Latency increase across the board

Connection issues, drop outs or speed related faults for ADSL and ADSL2+ services
terrox
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 10:00 am
Location: MAYF exchange Hunter Region NSW

Re: Latency increase across the board

Post by terrox » Tue Dec 01, 2009 5:00 pm

maybe so, but a simple restart makes Interleave change to Fast.

So i'm not sure what the idea is for that by the Optus guys or if that is a bug.

I'm trying to write a telnet batch script to resync my connection if it detects Interleave in the modem when I boot my PC. No reason to waste 10ms

vert02
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:18 am

Re: Latency increase across the board

Post by vert02 » Tue Dec 01, 2009 6:01 pm

terrox wrote:maybe so, but a simple restart makes Interleave change to Fast.

So i'm not sure what the idea is for that by the Optus guys or if that is a bug.

I'm trying to write a telnet batch script to resync my connection if it detects Interleave in the modem when I boot my PC. No reason to waste 10ms
Doesn't sound right. Does your modem actually report a Fast Path latency type or are you just going off the latency reduction?

I do something similar to get the best possible latency by adjusting my target snr margin, which seems to effect my interleaving depth (and delay) after I resync. As far as I know it just minimizes the effect of interleaving on latency but it's still very much there.

I'm no DSL expert so I can't really explain the relationship between the values, just found the sweet spot through trial, error and observing the results on my latency. My best ping comes when my DS Interleave Depth is at 32, US at 1, DS Delay reports 6 and US 1.

terrox
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 10:00 am
Location: MAYF exchange Hunter Region NSW

Re: Latency increase across the board

Post by terrox » Tue Dec 01, 2009 6:27 pm

It reports upstream Latency as Fast and the ms drops by 10. It has never mis-reported the Latency compared to the ms drop. When I use Telnet to check the detailed stats they show up as similar, detailed output here http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-re ... ?t=1330655

I don't have those Interleave settings via my web interface, maybe it is in CLI. I have a Billion 7402VL.

Rebooting/Resyncing to get different Latency does sound dodgy and sounds like Interleave is still on - but I DO have 10 less ping AND it always says Fast latency, so I think Interleave isn't exactly "forced" on Optus Ports.

vert02
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:18 am

Re: Latency increase across the board

Post by vert02 » Tue Dec 01, 2009 8:10 pm

terrox wrote:It reports upstream Latency as Fast and the ms drops by 10. It has never mis-reported the Latency compared to the ms drop. When I use Telnet to check the detailed stats they show up as similar, detailed output here http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-re ... ?t=1330655

I don't have those Interleave settings via my web interface, maybe it is in CLI. I have a Billion 7402VL.

Rebooting/Resyncing to get different Latency does sound dodgy and sounds like Interleave is still on - but I DO have 10 less ping AND it always says Fast latency, so I think Interleave isn't exactly "forced" on Optus Ports.
Sounds like your modem reports an interleaving depth + delay of 1 as Fast Path. It'd still be present on your downstream. But interleaving is forced on optus ports, we've just found a way to minimize its effect.

If it was turned off we'd probably see a further 7-11ms drop from the already tweaked minimum. Anyhoo i'd be happy with my normal 20ms. >_>

adsa75
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 12:14 pm
Location: Newcastle

Re: Latency increase across the board

Post by adsa75 » Thu Dec 03, 2009 9:26 pm

Any news on this yet?

This is something I noticed changed some months back, up till then I always received a ping response of 26ms from speedtest.net.

Now I'm up in the high 40's early 50's and tonight I'm getting the following response from Exetel.

Reply from 220.233.0.9: bytes=32 time=52ms TTL=58
Reply from 220.233.0.9: bytes=32 time=52ms TTL=58
Reply from 220.233.0.9: bytes=32 time=52ms TTL=58
Reply from 220.233.0.9: bytes=32 time=51ms TTL=58

Ping statistics for 220.233.0.9:
Packets: Sent = 117, Received = 117, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 51ms, Maximum = 55ms, Average = 51ms

Luckily I'm not seeing to much of an issue on COD on the PS3 :)

BTW I'm on the New Lambton Ex too.

