and World of Warcraft

Post by WilliamC » Tue Jun 23, 2009 12:20 am

Hi All,

Can anyone please provide an update for this. Is the issue still present ?

vert02
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:18 am

Re: High latency while using Ventrilo and World of Warcraft

Post by vert02 » Tue Jun 23, 2009 12:37 am

Slightly unrelated as I don't play world of warcraft but my gaming situation hasn't improved. Infact its probably worse tonight.

Heres some ping plotters to some various gaming servers (QuakeLive & Counter-Strike 1.6)
pl2.JPG
pl2.JPG (35.08 KiB) Viewed 2671 times
pl1.JPG
pl1.JPG (42.76 KiB) Viewed 2667 times
This is over 100 samples @ a 2.5 sec trace delay. Not sure what's happening with the 90% hop (maybe denying ping packets at such a short interval?) but the rest seem to be the problem. I'm seeing the exact same results in game. Half-life netgraph shows between 3-7% PL and quake lagometer is redbarring left and right which has a huge negative effect on hit registration and general gameplay.

Been happening for about 2 months and gradually getting worse. Its fine during the day, might drop 1 packet here and there but once about 6pm hits it goes up and stays that way till late.

terrox
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 10:00 am
Location: MAYF exchange Hunter Region NSW

Re: High latency while using Ventrilo and World of Warcraft

Post by terrox » Tue Jun 23, 2009 11:52 am

Here's my graphs.

OFFPEAK 11:30am
Untitled-2.png
Untitled-2.png (18.39 KiB) Viewed 2649 times
PEAK 12:30pm
Untitled-3.png
Untitled-3.png (18.74 KiB) Viewed 2640 times

myckael
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 8:58 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: High latency while using Ventrilo and World of Warcraft

Post by myckael » Tue Jun 23, 2009 11:20 pm

Hey WIlliam, sorry for the late reply.

I'm sorry to say that my lag still occurring after 12 AM. I'm really disappointed to be honest. I tried to play after 12 AM and the lag is still there.. maybe a bit better, i say maybe because i didnt test too long because as soon as it lags, i'm switching to my other connection.

I know that it doesn't help saying that I'm going to switch ISP, but i'm really considering it right now. Maybe after I finish my 1 year contract or something like that. But I really do hope that this issue can be resolved, I'm quite happy with exetel except for the late night gaming.. If this continues however, I might have to find another solution.

Thank you for you hardwork as always William, hope to hear from you.

WilliamC
Posts: 369
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 10:50 pm

Re: High latency while using Ventrilo and World of Warcraft

Post by WilliamC » Wed Jun 24, 2009 9:56 am

Hi myckael,

I've tried with the box totally out of the equation now, what i am trying to do now is to request additional bandwidth for the customer backhaul side.

I've ensured the IP transit links and internal backhaul is fine.

Regards

William C

lenvik
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Canberra

Re: High latency while using Ventrilo and World of Warcraft

Post by lenvik » Sat Jun 27, 2009 11:42 am

Post-midnight WoW lag for me on Friday 26 @ 12am (after Thursday), but not so much the next night. I'll keep updating here (but noting I am an ADSL1 Exetel customer).

stickmatrix
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 12:48 am
Location: newcastle

Re: High latency while using Ventrilo and World of Warcraft

Post by stickmatrix » Sun Jun 28, 2009 12:23 am

although i apparently got put onto another user group thing, i'm not complaining about lag. because i'm not getting any in ventrilo at least
but in any regular connection i am

e.g right now i'm downloading from usenet at 100kb/s
pre 12am it was smoothly sailing at 1.2mb/s

jcupharm
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 9:54 pm
Location: Townsville

Re: High latency while using Ventrilo and World of Warcraft

Post by jcupharm » Mon Jun 29, 2009 10:21 pm

Hi guys.

Although I'm a TL-CB exetel customer I was wondering if this same 'patch' is being applied to ADSL1 accounts as I am experiencing the same issue with WoW game play and these latency spikes/disconnects. I just churned from Telstra to take advantage of the great plan price, however I enjoy playing WoW too much to care about saving a dollar when the latency issue here at Exetel is so so so bad. If somehow I could get this 'patch' applied to my account so that my game play could be improved while a more serious approach to rectify this problem could be done please. Fortunately I'm only contracted to stay for the first month which ends in 2 days so I hope someone from Exetel throws some more info our/my way.

Cheers in advance.

lenvik
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Canberra

Re: High latency while using Ventrilo and World of Warcraft

Post by lenvik » Tue Jun 30, 2009 1:43 am

Definitely no instant lag at 12am, latency was generally higher after 12am but not as bad as usual. Occasional spikes in WoW, could be better but it's definitely better than it was last week.

jcupharm
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 9:54 pm
Location: Townsville

Re: High latency while using Ventrilo and World of Warcraft

Post by jcupharm » Wed Jul 01, 2009 6:59 pm

Is this acceptable?

Tracing route to us.logon.worldofwarcraft.com [12.129.232.114]

over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 514 ms 534 ms 580 ms 202.3.96.58.static.exetel.com.au [58.96.3.202]
3 699 ms 713 ms 719 ms 3.3.96.58.static.exetel.com.au [58.96.3.3]
4 507 ms 437 ms 439 ms vlan586.14vrc76f06.optus.net.au [59.154.4.149]
5 661 ms 600 ms 601 ms te-4-2.car2.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.79.42.229]
6 688 ms 679 ms 737 ms ae-33-89.car3.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.68.18.133]
7 805 ms 836 ms 860 ms level3-gw.sffca.ip.att.net [192.205.33.77]
8 864 ms 748 ms 634 ms cr1.sffca.ip.att.net [12.122.137.14]
9 529 ms 552 ms 549 ms cr1.la2ca.ip.att.net [12.122.3.122]
10 670 ms 635 ms 669 ms gar5.la2ca.ip.att.net [12.122.128.25]
11 742 ms 780 ms 869 ms 12.122.255.74
12 710 ms 700 ms 679 ms mdf001c7613r0004-gig-12-1.lax1.attens.net [12.129.193.246]
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.
Trace complete.

Emailed help desk with this attachment ><

CoreyPlover
Volunteer Site Admin
Posts: 5922
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 2:24 pm
Location: Melbourne, VIC

Re: High latency while using Ventrilo and World of Warcraft

Post by CoreyPlover » Wed Jul 01, 2009 11:53 pm

jcupharm wrote:Is this acceptable?
No. Hops within the Exetel network (hops 2 & 3 on yours) should show 30-50ms delays. Yours show 600-700ms indicating an issue that Exetel should look into

WirlWind
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 8:04 pm
Location: Booker Bay, NSW

Re: High latency while using Ventrilo and World of Warcraft

Post by WirlWind » Thu Jul 02, 2009 10:08 pm

Hey, getting the same issue.

I requested this fix on my last connection (we moved) and it worked perfectly, but alas I'm getting issues at around 11am (raiding time) with the vent server pinging up to 13k again. Wow seems to be fine, but I'm hoping you can please put the fix on my new line :D

Pretty please with a cherry on top? ;)

Craighunter
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 8:56 am
Location: Cairns, QLD

Re: High latency while using Ventrilo and World of Warcraft

Post by Craighunter » Fri Jul 03, 2009 10:16 am

jcupharm wrote:Is this acceptable?

Tracing route to us.logon.worldofwarcraft.com [12.129.232.114]

over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 514 ms 534 ms 580 ms 202.3.96.58.static.exetel.com.au [58.96.3.202]
3 699 ms 713 ms 719 ms 3.3.96.58.static.exetel.com.au [58.96.3.3]
4 507 ms 437 ms 439 ms vlan586.14vrc76f06.optus.net.au [59.154.4.149]
I might have to check mine out with a tracert tonight... Last night about 11pm I noticed my ping was sitting between 6-900... (usually sits at 280-350). I am in Cairns... hopefully its not one of those "regional" issues :/

WilliamC
Posts: 369
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 10:50 pm

Re: High latency while using Ventrilo and World of Warcraft

Post by WilliamC » Fri Jul 03, 2009 2:10 pm

Hi,

We have been looking at these issues and slowly dealing with them individually.

Ventrilo is being investigated currently.

Regards

William C

lenvik
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Canberra

Re: High latency while using Ventrilo and World of Warcraft

Post by lenvik » Mon Jul 06, 2009 12:55 am

The post-12am lag for WoW was definetly not present tonight. Got myself and another exetel customer a rusted proto drake tonight as a result! :D Thankyou very much for helping us out with a solution Exetel.

Post Reply