JasonM

Re: Latency increase across the board

Post by JasonM » Fri Dec 04, 2009 12:26 pm

No updates yet, just followed up again.

Lonx
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 1:44 pm
Location: Central Coast, NSW

Re: Latency increase across the board

Post by Lonx » Fri Dec 04, 2009 4:51 pm

Thanks for trying Jason, I'm also experiencing around 50-65ms to exetel.com.au via Gosford exchange. I noticed last night my pings to google.com.au were either ~180ms or ~330ms - it seemed to switch between the two and never give me anything in between. Could have been any sort of routing changes happening outside Exetel/Optus tho so I guess only the exetel.com.au pings would be valid.

terrox
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 10:00 am
Location: MAYF exchange Hunter Region NSW

Re: Latency increase across the board

Post by terrox » Sat Dec 05, 2009 5:06 pm

JasonM wrote:No updates yet, just followed up again.
Try to coordinate with the Internode guys, or mention that their techs have been investigating the same issues.

Forky
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 4:43 pm
Location: Newcastle

Re: Latency increase across the board

Post by Forky » Thu Dec 10, 2009 3:58 am

Something happened.. At about 3:40am..

Reply from 203.29.124.141: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=58
Reply from 203.29.124.141: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=58
Reply from 203.29.124.141: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=58
Reply from 203.29.124.141: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=58

JasonM

Re: Latency increase across the board

Post by JasonM » Thu Dec 10, 2009 7:56 am

Indeed, back to 15ms here:
64 bytes from 220.233.0.3: icmp_seq=4 ttl=61 time=16.0 ms
64 bytes from 220.233.0.3: icmp_seq=5 ttl=61 time=16.6 ms
64 bytes from 220.233.0.3: icmp_seq=6 ttl=61 time=16.1 ms
64 bytes from 220.233.0.3: icmp_seq=7 ttl=61 time=15.9 ms
64 bytes from 220.233.0.3: icmp_seq=8 ttl=61 time=16.5 ms
64 bytes from 220.233.0.3: icmp_seq=9 ttl=61 time=15.6 ms
64 bytes from 220.233.0.3: icmp_seq=10 ttl=61 time=16.3 m

vert02
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:18 am

Re: Latency increase across the board

Post by vert02 » Thu Dec 10, 2009 9:57 am

Back to normal here aswell

Reply from 220.233.0.9: bytes=32 time=20ms TTL=58
Reply from 220.233.0.9: bytes=32 time=20ms TTL=58
Reply from 220.233.0.9: bytes=32 time=19ms TTL=58
Reply from 220.233.0.9: bytes=32 time=20ms TTL=58

Hopefully its not just another temporary return to normal

terrox
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 10:00 am
Location: MAYF exchange Hunter Region NSW

Re: Latency increase across the board

Post by terrox » Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:17 am

No one touch anything!

vert02
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:18 am

Re: Latency increase across the board

Post by vert02 » Fri Dec 18, 2009 2:56 pm

Reply from 220.233.0.9: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=59
Reply from 220.233.0.9: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=59
Reply from 220.233.0.9: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=59
Reply from 220.233.0.9: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=59

itssss baaaaack :(

terrox
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 10:00 am
Location: MAYF exchange Hunter Region NSW

Re: Latency increase across the board

Post by terrox » Fri Dec 18, 2009 3:04 pm

me too. noticed it a few hours ago but I forgot to post after I rebooted to make sure.

56ms with Interleave latency
47ms with Fast latency

JasonM

Re: Latency increase across the board

Post by JasonM » Fri Dec 18, 2009 3:09 pm

Not here - 15.9ms

vert02 and terrox - you are both on the same Optus DSLAM.

Locked